We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I visited the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel this past friday and decided I really needed to warn other potential guest what to expect. The hotel is in a commercial area; it is surrounded by office buildings, not wineries.
We arrived to check into our room at 5:30pm after wine tasting all day. We were told that our room was not ready for check-in and needed to be cleaned, and that although we had requested rooms in the same area, they could not accomodate our request.
So we spent an hour in the bar waiting for our rooms to be ready. One of the front desk clerks told us they would pay for our drinks while we waited, which did make up for the wait. However when we went to check out, I was told they would only cover a portion of our tab.
The Lanai (patio) we paid extra for was not private; it bordered the pool and kids ran outside out room all evening.
Dirty towels from the prior guests sat on the floor outside our room the entire time we were there.
At 200$/ night I would expect better customer service, better cleaning service and a private patio.
On the positive side, the bed and linen were very comfortable. The bar service was excellent. Unfortunately the great service did not make up for all the negative experiences we had staying here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wicki35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonoma, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Thank you for making me aware of your unsatisfactory experience while staying with us at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country. In response to your specific issuesI'd like to assure you that we are re-visiting some staff training in the customer service area as well as housekeeper training.

In closing, I appreciate your patronage at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country as well as all of Hilton brands, it is timely feedback such as you have provided that helps us focus on needed improvements to the hotel and staff training so we can ensure your future stay as well as other guest stays are enjoyable and problem free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    425
    293
    137
    66
See reviews for
276
491
47
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I spent a long girl's weekend at the Hilton. We loved it! The room was large and nicely decorated. I had reservations after reading some of the reviews here. The carpeting in the halls looked really clean, maybe new. The caulking in the bath was clean. Perhaps the hotel has been renovated recently.

Check-in was efficient and professional. We were pleased to find free wine tasting and a platter of cheese, bread and grapes. We decided to relax and have dinner at the hotel. The Happy Hour prices were excellent, so we ate in the bar. Great food and service, lovely illuminated alabaster bar.

The location was convenient and the grounds were beautifully maintained. We would have liked free wi-fi ($9.95 per night fee) in our room, but didn't mind the walk to the lobby. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spotcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We were "upgraded" to a "view room", but our view was over the swimming pool and roofs, not scenery. Internet access was available only in the lobby, not the room, although we had been promised free WiFi when we booked. We had a nice large room, and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very good (although someone should tell the staff not to vacuum while diners are eating). We liked the location on the edge of town; guests should know that a car will be essential, as there's nothing much in walking distance. This is a typical Hilton, so if you get a good deal, take it without worry.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Any of Mr. Kurl's followers know that I havent posted for awhile. This was since the last post didnt get past the censors at Trip Advisor.
Well, what really frosted Mr. Kurls stay at this Hilton is the room was as cold as a meat locker. It was cold enough to get a 40 ouncer cold without ice! That being said, and such, I called the front desk, FRANK said he was unaware of the problem but could send a portable heater, and have his maintenance guy check the "boiler". Go figure, so I then got the back up blanket, to warm up my bed, and it smelled like it had belonged to the Marlboro Man. Please note that this was a NON SMOKING room. It reeked, UGH. But I will say, the grounds are BEAUTIFUL, and the front desk was super nice, and this place isnt bad, just a cold room.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jetjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aptos, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Our first room the heater did not work. The room was about 60 degrees and with an outside temperature at night of in the 30s or 40s. We ran the heater all night long and got no warmth and dried out sinuses. We were given another room in a different wing and that room had a working heater but the bathroom had issues. A broken floor tile that had sharp areas that could cut bare feet. The towel rack was coming off the wall. Carpeting on the stairs had a "patched" section at the tops of each landing made from trash bags and duct tape. Not the quality I would expect from a Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LY_Aptos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

We had stayed here before and had been impressed at the price.This time even though we left a tip, the maid left the ironing bored out, did not pick up trash, and did not leave enough towels.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitingaunt09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
471 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

We liked everything about this place except the shabby hallways with worn carpets and doors badly in need of paint.

Our room was large and pleasant and it had a delightful view of the pool area.

When we requested a refrigerator, it was delivered promptly and we were not charged extra for it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
569 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
999 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
577 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
648 reviews
7.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing