We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Used it as a base for tours around Sonoma, Napa and Russian River valleys. It's in a really nice setting, essentially on the side of a hill with a pretty decent view, if you squint a little and ignore 101 in the mid-ground. The central building is in good shape but the building we were in (Chardonnay, Chablis, Reisling) was certainly showing signs of needing a refurbishment. It wasn't bad by any stretch so don't be put off, but be pre-advised. Definitely get the King with the verandah overlooking the pool. That set things off really well in the morning.
The restaurant has some nice wines and apps before heading out to Santa Rosa for drinks and dinner.
An all-round good stay. Thanks to all the great staff in the bar and restaurant for taking good care of us.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark0381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

It was our pleasure to host you during your recent wine country getaway. We’re so glad you enjoyed your accommodations overlooking the pool. Our dining associates will be happy to know how well you appreciated their service. It’s always interesting to us to know how our guests spend their time during their stay, and it sounds like you had a wonderful visit in Santa Rosa. Thank you for your kind review of Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Room was rough and has seen better days. Carpet stained, smelled, tub and toilet not clean, overall room paint and decor was beat up, television did not work.
I see others who have the same complaints about the overall conditions of the rooms and it serves no purpose for Hilton to respond like they really care. They know these are dogs and hear this every day and nothing changes.
When you complain they try to give you a meal for free, so the next time I complain about the food at a restaurant I should expect a hotel room?

Room Tip: Get arrested and spend the night in jail. Better accommodations and a free photo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cliff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It seems we missed the chance to make your stay a truly positive one, and for that we are sorry. We always encourage our guests to reach out to us during their visit if they need anything, and we wish we had the opportunity to address any issues you had during your time with us. Your candid comments will be shared with all of our associates so that we can review our commitment to customer service. We hope you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a nice hotel to stay for peace and quiet with fantastic amenities. Always enjoy the Hilton brand. The pool, room service with the grounds makes for a pleasant stay. Will be returning in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank V D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

We are thrilled that we could meet your expectations at your recent stay with us at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country. Positive feedback such as yours encourages us to continue providing the exceptional service we feel our guests deserve. Thank you for your continued loyalty to Hilton, and for your glowing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Loved this property. Ask for a room with the balcony. Although not a private balcony, it over looks the pool area and is very relaxing. Great location and great quality. - Will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you appreciated your recent visit to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country. It is wonderful you enjoyed your beautiful balcony room and the view over the pool area. Your comfort and relaxation is important to us, and our associates will be happy to hear how happy you were here. Nothing gives us greater satisfaction in knowing a guest liked their experience so well that they will return again. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel was just a bit of a party place on the weekend but overly so. Our junior suite room on the 3rd floor was very quiet. There does tend to be some fun happening by the pool but it did not disturb us at all, just made if fun to watch the happenings by the pool. The hotel is a bit worn in the hallways but our room was nice. They also have a nice restaurant where you can sit outdoors to enjoy your meal. My only issue with the hotel was that we could not get the temperature of our room below 72 degrees. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: By the pool is the most resort like. The rooms, at least the 2nd & 3rd floor rooms, are far eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Autumn_Lovin_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

All of our associates are interested to know what our guests’ experience is, and your glowing review of Hilton Sonoma Wine Country is most appreciated. We’re so glad you enjoyed our pool and our beautiful dining patio. It is truly a compliment to know you would stay here again, and look forward to hosting you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Hilton Sonoma Wine Country is a good choice for heading out the wine country - it is however located in more of a business district than it is any sprawling field of vines.

Hilton just purchased this property so there are some standards not quite up to what I would take as Hilton standards, but you can tell they are working on it.

The hotel is charming, pretty spread out and well maintained. Note that the parking is spread out and you check in then drive to your hotel room, so do not unload your car in the front - check in then they will tell you were to go.

What I have seen none of the rooms have spectacular views due to its location, but some are better than others it seems.

The close wineries seem like a 15 minute drive away and the really good ones are 1+ Hour drive from the property, but a simple drive - unless you go through the hills - then get ready for some curvy roads.

The hotel would be good for groups, friends and families - romantic stays, not so much.

There is a downtownish area maybe 10 minutes away from the hotel and it is a amazing little main drive area with some great food and shops.

The hotel is decently priced, the Sonoma/Napa area is a very vast area - there is really no center of it all in that area. There are a ton of hotels, BNBs and Resorts scattered throughout. Sonoma is known for the Pinot wines so you will find a nice amount of it there -

The room was standard, nothing too grand - a bit on the smaller side due to the age of the hotel. It was very quiet there though given us seeing a lot of groups on a Fri/Sat night stay so that was nice. If you are on the first floor you hear a bit above you, but nothing bad - it looks like all the first floor rooms also have a walk out area.

The bathroom does not have any ventilation, that is a pet peeve of mine. Everything in the room seemed very clean though! Way to go team!

Overall, a good property for the area if it is the right price. There was no magic per say at the property, just your standard property - staff was friendly though every time.

If you are looking for romantic, do splurge a bit in the area - it is worth it for the 4+ star properties - their grounds tend to be breathtaking and so calm. If you are looking for a hotel because you will be out all day and want a nice place to lay your head, Hilton is the place.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have walk outs, second floor rooms do not - but they do not have anyone above them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reinventtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for your complimentary review of your stay at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country. We truly appreciate your remarks, and we’re elated to read how clean and charming you found our hotel, and how friendly the staff were. I am sure readers will be interested in your helpful remarks about our hotel and the area. All of us would be delighted to have you again the next time you are in town on business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a good hotel, with very good food and a great outdoor bar and restaurant area. The rooms are average and aging, but the food service and food service people really shine. In addition, their outdoor dining and evening sitting area is delightful. The people at the front desk ranged from helpful to seemingly distracted. The food service people, from the chefs to the servers, were tremendously accommodating, friendly, and delightful to interact with - from the morning servers to the cocktail waitresses late at night. Great view from their outdoor area. Overall a good place, but don't come here for great rooms - just the location and some nice people.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingGuy03049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your detailed comments about your visit. We are delighted with all of your positive words about our dining staff and food, and how well you enjoyed our Nectar patio. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
589 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
7.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range: $125 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing