We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Needs Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location, Needs Updating”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel has a good location for doing some Sonoma winery visits, but is not up to standards for a current hotel. The hallways have a stale odor, almost musty, and just isn't that pleasant. The air conditioning in the rooms is weak and inconsistent.

Overall the hotel is average. The front desk service was pleasant and polite which is always great. For the rates this hotel is able to charge due to the location they really need to consider updating this property because I wouldn't visit again even as a loyal Hilton Honors customer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTM_FSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
While we’re glad our location made it easy for you to enjoy some of the many Sonoma wineries, we deeply regret that your stay was not more positive. Please accept our apologies for any issues you may have experienced in your guest room, we wish we had known of your concerns while you were here so that we could have resolved them when it mattered most. We will be sure to share your thoughts with our entire team who will ensure our facility is at its best for future guests. Thank you, we hope you’ll give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    425
    293
    137
    66
See reviews for
276
491
47
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville,CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel is nice. We went for one night and they were kind enough to upgrade us to a suite. It was a huge room so that was great. We used the spa and pool, both just fine and nice. Pool is big with a lot of seats. Our carpeting and furnishings were just fine so perhaps some rooms need repair, ours didn't. We used the restaurant for dessert/drinks and room service. The dessert and drinks were great. The room service was average, food was warm not hot. Often room service isn't as hot as we'd like so that might just be a function of having food delivered to your room. The bed was very comfortable and showers clean. It is about 40 minutes from Downtown Sonoma so calling it Sonoma Wine Country is on the border. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We sincerely appreciate you providing such detailed feedback on your recent visit with Hilton Sonoma Wine Country. It is great to know enjoyed your upgraded suite, and that you made use of our beautiful pool. We appreciate your impression of your room service, and apologize if it did not meet your expectations. We will be sure to share your experience with our associates. There are several wineries within 5 minutes of the hotel, and many more in the area for our guests to visit and enjoy. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
323 reviews
250 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

There was not just scum, but whole handfuls of scum accumulating in the hot-tub. When told, a maintenance person said he had put chemicals in to address the issue. Chemicals, maybe. But it would have been better had he scooped up the scum collection and removed it. That said, the rest of the Hilton was the typical Hilton experience: Perfection. Jan was exceptionally helpful at the desk (as were all employees) and we thank him very much. Extra pillows and towels, delivered on request. There is a reason we love Hilton! P.S. We miss the saline pool but understand it's not practical for a hotel as big as this Hilton. Those who remember it from before can savor the memory. But it's always heated, which is a treat.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a King Suite, you'll enjoy every penny of it: high ceilings, lots of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMPJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
It is wonderful to hear that so many aspects of your recent visit were perfect! Our associates are dedicated to making every guest feel pampered, and it was our pleasure to serve you and provide for your requests. Your comments regarding the hot tub, however, are greatly concerning. We will be sure our Maintenance associates will look into any matters you mentioned so as to assure that all is at its best for future guests. We apologize for any disappointment you experienced. It is our hope you will stay with us again and allow us to impress you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This location in much need of repair and upgrades to their facility. There was a bad odor as soon as you walked in the door to the building that our room was located in. The same smell was in the room. They moved us to a different building, but it had the same odor. The carpeting and furnishings were badly worn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We deeply regret that your stay was not a positive experience for you. We strive to maintain the highest level of service and comfort for our treasured guests, so we were quite disappointed to read that your visit did not exceed your expectations. We take your review very seriously and will share your comments with all of our associates. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarksville, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The grounds of this hotel are beautiful. The rooms were nice with comfortable bedding. Pool and fitness center were nice as well. It was convenient to several areas that we visited. Near the beach, wine country and Armstrong Redwoods.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent visit with The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. We’re delighted with how well you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and our perfect location close so many Santa Rosa attractions. It is wonderful you made use of our lovely pool and fitness center as well. We are always so gratified to hear from our valued guests and to learn how well we are meeting their expectations, and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The property seemed a bit run down. The buildings facing the pool looked weathered and the paint was peeling away in large strips. We stayed in the presidential suite and there were little things, things that you wouldn't expect when staying at this level. Frayed shower curtains, poorly painted doors, and (in my opinion) out dated TVs.

The room was comfortable and clean, the pool was decent, and the area is beautiful. We ordered room service and weren't blown away by the food.

Jan, the gentleman at the front desk, was extremely helpful in assisting in the timing of the surprise bottle of champagne and fruit platter that I ordered for my wife and children.

We'd stay again, but would also try out other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justusbraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We’re glad you enjoyed many aspects of your recent visit with your family, including our helpful and accommodating associates, as well as your clean, comfortable room. However, we regret you were not impressed with other aspects of our property. All of your comments will be shared with our maintenance and housekeeping associates, so that we can review those areas in particular that might need attention. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have stayed here several times on business the last three years and am sorry to say service has gone downhill and I won't be staying here again. Half the time the front desk staff welcome silver members with bottled water and half the time they won't give it to you unless you ask, even though this is a benefit this hotel offers.Several rooms no longer have privacy curtains, including the one I got this week, which fronts the parking lot so folks can easily see into the room if you open the curtains to get air and light. The clocks are often off and can not be adjusted except by the engineer. And the staff can't seem to handle any special requests. Twice I have called from home to ask if a refrigerator could be in the room when I was going to arrive late and both times was told that was fine but no refrigerator was there on arrival. Room service has put me on hold in the morning while the person answering goes to find a pen! Once I asked for maid service by 11 am because my honey was going to arrive after a long drive and needed a nap; he got to the room at 1 pm and it had not been made up. These are not huge issues but the inconsistency and lack of attention are not what I have come to expect from a Hilton. There is very little soundproofing so try to stay on the top floor, otherwise you will hear the upstairs folks easily. On the plus side, beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor unless you want to hear clomping from room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginacat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for providing such detailed feedback from your recent visit. We are disappointed to read about the issues you outlined, and extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and frustration you encountered. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so that we may review our service commitment. Our valued guests’ comfort and satisfaction continue to be our top priority and we hope you will reconsider a future stay the next time you have a business trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
569 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,000 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
577 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
648 reviews
7.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing