We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine Country Touring” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wine Country Touring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The staff at this hotel were extremely accommodating. We originally booked for two nights and requested additional nights to tour the wineries. Since we were unfamiliar with the area, we did not book before our vacation. The assistant manager and desk clerk were most helpful in extending our stay and allowing us to remain in the same room. The room and grounds were lovely and our room had a pool view. We dined in the adjoining restaurant and our experience was wonderful, but a bit expensive. I highly recommend this location for Sonoma Valley wine touring.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool were great. We were located on the entrance level, which suited our needs. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacque_B922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. From hospitable associates to beautiful views and amazing dining at our on-site restaurant, Nectar, it seems as though you appreciated much of what we have to offer! It gives us great joy in knowing that you had such a positive stay for your wine country tour and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    405
    276
    127
    63
See reviews for
258
473
47
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip for a couple of nights. The hotel layout is interesting in that it has separate 3 story buildings but not a real resort feel like other Hiltons in vacation areas.

The hotel felt like it was about half full and as a Diamond Member I thought they would at least upgrade me to a room with a view. I was left overlooking the parking lot but since I wasn't there a lot it didn't matter too much. It just shows that the hotel doesn't cater as hard to their frequent travelers as some of the other Hilton properties.

The included breakfast was good and there was no upcharge for the full buffet. Service staff in the restaurant and bar were definitely better than average but seemed to get a little overwhelmed when the restaurant approached 75% full. Wasn't sure if there wasn't enough staff or they aren't used to experiencing that many customers. Service for drinks at tables and number of visits to see how dinner was progressing were a little slow.

The gym was small with only one treadmill working. They need to keep on top of the repairs when most equipment was in quantities of 1 or 2.

All in all a better than average stay and somewhere I would stay again on business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city. These have views instead of looking at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Located on 13 beautifully landscaped acres, our hotel is an ideal location for vacationers and business travelers alike. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. While we are glad to know you enjoyed dining at our on-site restaurant for breakfast, it is truly regrettable that not all aspects of your stay were as positive. We value your brand loyalty and hope that all of our guests enjoy our offerings. If there is ever anything that you may need while staying or if your accommodations are not exactly as you would like, our associates are always happy to help. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here on our way from Napa Valley and going to Sonoma Valley tomorrow on points. The bldg. we stayed at Zinfandel had adequate rooms and quite roomy but the hallway smelled awful, like urine I couldn't pinpoint what it was. We ordered a pizza from room service and the total was over $19 even though the menu stated $12, so not only was there a $4 room service charge , tax and then an 18% service charge and the bill had a place for a tip too.. really??? Nothing really to rave about this hotel.. do not bring in your suitcases when you come in since the office is not connected to any of the bldgs. that house the rooms. Very inconvenient and wasn't offered a bell service when we had brought everything inside to check in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We couldn’t be more disappointed to learn that your stay was not all that you hoped it would be. Please accept our most sincere apologies if there was any confusion during checking in or if you were disappointed in any way by your room service order. Our management team is always available on-site to all our guests should any issues arise that cannot be resolved through the hotel staff and it is regrettable that we were not given the opportunity to do so during your stay when it would have mattered the most. We will be certain to share your comments regarding the public areas of the hotel with our housekeeping associates to ensure that all is at its best. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Did a lot of research in the internet and books/maps, reading also trip advisor, to find a hotel, where you could relax and at the same time take a daytrip through the towns of Sonoma, Napa, St. Helena and Galistoga. Ended up booking Hilton and it was absolutely the right choise. Had a look at downtown Santa Rosa also, which has an attractive downtown area with shops and restaurants.

We came to this hotel in late afternoon after driving from Brookings/Oregon, through the wonderful Avenue of the Giants etc. It was so good to sit down at the restaurant Nectar (hotel Restaurant) and have a nice glass of wine, with the nice view in front of us, sitting outside. We had dinner and it was very good,too. The Service was really good.

The next day we did the sloop visiting the wine towns. Absolutely a beautiful day, having a look also at a couple of wineries. Coming back to the Hilton, we again felt, how it was the right choise to stay at this hotel. It was really quiet at the higher situated hotel and we went again for dinner at the Nectar. The dinner was nice, as good service and food as the first evening, sitting outside.

The room itself was spacious with two queens and everything functioned good, clean with good housekeeping. Being Gold Vips, we got the Continental breakfast for free. In this case you could choose also the warm items for free, if you wanted to. It was nice (even if we eat jogourt and fruit) and the buffet was really good. The check in staff was ever so helpful, and as my cell phone refused to work , they called the number I wanted to call without any costs at all. Also they were very nice in prolonging our stay with a couple of hours without any costs.

This hotel is really a good base to explore the surroundings and enjoy a good restaurant in the evening, without having to drive anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kauniit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are so happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! It is always our pleasure to accommodate our guests and ease their travel experience as much as possible. Thank you for your great review and appreciation for our hotel and the value you found. Getting around to enjoy the great attractions of Wine Country is certainly easy when so much is just a short distance from our front door! Relaxing over a glass of wine at Nectar on our outdoor patio sounds like the perfect way to end a day! We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit to the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Workers putting in a cable upgrade caused horrible hallway noise at 8:15 in the morning. Dead bug attached to the shower screen. I had to ask for 3 towels, glasses etc because room comes equipped for only two guests. I was always told to call front desk; the maid service couldn't help situation at all. Front desk expected tips when we were already paying extra for 3rd person. Nothing was easy and I was on vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It seems that we missed the mark when it comes to some issues for you and for that we are truly sorry. Service is very important to us and it is regrettable if you experienced anything other than our very best. It is never our intent for a guest to feel disappointed in any way and we will be certain to share your comments with all of our associates. We hope to welcome you back in the future to provide you with a better experience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

One of the best Hiltons' (Top 5) I have stay at during my long career of traveling for business or pleasure in the US over the last 20+ years. The best staff I have had the experience dealing with during my stay. The privellege of being able to bring my pet was an added incentive to stay at this Hilton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback and appreciation for the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. It is always our delight to treat each and every guest to special, personal service and we will be sure to share your kind words with everyone here. Knowing that you have such extensive travel experience enhances our appreciation for your kind words. Your recommendation is of immense value to us and we hope you will visit again very soon. Thank you for your brand loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hopefully, the fact that my bathroom smelled sour and the pool and hot tub water were not clean was a "one off" experience at this hotel. Stayed here in the past and was happy. Not this time in Sept 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. While it is great to know you have enjoyed your experience with us in the past, we must apologize if your recent encounter fell short of your expectations in any way. Please know that your feedback will be shared with our housekeeping and maintenance associates to ensure that all is at its best. We would love for you to visit again and enjoy the type of stay you have grown accustomed to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing