We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a pretty nice 2-night stay here. The pool area was really nice, so we enjoyed that quite a bit. However, our room lock was broken when we arrived, so we had to wait around while someone came and fixed it. We were not offered anything for the inconvenience (kind of a bummer to get there after a long drive and have to sit in the room for an hour rather than going down to the pool to move around and enjoy the fresh air). The room was adequately clean. We paid more for a room that had a porch outside and easy access to the pool. We were happy about the easy access to the pool, but the porch did not work out at all. It was a shared porch, and there was a table right in front of our slider. When we were in our room, we had to have all curtains closed for privacy, because people were parked at that table three feet from our slider the whole time! So yeah, maybe not good planning in that area, Hilton Sonoma.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atperts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Visiting Sonoma Wine Country can be such an amazing experience! Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. Our Lanai guest rooms offer a lovely way to enjoy the beauty of the out of doors and our Junior Olympic sized pool is a favorite for many of our guests. We're sorry to hear that your accommodations weren't a perfect fit for you and we hope that you won't hesitate to reach out to us for any concerns in the future. Please know that one of our associates is always available should any concerns arise and we would have been happy to help in any way we can. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    417
    282
    129
    63
See reviews for
264
478
47
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The room is nice and good quality bed/amenities. The pool was great and we enjoyed being able to buy drinks at the pool area. One of the nights during our stay also included a complimentary wine tasting in the hotel lobby which was fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are so glad you chose the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel for your recent getaway. Enjoying a refreshing beverage poolside can be just perfect and we are delighted you were able to take advantage of our complimentary Wine O’clock Lobby Wine Tasting. If there is anything we can do to provide an even better experience, please know that you can ask us at any time. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have stayed here quite a few times and each times the customer service skills are quite lacking. It is nice when someone addresses you by name, but when you address a staff by name they give you that deer in the headlight look. Room are dated and not very inviting could use some type of scent to welcome guest.

The pool is nice with enough chairs and lounges to accommodate the guest. However, sun and alcohol do not mix and should not be something they offer when there are kids at the pool. It is kept cleaner than the rooms.

I have found the staff to be quite rude especially at the restaurant. I went there for a late lunch and was told that your to wait to be seated. I guess when you have one table that is one too many to wait on. After that interaction the server informed me that whatever is on the menu is all that is available. He didn't care that I do not eat meat or if I had any other health concerns, it was menu only. Jerk!

Thank goodness this is a business trip because if I had spent my money on this hotel I would be really disappointed having wasted my income on such poor quality in ever area.

Room Tip: There are other hotels that offer more with a friendly attitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience. Although it is great to know you enjoyed our outdoor pool, we never like to read when a guest feels their expectations weren't met in all ways. It is truly regrettable to know that we missed the opportunity to create a better stay for you and if you were disappointed by what you have shared regarding the service you received from our associates. Please know that this is not the type of encounter we would expect for any of our guests and your comments will be shared with everyone here. We hope you will visit us again for a stay that exceeds all that you are looking for. Thank you for your time and candid review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This Hilton is very convenient to the main highway but secluded enough to be very quiet. Of note, the pool area is very nice and somewhat secluded. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The lack of free WiFi is annoying. Since there are several separate buildings in this complex the cost for WiFi is most likely higher for management but free WiFi is becoming an expectation at this level of hotel. All of the staff, including the restaurant staff were very helpful and attentive.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RegenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for providing details regarding your stay at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. We are delighted that you found our accommodations to be so convenient. Taking a dip in our heated outdoor salt water pool is a favorite activity for many of our guests! We will share your comments regarding Internet service with our management team. For your convenience, complimentary wireless is available in all public areas. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nice hotel, nice grounds, nice pool and great breakfast...BUT they charge $10 for 24hrs use of wifi. This is ridiculous and turned us off the hotel right away. There also wasn't a frig in the room which seems like a rather basic item to offer...particularly from this hotel chain. So overall, this is a well-maintained, aesthetically appealing hotel that we won't go back to because of very inexpensive amenities that aren't offered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Whether positive or otherwise, your feedback is extremely important to us. We are truly grateful to learn that you enjoyed the beauty of our hotel as well as your breakfast dining experience, however it is regrettable that your entire encounter was less than satisfactory. As you mentioned, we do charge for Internet service in individual guest rooms. For our guests’ convenience, wireless is available in all public areas. Please know that refrigerators are available upon request but we do apologize if you were not aware of that particular amenity during your stay. Our associates are always here to help with any needs you may have. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel is OK. Staff was less then helpful wiht accomodations. Felt that our needs were not addressed by the staff. They provided incorrect information as everyday. Staff did not seem to know the conditions of the restaurant, etc over a holiday weekend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank WineDoc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
It is with deep disappointment that we read your story. Providing excellent service is our top priority and we sincerely apologize if your experience was anything less. We want to not only meet, but exceed your expectations on every level and will be sure to share your comments with everyone here. If there was anything we could have done differently we would love to know. We hope you will stay with us again so that we can provide you with the type of encounter you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice accommodations in Somona; only Hilton property to serve both Somona and Napa (drive to Napa takes about an hour across a very winding up and down narrow road). Room and facilities were outstanding; breakfast was exceptional but be warned that it ends early on weekdays (at least the buffet). Staff very friendly and engaging.

Room Tip: End rooms are enormous and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are so happy you stayed with us! Thank you for sharing your review of the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. With easy access so much that makes the area great, our hotel truly is ideal. Brunch at Nectar Restaurant is a favorite with our guests and we are glad you agree. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing