We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but needs renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but needs renovations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My room was 3314. It was on the third floor of the building beaujolais. My room overlooked the parking lot. They have buildings separated. 3 by the pool, 3 away from it. Some of the rooms by the pool had little community decks. The buildings with a view often looked out over strange storage boxes and dead grass. Then the freeway and finally the mountains. Purchasing the land behind might be beneficial to maintain hilton quality landscaping and views. The room had hot water, no problem with that. Also nice furniture. However the showerhead was ancient. And disgusting. They forgot to clean the toilet and the garbage can had dried liquid on it that had not been cleaned. The wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom. The towel rack was in the shower, weird, and was missing a support so it was leaning to a side. The pool was nice. The spa was crowded and old. Also if you go out the doors that say exit no rentry.. Not only do you get locked out but you get stuck on a landing that goes nowhere (thought i could walk out to the parking lot). Overall, i think this hilton has a lot of potential. It just needs a little TLC.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihaveatonofcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
While we are truly glad to know that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, we must apologize that your entire encounter at our hotel was not completely positive. We have shared your comments with our associates as well as our management team to ensure that all aspects of our property are at their best. It is our hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    415
    282
    129
    63
See reviews for
263
478
47
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
State College, PA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stay at this property a few times a year. The entrance is nice, the staff is friendly, but the rooms are quite average.

We always eat at the restaurant when we stay at this property. Breakfast is nice, but dinner is hit and miss. I ate dinner here two nights in April, because after working all day, it is just too convenient, however the first night the food and service were great but the second night the service was below average. The food was cold and not what we expected. We told our waitress about several complaints we had and she said sorry, but did nothing else.

Rooms are fairly quite and cleanliness is just average, not great.

I have stayed at Holiday Inn Express, in Windsor and I prefer that property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to hear from a guest who has visited so many times. Ensuring our guests comfort is one of our top priorities and while we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall experience, we must apologize if we missed the mark with regard to your dining experience. Your comments will be shared with our dining associates. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell Butte, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This property is smack in the middle of a medical/business complex and I was wondering as I drove up if it was going to be an issue. Not an issue. The rooms are in several buildings scattered across a hillside which is nicely landscaped and easy on the eyes. Our King suite was all that one would expect from Hilton, and the on site restaurant is exceptional and has a great outdoor eating area with a passable view down a canyon. But what we found most appealing was the great central location in the valley for use as a base for exploring the Sonoma vineyards. The property was quiet and the staff helpful and met the high standards that Hilton is known for. If you are looking for relaxed elegance in a central location in the valley you can do no better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laysan306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay with us. Located in the heart of Wine Country on 13 lushly manicured acres, the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel offers some amazing walking trails, beautiful views and easy access to over 330 area wineries and vineyards. We are so glad to learn that you enjoyed hospitable service and a positive experience during your visit. It is our hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle. Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed the last two nights in a room we reserved while my husband had surgery in the area. We liked our room that opened up to a deck overlooking the pool. We had the room reserved for 6 nights, but found out at the pre surgery check up that it would be best for me to stay at the hospital overnight since my husband is having a full knee replacement. I called the hotel last night and Jerod at the front desk said they would be happy to accommodate us and keep our reservation for Sat-Tuesday check out. This morning, Kingsley the senior clerk, said absolutely not! He said the room can only be reserved for Friday-Saturday night and his computer system would not allow a Saturday booking without the Friday stay. He would not help me at all, and I could not ask for the manager because we were on the way to the hospital for surgery! I called Hilton from the hospital and they said they can certainly rebook our stay from Saturday to Tuesday. When I called Kingsley back he was rude and arrogant and gave me the run around even though I told him I couldn't talk long since my husband was in surgery. He said he would not honor my original rate and his manager was. "At lunch". Will not deal with this place at all! Ended up booking their competitor the Fountaingrove Inn. They were understanding and accommodating, and are rated #1 in the Santa Rosa area!
Kingsley and Hilton need a lesson in Customer Service!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Viveca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We couldn't be more disappointed that you experienced any inconvenience during what was most certainly a very trying time for you and your husband. Providing exemplary service is of utmost importance and we can certainly understand the impact that these inconveniences can have while trying to coordinate the multitude of details necessary during any medical procedures. It is always our hope to achieve the best possible experience with each and every guest at our hotel and it is disheartening that we did not achieve that with you. Your comments will be shared with our management team to ensure that special care is taken for all our valued guests. We wish your husband a speedy recovery. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Facility is old and worn with lots of maintenance issues. Staff generally not helpful in fixing things. For example all treadmills in the very scant exercise room did not work and were not repaired during our visit. There is no Spa on property. The rooms need remodeling and are not up to standard for what you pay for this facility.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rosgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your point of view. It is with great regret that we learn of your stay, as this is not the experience that we intend for any of our guests. We take all reviews very seriously and will be certain to share your feedback with our management team so that we can resolve any matters you have brought to our attention. It is our hope to welcome you back again so that we can regain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed here many times . although the beds are rather soft, the room is nice and clean.. We were here 2 weeks ago and the pool was a plus. Usually it is too cold to swim in and you see few in the water.. 2 weeks ago we found a beautiful WARM pool in the mid-80's.. Really great.. We thought great, they have changed their policy and upped the heat. so we came back this week 5/6/13 and what a disappointment as it was ice cold. Told someone right away and they said they would call maintainence.. Nothing happened so That night we again reported it to the front desk..
Other giests at pool side were also complaining as it was not usable although the outside temperature was pleasant..
Guess we'll have to call and ask on the day of arrival what they are heating the pool at on that day if we choose to stay here again. HINT to management.... IF you HAVE a pool, heat it or cover it with sod. If the sun's out and no one is in the pool, go check the temperature. If you want your hotel to be busy , keep the pool warm!!!
The restaurant was great!! Good service and great meals.

Room Tip: Call the day of arrival if the pool is important to you to check on the pool temp. so you can change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mendo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We always appreciate it when a guest takes the time to share a thorough review of their stay at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. Thank you for the level of detail that you've provided, as it really gives us the opportunity to get a clear perspective of your time with us. While we are glad you have enjoyed clean, comfortable accommodations, we ask that you please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced. It is never our intention for our guests to feel anything less than comfortable in all areas of their stay and your feedback regarding the temperature of our outdoor pool have been noted. Your valuable feedback is truly appreciated and we thank you for sharing your review with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's a clean place. The hotel nickel and dimes you for ANY amenities. Internet is not free; nor are meals. It's expensive and for what you pay, it's not worth it. If it weren't for the fact that my job pays per diem, it would be the last choice I would have for any vacationing experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Toua V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Though it’s disappointing when a guest leaves and feels that their expectations weren’t met, we’re truly grateful for your feedback. Please rest assured that your comments regarding the value of our hotel will be shared with our management team in our efforts to improve upon the services provided. While we do charge for Internet access in individual guest rooms, wireless is complimentary in our public areas but we regret if that was inconvenient. Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing