We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Chino Hills, United States
1 review
“Family trip”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The amenities were good but I don't know if we would stay there again. The room was not cleaned or maintained as it should have been. I have no complaints about the staff in general but we paid a lot of money for average service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
While we are certainly glad you enjoyed our amenities, we are disappointed to learn that your overall impression of our hotel was not what we hope to hear from our guests. We will review your comments with our housekeeping staff to ensure that everything is at its best for future guests. Please know that someone is always available should any concerns arise and we regret that we did not have the opportunity to address any issues while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. We hope to have another chance to fully impress you with everything our hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    421
    288
    133
    64
See reviews for
270
485
47
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is an open design with two story sections with plenty of parking. The hotel is on a hill with a good view of the area although not a clear day when I was there. I only ate breakfast at the restaurant but it was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We couldn’t be happier to learn that your stay at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel was so positive! With the backdrop of the beauty of wine country spreading out around our property, our hotel is just perfect for enjoying the entire Sonoma area. Breakfast at Nectar is a favorite with many of our guests and we are delighted you agree. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

So, while I typically love Hilton properties, this is one I really did not like. It is built into a hill, and anywhere you go on the property is either uphill, or downhill. Even from your car to the guest rooms. Hills everywhere. Which is fine if you are not opposed to hills. As a wheelchair user, this is the worst possible setting for me. The lobby is in a separate building, which means that to get to the front desk, I had to get in my car to drive to the lobby building, because of the hills! Also, property is dated, and the room accessibility was seriously lacking. No raised commode, and while there were grab bars, the tub was very low to the ground as was the commode. Really poor set up. We spent 3 nights there, didn't have the friendliest front desk staff, and found the wine tasting on Friday night to be staffed by rude folks. Overall...very negative experience at this Hilton. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAOnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. It certainly concerns us to read the your comments, as it is our hope to create the ultimate experience for all of our guests. We regret that we were not able to address your needs more fully during your visit as we have a variety of accessible rooms and equipment to meet almost all special needs. These include complimentary shuttle service between our buildings, raised commode seats, roll in showers and much more. We take the reviews of our guests very seriously and will be certain to share your feedback regarding the service you received with all of our associates so that we can resolve any matters you have brought to our attention. It is our hope to welcome you back again so that we can regain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

In 13 previous reviews on Trip Advisor, I've never seen fit to give below 3 stars. However, I have basic expectations of a full-service, 3.5-4 star hotel that this property was unable to meet.

During my one night stay at the property, the hot water heater apparently failed within the "Burgundy" wing in which I was staying. Now, I understand that mechanical difficulties are from time to time inevitable, but when they do occur, any hotel, especially something at this level or above, should work to manage through the situation with the guests interests in mine. This did not happen.

After completing a half-marathon early the morning we were checking out, we returned to the property a bit before 11 am. Having requested late check-out as Gold HHonors members, we were expecting to shower prior to departing. We walked back into the hotel going past a housekeeping cart.

We then began fiddling with the shower. I've stayed ~100 nights / year in hotels around the world for both work and leisure the last 5+ years, and on occasion you do find a shower that is just somewhat difficult to figure out. However, no matter what my friend or I did, we were unable to get hot water out of the shower.

Figuring it was merely a simple misunderstanding, my friend checked with the housekeeper who informed us quite casually that "oh, the water's out. You should call the front desk." Similarly casually, the front desk after calling confirmed that observation. They did without further prompting offer to have someone meet us one at a time at the wing across the parking lot in order to use another shower. No apologies were offered; it simply was confirmed that there was not hot water.

Again, I acknowledge that these sort of mechanical problems will happen from time to time, but feel that the way this situation was managed would have been sub-optimal for a budget hostel in a developing country, let alone a property flying a full-service flag of one of the world's largest hotel companies. Multiple opportunities existed to manage the process more efficiently and in line with the service expectations I think one could reasonably have of this tier of hotel.

- Why was there no proactive notification concerning the incident? I've seen plenty a hotel deliver a piece of paper announcing the problem under each guest room door in the event of an issue. The housekeeper could have told us something when we walked past. The room could have been called. A sign could have been posted in the hallway. Many opportunities existed.

- Why wasn't a full room switch offered? Making us go piece-mail one by one, arranging each time with the front desk to temporarily use a shower, was extremely inconvenient. I understand doing so would be a pain for the hotel, but the alternative chosen was more of a pain for the guest.

- Why wasn't a more service-oriented attitude on display? All of the staff acted fairly nonchalantly about a failure that to me should be fairly exceptional for a hotel. I would be concerned that this was actually a fairly common failure for the hotel. While walking out, I overheard two housekeepers in the hallway complaining to each other about having to clean additional rooms because of people showering in other rooms (while a potentially valid issue for the hotel to manage, it doesn't reflect well on the hotel for guests to be privy to these discussions). No effort was made to apologize for the event. Overall, the hotel seemed unconcerned about not providing hot water.

While I understand this review focuses strongly on one very specific element, this part to me was so disappointing it overshadows the rest of the experience. Otherwise, I found the hotel workable but unexceptional:
- The wing we stayed in was entitled "red burgundy," with other wings also named with common wine labels. In the US context, the use of such a name seems somewhat dated/unsophisticated....which somewhat summarizes a place that in many ways (layout, hallways, room pictures) gives very much a early 90s feel.
- No major complaints on room cleanliness.
- The location in Santa Rosa is quite unremarkable; "wine country" very much refers to what is within driving distance rather than the office-park area that immediately surrounds the hotel. Nothing is really within walking distance. Willy's Wine Bar is ~1.5 miles away and a great dinner selection, but we were advised by the hotel to not walk given the lack of sidewalks.
- One positive comment....this particular Hilton, like some others, seemed to have received pretty decent newer bed and table lamps with 2 power plugs in the base of each. Definitely convenient.
- Hotel clientele seemed to be a mix of a 20 something party scene (we had some issues with 1-2 am noise in the parking lot and hallway) as well as families. Definitely better choices if that's not what you are looking for.
- Internet directions for HHonors status-members were strange/unclear. Giving someone with a code and telling them to navigate to "business.att.com" without giving an SSID (there were both Hilton and ATT networks available). I eventually just ignored their directions and logged in to the Hilton network with my HHonors credentials, making no use of their code, but still wasted a good bit of time originally attempting to follow the directions I had been given.

Overall, I would certainly not return given the absolutely lackluster, nonchalant approach the hotel took towards this critical water failure. Even an otherwise perfect property would be compromised by such service, and this property wasn't even in that league in the first place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with functioning hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalHomeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide details of your stay. We sincerely apologize for the experience you have shared as providing the very best to our guests is always our priority. We recently encountered a malfunction in our boiler system which caused a temporary shutdown. Our engineering team and a mechanical contractor were immediately dispatched to rectify the situation. While all of our associates worked to help guests affected by this issue, we regret that it may have been too late to deliver hot water to your guestroom and we are truly sorry for any inconvenience it may have caused. We hope to welcome you again in the future to provide you with the type of stay you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were here for a business event. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby was welcoming. The wings with the rooms are a bit dated and worn, but clean and spacious. We had a "lanai" room that opened onto a community patio. The up side was that we could step out and enjoy a table with a view of the pool. (The 2nd floor rooms did not have a balcony.) The down side was that it was a public walkway so there was absolutely NO privacy in our room. In fact, there was no window that we could open for air so we had to open the slider and pull over the broken screen. It was even more awkward because there were no sheer curtains so we were either completely open to passersby or completely closed with black out curtains. Late in the evening the community patio was being used by a large group so it was very loud until very late. Finally, if you enjoy a hotel that you can walk out of to find a restaurant or shopping, this is not it. It's a 5-10 minute drive down a main thoroughfare to downtown Santa Rosa. There is a jogging path of some sort across the street though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travelez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. My daughter and I swam in the pool and used the spa hot tub in the evening and morning and it was the perfect temperature. The only con was a little discoloration of the spa hot tub. It was a great location to explore Santa Rosa area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for providing details regarding your stay at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. We are delighted that you found our accommodations to be so clean and comfortable. Taking a dip in our heated outdoor salt water pool is a favorite activity for many of our guests and we are glad you found it to be the perfect temperature to your liking. We will share your comments regarding the hot tub with our maintenance associates. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hilton staff does a fine job here. Large, sprawling old style hotel. Workout room is a compromise to be sure, but rooms are pleasant enough. The morning dining experience was awkward as they only offered ala carte. Dont quite get that and we ended up being late as a result. Waitress spilled milk on my client...rough start to day. But, night before we enjoyed a glass of wine on a splendid terrace with heat lamps well positioned. It is located well, just of 101. Easy in and out. good views from terrace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wtftraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Everyone at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country would like to thank you for your kind review. A glass of wine on our outdoor terrace is the perfect way to unwind after a long day! Please accept our apologies for any difficulties you or your client experienced while dining with us. Our breakfast buffet is available Monday through Friday until 10am and on weekends until 11am. To ensure we are offering our guests the very best of fresh selections, items are removed at the end of service but we truly regret if this caused any inconvenience. We will be sure to share your comments with everyone here to ensure that strict attention to detail is being upheld at all times. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing