We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty forgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pretty forgettable”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed there as part of a wedding group, so I never actively sought out this hotel. Upon check-in, I was informed that we would be given 2 queen beds instead of 1 king as requested. It wasn't that big of a deal, so I didn't protest, and overall the staff was friendly. The room itself was standard -- but expensive for what it was. Also, the garishly-lit bathroom desperately needed to be updated, and wi-fi access was sporadic at best. I used the swimming pool, which was fine. The best part was probably breakfast; the food was good and it was served on a nice sunny terrace -- but since this was wine country, I had been expecting a better view. Overall, the hotel didn't leave much of an impression on me; it seemed that it was only aiming to check all the boxes rather than wow its guests. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorker1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
A wedding such a fantastic experience in Wine Country! It is with great disappointment, however, that we learn that your stay was not completely positive in every way. We appreciate your taking the time to bring these points to our attention and will share your comments regarding Internet service with our IT team. We are in the process of upgrading our systems and we appreciate your patience and understanding while we get these improvements in place. With your input, we will strengthen our standards of hospitality with all of our associates and hope you’ll give us another try in the future. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    429
    297
    137
    69
See reviews for
281
496
48
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a work related trip. The room was spacious, set up well for working and was kept clean. I liked the layout of the hotel and the views, even towards the parking lot were nice. The one little downside was that the building I was in was a little noisy. I could hear the floors squeak anytime anyone walked down the hall or on the floor above me. But it was not bad. The daily wine tastings in the lobby were very nice. The property was layed out well with lots of parking. I did not eat at the hotel but did vist the bar. The location was close to where I needed to work and also had easy access to the 101 to get downtown to where a lot of nice restaurants were located. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
A business trip to stunning Sonoma Wine Country can be such a treat! Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay. We couldn't be happier to learn that you enjoyed your spacious, clean guestroom as well as our Lobby wine tastings with over 120 wines, all from local Sonoma and Napa County Vineyards. Please accept our most sincere apologies for sounds from outside your guestroom, however we are glad to hear it did not impact your overall experience too greatly. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at this property in October 2012 while attending a nearby conference for work.

No complaints about the room, other than that the WiFi did not work. This property is using an att wifi system which is apparently very finicky about browser settings for the authentication page. My wife was along and needed network connectivity. She was eventually able to connect in the lobby (never in our room) after 45 minutes spent with the hotel IT guy and an AT&T support person. Evidently, the AT&T support person need to manually authenticate the IP address sent to my wife's computer. She tried to connect in the lobby on the following day and wasn't successful. I wasn't able to connect in the room, and several colleagues told me they were also unable to connect.

The restaurant was very good, but expensive. Naturally, they had a good wine list.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisyphus321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
While we are so glad to learn you enjoyed the location of our wine country hotel for your business conference, it is greatly disappointing to learn that you experienced any issues while connecting to the Internet and for that we deeply apologize. We are pleased to let you know that the hotel is undergoing major upgrades to our existing systems which will significantly improve our Wi-Fi services shortly. We value the needs of the business traveler and aspire for all of our guests to enjoy a productive, hassle-free stay and regret that we did not achieve this for you. It is our hope to have you stay with us again so that we have the opportunity to win back your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

While I read the reviews and was skeptical about this Hilton. It was not as outdated as I read. The beds were a little old and hard, but the room was spacious and the location was very convenient to the wine country. Thursday and Friday nights have wine tastings in the lobby and coupons for local wineries.

Room Tip: Not really worth the number of hilton points for this location, better to pay the rate and save poin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Ideally located to offer easy access to over 330 area wineries, the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel is the perfect choice for a tour of our beautiful area. Thank you for your feedback and sharing your appreciation for our spacious guestrooms and Lobby wine tastings! It would be our pleasure welcome back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights with the intentions of visiting various wineries and doing some sightseeing in Napa/Sonoma. The hotel is a multi-building low-rise complex with a pool in the middle. The rooms are fairly large with average quality furnishings. The bathroom was average with standard Hilton amenities. I was expecting overall higher quality for a Hilton. The air conditioning was noisy and the wall on which the vents were located vibrated. We asked for a quiet room and got one on the top floor (of 3 floors) but located very close to the ice and pop machines which at times were very noisy. The windows in the room opened but with the highway being so close, it was not possible to sleep with the windows open. There was noise from the hallways and you could hear through the walls. The title of the hotel says "Sonoma Wine Country". Sonoma and the wine country are quite a distance away. There is not much in Santa Rosa. We did not eat at the hotel but found the complementary morning coffee in the lobby to be nice. Overall, we had a good trip to wine country but would not stay at this hotel or location again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OskieTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Located in the heart of Santa Rosa, our hotel offers easy access to over 330 area vineyards and wineries in the surrounding area, including right here in Santa Rosa. Our concierge is always ready to assist guests in finding just the right tours and tasting trips in the area. We are so glad to know you appreciated our spacious guestrooms but we must apologize if your stay was disrupted in anyway by the sound of the air conditioner. Your review will be shared with our maintenance associates to ensure that everything is in its best working condition for future stays. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The car we hired at San Francisco airport did not have sat nav and without it we did have difficulty locating the hotel late at night. Our room was on the ground floor of the Zinfandel wing, next to the elevator. The noise from the elevator, when used, plus the noise created by a handful of fellow guests resulted in the nights not being as peaceful as I would have hoped. Apart from that, our 3 night stay was enjoyable. The bar area was pleasant, the Friday night wine tasting was enjoyable even though the choice of wine was limited and the reception staff were very helpful. The reception staff were able to provide vouchers for some of the wineries we visited which saved us a little money. I also made use of the fitness centre in an attempt to burn off some of the calories consumed during those wine tastings. To sum up I would say that the Hilton was overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank menstonsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
All guest feedback, positive or otherwise is truly appreciated. While we are so glad you enjoyed a number of aspects of our Sonoma Wine Country hotel and hospitable service, it is terribly disappointing to learn that you may have experienced any inconvenience due to sounds from outside your guestroom. We always encourage all of our guests to share any concerns with us at the time of their stay, and regret that we were not able to resolve your issues while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Was very disappointed in this hotel. Not typical Hilton standard. Decor was very outdated. Bathroom had peeling pine tree wallpaper. Carpet is very worn. Not the cleanest of facilities. Pool was green so could not swim. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was the highlight as they do have a very good buffet. Completely overpriced as well. Will stay at the Embassy Suites next time as that property is very modern and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4recreationist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your point of view as well as your appreciation for our breakfast buffet. It is with great disappointment that we learn that not all aspects of your stay were as positive, as this is not the experience that we intend for any of our guests. We take all reviews very seriously and will be certain to share your feedback with all of our management team so that we can resolve any matters you have brought to our attention, both with regard to maintenance and housekeeping. It is our hope to welcome you back again so that we can regain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
0.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
573 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,020 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
675 reviews
7.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
2.1 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing