We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Probably won't stay here again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Elk Grove, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably won't stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Couldn't find my reservation even though I had a confirmation number. Immediately upon walking into room I had to kill a rather large spider. There was mold on the grout in the shower. The air conditioning unit never got the room cool even after running all night long.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    140
    96
    43
    19
See reviews for
140
148
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family (two kids, 3 and 9) stayed here for three nights last weekend while visiting family in SR. The front desk staff worked with us when we didn't like the second floor room they first gave us and we got a first floor room directly across the lawn from the breakfast room. It was lovely to have the back door open onto green space for the kids, with a patio table and chairs, and in the mornings it was great to have such quick and easy access to the breakfast area, when one kid woke up early and the other slept. Pool was clean and felt good in the heat! Very family friendly and almost had a camp-ground feel in the evenings, with people sitting out on the patios and visiting.

Room Tip: If you have small children, consider a first floor room that opens onto the green across from the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We used this Santa Rosa Best Western as our stopping ground for our visit to Napa Valley. What a great choice. The location is great...very close to downtown Santa Rosa, which is quite nice and it is a short drive into Napa Valley. The hotel offered everything that we would want. It was very clean, comfortable, had a nice pool and the breakfast was pretty decent. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would defnitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Staying on the first floor next to the pool was convenient and not a problem with any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laney293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable, and we did not mind the outside room entrance and being on the second floor. We came to breakfast just before closing, and there was a poor selection of items, although they later brought out a few more things. Overall, it was an average place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpr244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked 3 rooms for a mini-family reunion and we all enjoyed our stay. The rooms have been re-done recently, with contemporary color schemes and furnishings, and nice crown moldings. And the rooms were spacious. We had everything we could want for a comfortable stay including a fridge and microwave, easy chair and footstool, desk and chair, and a nice big flat-screen TV. We were very comfortable. Nice pool and grounds too. Only negatives are that the carpet in our room needed cleaning, and the breakfast room (breakfast was included in the room price) could have been attended to more frequently as the hot foods and coffee kept running out. Must also mention the desk clerk who was very friendly and helpful, and even took family pictures for us while we visited in the lobby. Would definitely return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Labeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

As soon as I drove in I knew..this was not a great/good hotel. I booked on Hotwire :(. Room was small and had a musty smell. Beds were very small. Carpets dirty and our tub was not clean. Fixtures in restroom were rusty and walls were damaged. Had troubles with internet connection too. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilizmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Family of 4 had a nice stay. The pool is huge and the room appears to have been updated. Comfy beds, good service. And the full breakfast saved us a lot of money. Good ammenities. Large fridge in room as well as microwave. No hot tub though which would have been nice. Other than that no complaints

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nurseshann23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#9 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites
Address: 870 Hopper Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1611 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of the Sonoma Wine Country! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Rosa is available to serve the needs of both corporate and family travelers. We are within minutes of 30 major wineries including Kendall Jackson, Korbel & Rodney Strong. Our location is just three miles from Charles M. Schulz (STS) Airport, 20 miles from Calistoga and The Napa Valley, and 55 miles from the city of San Francisco. For you Peanuts fans, the Charles M. Schulz Museum & Ice Rink is only one mile from our front door! Race fans can enjoy a short 20 minute drive to Infineon Raceway. All rooms include our expanded hot American Breakfast featuring our famous cinnamon rolls. We also have two separate conference room facilities that can accommodate up to 115 total attendees. Catering is also available. Please call for details. We offer an outdoor heated pool, zen garden and courtyard. Please call hotel for pet policies.All rooms have free high-speed Internet access, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, a private patio or balcony and an exterior entrance. We look forward to having you as our guest very soon! Thank you for choosing to Stay Smart! Credit card and valid ID required for all check-ins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Holiday Inn Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Holiday Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing