We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bargain in expensive area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great bargain in expensive area”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Recently purchased from another chain, this hotel is upgrading its facilities. The suites are enormous. You are close to Healdsburg, wineries, and the city of Santa Rosa. The prices were less than competitive hotels; the breakfast very adequate; and the staff exceptional. There was a mixup on the three rooms I booked (due to a Travelocity error) and the desk clerk took it in stride and provided rooms for all of us at a busy time of year. Still some transition issues: lights burned out, instructions for jacuzzi missing, odd placement of furniture (bed was put in diagonally so one couldn't reach lamp on either side without getting up); etc. But the appearance is pleasant and our stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Check the hotel web site. We found a special rate during transition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmarKhayyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    159
    105
    51
    25
See reviews for
161
167
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I agree the previous positive customer feedback and would like to add that it is a great place for people travelling with pets, too. There is a pet area complete with doggy cleanup bags. Wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellibph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
I would like to thank both kellibl and thefinn9 for their kind words. We have been working very hard to improve our hotel and services, and when people tell us about their experiences, it makes it all worth while.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you both next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, TX
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Really clean and very friendly staff. Our room was absolutely perfect. We werent expecting plush and luxury accomodations, because we werent paying that kind of price. We were very pleased and surprised at how nice everything was. The hot breakfast was good and the coffee was excellent. Overall and in detail, there just isnt anything a reasonable person should be disappointed in. I'd glad pick this hotel again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed equally desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefinn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, ca
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here over 4th of July weekend for 3 nights. It was overall a very pleasant stay and I’d recommend the hotel. We got a discounted rate because the hotel just re-opened (it used to be Holiday Inn), so it was affordable, though normally prices are significantly higher—it would still be worth it if you can afford it though. It is also a good, convenient, and safe location.

The rooms and grounds are very clean, nice looking and well-maintained. In the room, a microwave and slightly larger-than-average mini fridge were great. The lobby is large and comfortable. The pool area looked good and the fitness center was great except the A.C. did not work in there and it was 90+ degrees, so really too hot in there to work out much. I hope they fix that soon.

I got the feeling this was one of the more crowded weekends they’ve had since they re-opened 4 months ago and hopefully it will give them some hints about what to improve in the future. For example, one morning they were entirely out of towels in the whole hotel! Please buy more towels for goodness sake! Also the patio outside our room was nice, and there is a pretty fountain right nearby, but not a single chair to sit on the patio which kind of defeats the point. Also there were cigarette butts in the planters out there, guess they don’t clean those.

The breakfast bar was better than the average continental breakfast, though don’t expect restaurant quality food or anything, more like instant powdered eggs and soggy microwaved hash browns. Good variety of foods though. Unfortunately the breakfast room was a mob scene and they were contstantly running out of items, the poor staff attendant would finally bring out like 6 more hashbrown patties that would be snatched up by the hungry wolves in 30 seconds, then she’d go drag out a bit more of something else. I think once again this is an issue that they were not used to the hotel being filled to capacity, and hopefully in the future they will be more prepared.

The customer service was about average or maybe slightly higher (except when I asked about the AC in the fitness room and the lack of towels the person at the desk was not at all apologetic about these problems, her attitude was more like “oh well, deal with it”). However the next day the same desk person was very helpful and printed directions for me off the internet.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank aurabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
I would like to thank aurabelle for her very kind words, and her constructive criticisms. I am thrilled that the rooms and grounds were clean and that you felt our location was convenient and safe. While the transition from Holiday Inn Express to Best Western Plus has been a relatively smooth one, I think you managed to touch on most of the bumps along the way.
There is indeed an issue with the air conditioning in the fitness room which my contractor assures me will be taken care of by the end of the week. Apparently towels are very popular this time of year as many of ours have disappeared and their replacements have been back ordered. The towels arrived yesterday and I will order their replacements this week to ensure this problem is not duplicated.
The Fourth of July weekend was a VERY busy one for us. Although it was a nice problem to have, it was definitely a learning experience for us. Among other solutions we are considering for the breakfast bar are extending our breakfast bar hours so hopefully not everyone shows up at the same time. We are also looking into purchasing an additional convection oven so we can cook more items at the same time.
Again, thank you for your kind words and for recommending us, I truly hope you are able to come see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We spent a saturday night here and found it a very comfortable place to stay after a long day. Easy check-in, good clean and comfortable rooms, with no hidden charges for parking or internet which I find so annoying at other hotels
My wife forgot her medicine in the room when we left and after contacting the hotel they fed-exed the package to our hotel in LA 2 days latter - I was amazed s I did not expect this to happen. Well done to all the staff at Best Western Wine Country Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonycoxhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Let's start by saying if you need to stay in Santa Rosa, look nowhere else but the Best Western Wine Country Inn! The newly renovated property brings more than just modern, up to date aesthetics, but a warm and comforting experience. As a hotelier, I find that there is a difference between staying at a hotel that actually wants to invest into the property to make the experience a good one for its' guests, versus a property that is just interested in maintaining a high occupancy rate. Todd and his exceptional crew made are definitely striving to exceed expectations. They even had fresh baked cookies at the front desk to greet me! My room was clean and refreshing after a long day of traveling. (Ahhh, just what I needed.)

Very reasonable rates and offers everything you need. I enjoyed the exercise room before getting ready to head downtown and enjoy a bite to eat.

Do yourself a favor and check this place out. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: This is my go-to spot when in Santa Rosa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SergioPicazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Took an impromptu trip to the wine country and found this Best Western right off the freeway entrance. First major kudo.
The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. We got in pretty late and the young lady checking us in provided us a short list of restaurants near by that were still open, as well as a list of great places for our next day's touring. Above and beyond the call of duty.

The room was clean and fresh; posh/modern decorations made me forget I was in a Best Western. Our room was relatively close to the street, but we weren't disturbed by street noise whatsoever.
The managers were at the front desk when we checked out. We made sure to let them know that we'll be returning for a planned, rather than impromptu trip back to their hotel. VERY pleased

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlackJewL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,020 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites
Address: 870 Hopper Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of the Sonoma Wine Country! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Rosa is available to serve the needs of both corporate and family travelers. We are within minutes of 30 major wineries including Kendall Jackson, Korbel & Rodney Strong. Our location is just three miles from Charles M. Schulz (STS) Airport, 20 miles from Calistoga and The Napa Valley, and 55 miles from the city of San Francisco. For you Peanuts fans, the Charles M. Schulz Museum & Ice Rink is only one mile from our front door! Race fans can enjoy a short 20 minute drive to Infineon Raceway. All rooms include our expanded hot American Breakfast featuring our famous cinnamon rolls. We also have two separate conference room facilities that can accommodate up to 115 total attendees. Catering is also available. Please call for details. We offer an outdoor heated pool, zen garden and courtyard. Please call hotel for pet policies.All rooms have free high-speed Internet access, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, a private patio or balcony and an exterior entrance. We look forward to having you as our guest very soon! Thank you for choosing to Stay Smart! Credit card and valid ID required for all check-ins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Holiday Inn Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Holiday Inn
Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing