We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent and reasonable”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Comfortable enough for a reasonably priced motel. Fridge and microwave in room are an addded bonus. Bed was comfortable, noise level not loud. Some smokers congregate at the table downstairs, but the office people promised to call them if they were noisy after 10 PM. Good coffee machine in the office, breakfast very minimal. The location is off the road and that 's a plus. Nice Hospice Thrift Store(one of the best) close by as well as a Goodwill.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs, that' s better because you don't get the parking noise and the office tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romaniangirlamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    35
    17
    6
See reviews for
25
38
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Califorina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked two rooms. I first talked to Sonny. I requested two rooms on the lower level. He said he would have to call me back but never did. I called the next day at 8:15 am. A sleepy female answered the phone. I could tell I woke her up. She told me people were checking out and asked me to call back later. When we checked in, the only front desk gal was really slow. Our room did not have a computer table, ironing board, or iron like our other room did. When I requested the items, I was told they would bring them, but they never arrived. The hotel is two story with no elevator. I felt uncomfortable. There was no safe in the room. Breakfast was posted to start at 6:30 am. It started at 7:30 am. I guess sleeping in is more important than their job? The breakfast items promised over the phone were not what we received. They ran out of milk and orange juice. No one was available to ask for more. The pool was closed, waiting for parts. The room cost $95.00 for Thursday and $159.00 for Friday. It was way over priced. There is another Americas Best Value Inn & Suites in Santa Rosa. It is a lot cheaper than this one on Hopper Avenue. The owners need to hire better help. On the good side, we did sleep well and didn't get robbed! If you stay here, do not expect much. Then you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girlsheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early July and were highly skeptical when we finally found the place. It is well hidden. The girl who worked the desk could have been somewhat more friendly. That aside, the room was old but functional if you don't plan spending a lot of time there. The free breakfast is served in the lobby with the idea of taking it back to your room on a tray. Beware, the tray is in your room so take it with you! The good news is that after a few wine tastings, the place looked better. The price was right and we were next to a Starbucks and a Trader Joes. I'm not sure I would stay here again but it was where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bkirkatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our first experience ever with that chain. Name sounds promising. Well, as we quickly learned, it does not mean much.
The only positive thing about the place is that it's in Santa Rosa, not too far from Napa and Somoma.
It's far from downtown, so not much around. Swimming pool was closed, because of the law about not having an handicap ramp. I call BS on this, this is summer!!!
The room was stinky, like if some cat (or dog) had urinated in all corners.
From the outside, it looks ok, that's it.
As anything around, you pay much more than it's worth because you're close to the 2 major wine valleys of CA.
Not saying that you should not go there, just set your expectations low and you'll be OK.
Maybe the owner should sell his huge Mercedes and spend some money on refreshing the rooms. It makes you feel being taken for granted.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mammifere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Your average motel in a good location. Rooms clean and quiet and food nearby within walking distance. Staff friendly but no coffee etc in the morning until almost 7:00. Pool is green and not usable so do not count on it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46JimH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

After reading some of the reviews of the budget hotels in the area we decided on this place on the strength of the reviews. I have to say I was disappointed.
The rooms have paperthin walls and poor fitting doors. With people arriving at all hours of the night and as soon as the arrivees stopped the leavers started. Each dragged cases and banged doors (they had no choice it was the only way to close them) which you could hear all night. Not that I was asleep as the in room fridge made as much noise as a tractor running and the light from the cable box was burning my retinas out being so bright and so close to the bed.
We have stayed in many hotels in this price bracket on our trip and this was far from god value. For the same money we have got pools, lifts and sleep.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
560 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I met up with two other couples for an overnight stay. When we entered our room, we immediately noticed a couple of flies buzzing around over the bed. There was a chemical smell that seemed like an attempt to cover up a smoke smell (non-smoking room). When we opened one of the dresser drawers, we found 2 trash bags filled with empty beer cans.

I went to the front desk. The clerk was very apologetic and immediately gave us another room. The new room was much better and as expected for this hotel class; clean, no smells, and no flies. We checked our friends' rooms and they were great, as well. So, we'll consider the first room an anomaly, due to the behavior of the prior guests. We did notice later that a cleaning crew had been dispatched to that room, so they appeared to make a serious effort to correct the issues we found.

Because of the immediate and appropriate staff response and the fact that the other 3 rooms were good, I can say that we were happy with our stay and would likely stay here again when in the area. The rooms were very quiet.

We didn't take advantage of the breakfast, but it looks like a typical continental style for this hotel class.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
1.7 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
122 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,309 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country
Address: 866 Hopper Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1611 (Formerly Ramada)
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Wine Country Hotel is located in the heart of the magnificent California wine country. Guests will enjoy our 34 beautifully decorated guestrooms and suites, featuring stylish decor comfortable furnishings and contemporary amenities for an enjoyable stay. At this Lodging Santa Rosa wine country motel our friendly staff is available 24-hours a day. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Wine Country guests are treated to a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Ramada
Ramada Santa Rosa
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing