We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Old Cantina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Rosa Taquileria and Grille

La Rosa Taquileria and Grille
Ranked #27 of 523 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: At La Rosa Tequileria & Grille we strive to take flavors found in traditional Mexican food and create exciting modern dishes while celebrating some of our favorite classics. We make everything we serve in-house and from scratch, and you can taste the difference. Try our Scallop and Chorizo Ceviche or our Ancho Chile Salmon, or enjoy classic dishes like Chicken Enchiladas or our rich Carne Asada Traditionale.La Rosa features over 160 artisan tequilas including dozens of rare and special finds. Join us for one of our tequila tastings, or indulge in one of our tasting flights to learn more about the fruits of agave plant. We can accommodate and sized event, all the way up to 300 people. Ask about how you can hold your next event at La Rosa!
Northern California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Old Cantina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good food, friendly service, a little slow. Unique menu items. Parking a nightmare, but that's not their fault.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank XKPNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    66
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Graton, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never Had Mexican Fare this Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

First, i am not much of a border Mexican food fan so I wasn't expecting all that much but this is a place I look forward to returning repeatedly. The wild mushroom quesidillas are a must order- perfectly folded and grilled with cheese and mushroom filling. Just because i had read a local newspaper review that ranked the enchiladas as 4 star, i had to try them and was not disappointed at all- best I can remember tasting. We shared a salad which was big enough for 4 people, so i suggest coming with a group to try out the various unique specialties. We were there for lunch, so service was excellent and fast, but i can imagine that the evening crowd could slow down service. All kinds of imaginative tequila drinks with lots of expensive brands- but we didn't try them at lunch. Good beer selection on tap.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gratontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Under new management and possibly a chef as well. Popped in Sunday afternoon and found prompt, professional, courteous service. Was taken to a table immediately. Chips and salsa arrived as we settled in. Asked about lunch menu as we arrived right at the switch to dinner and were given the lunch menu as requested. Drink and food orders taken right away and drinks arrived soon after. Food was very tasty and hot, hot, right from the kitchen. Love that.
I found a very good selection of dishes that were perfect for non meat eaters. Several to choose from and full of flavor. Someone has put some thought into the menu. My husband said his carnitas was good, but on the bland side. My selection however was outstanding. Vegetable wrap (it's offered as a torta as well).

There were so many delicious sounding dishes on the lunch menu under "wraps and tortas" and I will have to go back and try them out.

Overall a very good experience. Well run, good food, decent prices. I'm thinking of bringing a group here as the service was so good and the food was delicious.

They do offer outdoor seating with a view of the downtown square. I think I saw outdoor heaters as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChillyAWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere & deco...not the best mexican food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The atmosphere and decoration of La Rosa is delightful - it's comfortable while maintaining a chic quality that makes for a great experience. The bar selection is excellent, and their margaritas are some of the best in the county...however, the food is often lack-luster and not as flavorful as other options in Santa Rosa, where excellent mexican food is plentiful. Particularly on busy nights, it seems that taste and quality is sacrificed for speed in getting food to tables. Still worth a try, but don't expect absolute perfection!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pretty good Mexican in a very nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

La Rosa (rumor has it that Carlos Santana owns it) is an attractive Mexican restaurant in downtown Santa Rosa. The food was really good. Service left a little to be expected when the waiter, perhaps a tad new, brought the check before our guest had finished eating: seemed strikingly thoughtless and rude.

But, it is convenient, attractive and nicely located. Plus, the food was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMLVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rosa Taquileria and Grille also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to La Rosa Taquileria and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing