We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gables Wine Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Santa Rosa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for a Memorial Day weekend getaway, and fell in love with the Gables. Pam and Larry are very hospitable, and opened up several bottles for all the guests to enjoy on the back deck. When we asked for a dinner recommendation, Pam made the reservation for us and even gave us a printed sheet with directions to the restaurant. The Victorian house was decorated perfectly in period furniture. Breakfast was delicious (lavender bread with lavender picked fresh from their garden!), and they were happy to accommodate vegetarians. Can't wait to come back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 270 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have stayed at B&Bs across the nation and in Europe, and The Gables just might be our favorite we have stayed at. The historical building is gorgeous and kept immpecably. We had a late check in and an early departure due to our plans to go Ballooning ( see our UP and Away review). And They were so accomodating. They even made us a " sack breakfast" with some fruit, muffins, and yogurt to take with us on our journy, which at 5am was VERY appreciated. The 2nd morning we were able to experience the real breakfast and it was super yummy and fun to meet at the other people staying in the house. Pam and Larry sat with each couple to discuss thier plans for the day and offer us free tasing cards ( which can REALLY add up in present day wine country).
The room was exquisite, too. The antiques were appropriate but comfortable. The bed was so comfortable and the "Comphy Sheets" were so soft and clean. The claw foot tub made for a nice relaxing bath after a day of wine tasting. If you don't like wine, there are a lot of other experiences to have in the area. Along with the Balloon ride, we went to the coast and had Oysters at Tamalas Bay which was so much fun!
We can't wait to return!! Thank you Pam and Larry!

Room Tip: The main street the Inn is on can be noisy ( didnt matter to us) but if thats a concern, as for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soccr62949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here (with another couple) for a weekend while touring the Sonoma wine scene. It was our first visit to Sonoma, so we weren't certain what to expect.
Well, Pam and Larry may run the best B&B I have been to in a long time! Attentive and personable, they made certain everything we needed was provided, including the "inside scoop" to wineries and restaurants in the area.
Seems that they have done their homework, and they are on a first-name basis with almost every restauranteur or wine group in the area!

Our friends are from CA, and I know they are going back. We hope to do the same. Can't say anything except STAY HERE (and get your reservations early).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed for our 50th anniversary. Pam and Larry treated us like good friends and family. They had executed our daughter's requests and had wife's brand of champaign on ice, flowers, chocolates all set up in our room when we arrived. Gave us a tour of their amazing B&B…including our own fireplace. Breakfast was 5star gourmet quality. They made reservations at their favorite restaurant for dinner, which was the perfect, romantic Italian restaurant. Beds comfortable and room quiet. Very, very pleasant stay. Then they recommended a day trip to the Redwood State park and the coastal seashore where we had a great lunch. Location is rural…outside the Santa Rosa hustle and bustle and traffic….but minutes to stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floridasailor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a truly amazing vacation to The Gables Inn! Everything from the accommodations and breakfasts to the concierge services and hospitality were the most remarkable I’ve experienced. As a world traveler, I have spent many nights in upscale hotels in beautiful locations; however, this Victorian mansion coupled with Pam and Larry’s care and concern for guests currently tops my list of travels.

First off, The Gables Inn is a quiet refuge offering its guests a serene and pampering environment. Upon arrival Pam greeted us with fresh baked cookies, which she does daily, and a big smile. She asked what we would like to do while staying with them, so we listed a few things and informed us she’d “take care of it” for us.

Following a fantastic dinner recommendation, we returned back to the Inn to get some rest. The beds and sheets were remarkable! If you can imagine slipping into a pat of butter and being lulled to sleep by the sounds of nature, this is what you will experience at The Gables Inn. (*Note: I had to purchase the sheets on the beds for use at home. Just ask Pam, she'll help you out with this, too!)

Each morning you awake to the most phenomenal breakfasts I've had! Pam uses the lavender and blackberries from the grounds to make amazing scones and Larry's fancy soufflés are sure to please. As a result, a purchase of their personal cookbook is a must. Larry is quite a chef, the portions are huge, and your belly will remain full for hours after indulging in these decadent breakfast creations.

Pam is a wonderful hostess and concierge who personally plans your days for you if you’d like. Incredible! This was the first vacation I have ever experienced that once I arrived I had to make no more decisions for the rest of my stay. Each morning Pam brings you a map which she highlights with you indicating places to stop, wineries to sample, restaurants in which to indulge, and sights you must see. If you want an individual basket of bread, cheese, and wine to accompany you, Pam will fix it up and will give you a list of the best picnic spots. Yes, there’s WiFi to check out restaurant reviews on Yelp, but no television and no stress whatsoever…just pure paradise!

Thank you Larry and Pam; we will be back very soon!!! :)

Lynn & Mark Catalana

Room Tip: Each room has its own "personality". Pam will help you out in choosing the perfect locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here twenty-five years ago and although it now has different owners, it was such a wonderful experience! The new hosts, Pam and Larry, are charming, kind and terrific cooks! We ate peach crisps made with peaches from their tree and lavender blackberry scones with lavender from their yard. Yum! The 100 year old plus Victorian home is a grande dame worthy of her place on the historic register. Pam marked up maps to recommend wineries to visit and helped me find unique places for dinner. I cannot say enough great things about this trip!

Room Tip: Each room has its own personality. There is also a departed cottage if you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Gables! Pam & Larry are the best hosts. They helped us plan a relaxing day in wine country and started us off with a very filling and delicious breakfast. We stayed in the cottage that has a loft bedroom, though I am sure all of the rooms are great. The historic house is beautiful and on a lovely piece of land. Thanks so much Pam & Larry!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
6 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 24 in Santa Rosa
713 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 24 in Santa Rosa
598 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
14.6 mi away
The Cottage Inn & Spa
The Cottage Inn & Spa
#1 of 11 in Sonoma
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Wine Country Inn

Address: 4257 Petaluma Hill Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95404-9796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Rosa
Price Range: $261 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Sonoma Wine Country. Nestled in the picturesque foothills of Northern California’s esteemed wine country, The Gables Wine Country Inn is a premier luxury inn set on 3-1/2 acres offering a relaxed country experience, large guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. We are located in the very center of Sonoma County. The Gables Inn is an elegantly restored Gothic Victorian, circa 1887, featuring 12-foot ceilings, luxurious beds fitted with Comphy® sheets and private bathrooms with claw-foot tubs. Breakfast is a true culinary experience that prepares you for the day's adventures; whether it be wine tasting, hiking among the redwoods, floating the Russian River, visiting the coast or biking the vineyard covered hills. Each guest is given a Wine Passport that provides complementary wine tastings at over 100 Sonoma County Wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gables Wine Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Country Inn Santa Rosa
The Gables Wine Country Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing