We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great "Home Base" for Russian River Wine Touring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gables Wine Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Santa Rosa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Pam and Larry are gracious hosts and Innkeepers, and really made us feel at home while we visited the Russian River wineries for two days. Both are extremely knowledgeable about the restaurants and wineries in the area. The accommodations were charming and comfortable, and the linens are first rate. The breakfasts were fantastic with original recipes well prepared by Larry. A great experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragsy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 272 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Gables several years ago, and on our return found it to be just as charming as we remembered. The new owners, Larry and Pam are very sweet and helpful and made our trip to Sonoma even better with their hospitality and suggestions!

Room Tip: The Parlor room on the first floor is rich and magnificent, and in my opinion the most beautiful roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed with Pam and Larry for two days this October and although the innkeepers are gracious our experience was not positive. We were oriented to the cottage with an explanation that there had been a leak in the bathroom unable to be fixed. The bubble in the floor would not allow the door to close and there was a nauseating smell in the bathroom that was beyond unpleasant. We were left soaps, shampoos, etc that had been used by previous guests which is inappropriate and unsanitary. Would not recommend this bed and breakfast as a comfortable experience and there was no service recovery on the part of the innkeepers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teresa_m_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam and Larry W, Owner at The Gables Wine Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We find this review perplexing as the guest never voiced any of these concerns during her stay. We regret she had an unpleasant experience and we reached out to her with a good will gesture, but it was declined. I think we can speak for all innkeepers when we ask guests to report issues immediately, so they can be remedied. Our goal is to provide our guests with a pleasant and memorable experience and we never want anyone to feel the need suffer in silence.
All our guests receive new, individually wrapped facial and shower soaps. We also provide bulk shampoos and shower gels as do many in our industry.
As for the water leak, it occurred in June and was immediately repaired, but left a slight buckle in the linoleum next to the tub. The corner of the bathroom rug has to be pulled back to close the door. This is pointed out to our guests at check-in. We have elected to hold off replacing the flooring until fall so not to cancel other guests’ long held reservations for a minor inconvenience.
The odor she reported has us baffled. Both we and our staff were in the room before, during and after her stay, and none of us detected any foul smells. We can only surmise that the odor she experienced came from outside. We have never heard of this issue in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived at The Gables a bit early for checkin, but were warmly welcomed by Larry, offered a glass of local wine and snacks on the pretty back deck and given a good orientation to the area, places for dinner and suggested wineries to visit. An excellent beginning to our two-day stay.
We stayed in the Garden View room at the back of the inn and recommend it for those who would be bothered by the busy road noise from the front facing rooms. Breakfast was served precisely at 9 am, and although we would have preferred an earlier start, the rich 3-course breakfasts were expertly prepared and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cottagegirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our third venture to Sonoma and we could not be happier with The Gables experience. Thanks to Pam and Larry and their sweet Stella for the comfy room and amazing breakfasts. These B&B owners create an atmosphere that welcomes wine country travelers, giving us time and space to share our daily adventures. Weekends often find them coordinating a wine and food tasting on their patio, introducing the guests to even more fine wineries. Chuck and I can't wait to start planning our next Wine Country trip and another visit to this lovely Inn.

Room Tip: Go online and view their website that shares the description of each room. We love the Parlor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandomWorldRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

great weekend getaway, very relaxing. breakfast was outstanding, room was very comfortable, Larry provided assistance in identifying wineries to visit. I will strongly recommend to friends and will stay here again when I return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I could not have asked for better accommodations, better hosts, better food, or a better location for my first trip to Sonoma County - all for a great price! Pam and Larry are extremely gracious hosts and fantastic cooks! They offered help with booking a bus tour, where to eat locally, shipping wine home, recommending wineries to visit, etc. The old Victorian house is beautiful and clean as well as spacious. We're already planning our return trip...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
470 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,777 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
602 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Cottage Inn & Spa
The Cottage Inn & Spa
#1 of 11 in Sonoma
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Wine Country Inn

Address: 4257 Petaluma Hill Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95404-9796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Rosa
Price Range: $262 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Sonoma Wine Country. Nestled in the picturesque foothills of Northern California’s esteemed wine country, The Gables Wine Country Inn is a premier luxury inn set on 3-1/2 acres offering a relaxed country experience, large guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. We are located in the very center of Sonoma County. The Gables Inn is an elegantly restored Gothic Victorian, circa 1887, featuring 12-foot ceilings, luxurious beds fitted with Comphy® sheets and private bathrooms with claw-foot tubs. Breakfast is a true culinary experience that prepares you for the day's adventures; whether it be wine tasting, hiking among the redwoods, floating the Russian River, visiting the coast or biking the vineyard covered hills. Each guest is given a Wine Passport that provides complementary wine tastings at over 100 Sonoma County Wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Gables Wine Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Country Inn Santa Rosa
The Gables Wine Country Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing