We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
North Bay Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My mother and I stopped here for a night while on a road trip. Although it's an older motel, it was clean, super spacious and very comfortable. The manager was very friendly and quite helpful in making suggestions for dinner. In the past, I've paid a whole lot more to stay at fancy hotels and resorts, but on this trip, we decided to stay at "budget" motels since it was a long trip. After a night here, I was sold on the concept! You park right outside your door and the neighborhood is quiet and safe. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Altadenabirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
26
44
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellently positioned for a route coming from San Francisco and entering the wine country, we chose this motel during our car trip along the coast. Having driven out of San Francisco in the late evening as hotels are incredibly expensive there, this offered much better value only 45 minutes away! Rooms are tidy, the hotel is in a quiet surrounding and I think they even offered a small breakfast although we didn't used it. They pointed out nicely some wineries to drop in the next day which have been excellent. Very convenient and inexpensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in better motels of this type. Had a mouldy smell when the water was draining away.Next to a very busy road too. i would not say that this property is value for money, in fact I think it is expensive for what one gets.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank maryc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and it was worth the price. Easy to find from the main highway and the rooms were clean and very large. Very basic but no complaints. Staff was friendly. Free WiFi and lots of parking. Neighbourhood seemed safe.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RCD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I can only echo previous reviews that indicated the positive experience to be had by choosing this unassuming (single-story, external-entry) motel... yet finding it quite clean & well-maintained, more comfortably furnished than you'd expect, and nice and quiet to boot. (It's on a main boulevard, but even on a Fri. night with the youth of Santa Rosa out and about it was fine.) I, too, appreciated TA for pointing me here because finding a place in proximity to Healdsburg (our actual destination the next day, a few miles up the 101 freeway) in September was proving difficult and ridiculously expensive.
By staying in a two-queen room, our cost was much higher than the initial "luring" costs on the hotel-booking sites (which were for single queens or kings) -- but it all worked well. The front-desk gentleman was quietly friendly and helpful both at our late arrival and early departure.

Pluses (which, dear reader, you've probably already read elsewhere too): Convenient to 101, had a mini-fridge and microwave, free wifi, and proximity to large and small stores for necessities. Also, a very short drive to perf. arts ctr, some more upscale restaurants, even the mall. Oh - and within a few miles of the Charles Schulz Museum and Ice Rink.

Minuses (which are truly minor): sparse toiletry products in room; lighting was weird; location of outlets awkward relative to tables if you're going to work on a PC; continental breakfast was packaged pastries, apples/bananas, granola bars, OJ and meh coffee/powdered creamer. It was fine for heading out super-early and just wanting to hit the road -- but if they were to take advantage of the many affordable and awesome bakeries in the area (and Dutch Bros. coffee not far away) and offer something a tad better - what an awesome difference that would make. Just a thought, since (frankly) for the same price or a few dollars more (if it's a multi-bed room), other places in the area offer "hot" breakfasts in the morning.

Still: thank you, TA and North Bay Inn for bringing the Sonoma County hotel-hunt to a happy and successful conclusion!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClassicalEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Based on reviews and price we stayed here for 2 nights recently. The management was nice, room was clean, quiet, bed was comfy, easy access to street, breakfast was typical continental. During the summer this area is very expensive so we felt lucky to get our room for a decent price. This is definitely better than a Motel 6 since they give you breakfast, a fridge, microwave and free Wifi. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astrowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Without TA, I wouldn't have seriously considered North Bay Inn, but I'm so glad I did. I stayed for one night for a weekend in Wine Country and was beyond pleased. As others have said, this is a traditional motel. There are no frills, but what you get is a very solid experience. I stayed in Room #120, which is a double room and it was fresh-smelling (non-smoking) and very spacious. I was very pleased with the roomy fridge and microwave in the room. The beds were very comfortable and it looked like the furniture and bedding were redone recently.

The location of this motel is excellent. A short drive from downtown Santa Rosa, there is a coffee shop across the street or Starbuck's if you prefer that. We ate at a very good vegan Thai Restaurant nearby. If you want to skip out on the continental breakfast (it's just danishes and coffee and instant oatmeal), go to the Community Market health food store next door and get fresh produce, yogurt, and lots of other goodies.

While not necessarily reasonable, the value for what you get cannot be beat in the very expensive Wine Country. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank viajera511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#9 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
2.9 mi away
Country Inn Santa Rosa
Country Inn Santa Rosa
#16 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandman Hotel
Sandman Hotel
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay Inn

Property: North Bay Inn
Address: 1875 Mendocino Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-3628
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — North Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your North Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Bay Hotel Santa Rosa
North Bay Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing