We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!”

Up & Away Ballooning
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fly with us over Sonoma County! Enjoy the serene views from our gondola's followed by post-flight brunch & mimosa's to toast the start to your day.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We took our trip (4 of us) on July 5, 2013. If you are considering a balloon flight, look no further than Up & Away. This is a first class experience. Mike and his crew were fantastic and a class act. (BTW - You get to help inflate the balloon which is part of the fun) The entire trip from beginning to end was much better than any of us could have imagined. If you are afraid of heights, dont worry. We had one in our group that also has a fear of heights and I cannot look over the edge of a building without feeling queasy. There is no sensation of height, so we were absolutely fine. Its like an enhanced view from Google Earth. I learned a lot about ballooning on this trip. Mike was our pilot and was chock full of information and anecdotes about ballooning, the areas we were flying over, etc. When the trip is over, the balloon gets packed up and then we all head to a winery for a champagne brunch. The food was great and the hospitality continues as they have a whole crew there to make sure you get your fill. It is a family owned and operated company and and you really get a welcome feeling. You can even tell that the employees care as much as the owners. Once the brunch is over, you also get a free wine tasting at the winery, if you want. (No obligation) We took advantage of that as well and had a great time. To sum up, don't wait, just do it. You will not regret it.

Thank TimtheTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Tim
Thank you kindly for the wonderful review, greatly
appreciated. It was a pleasure having
you and your family out!
Mike and Patty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"a hot air balloon ride"
in 34 reviews
"bucket list"
in 45 reviews
"great pilot"
in 10 reviews
"lovely brunch"
in 9 reviews
"wine country"
in 62 reviews
"amazing ride"
in 10 reviews
"great flight"
in 8 reviews
"sonoma county"
in 51 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 21 reviews
"beautiful sonoma"
in 10 reviews
"landing"
in 75 reviews
"crew"
in 241 reviews
"basket"
in 69 reviews
"balloons"
in 270 reviews
"certificate"
in 36 reviews
"company"
in 93 reviews
"armand"
in 21 reviews
Filter

361 - 365 of 743 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We celebrated our 34th anniversary quietly floating above the Sonoma Valley with pilot Mike Kijak, owner of ‘Up & Away Hot Air Ballooning’ in Santa Rosa, CA. The scenery and quietude of our balloon ride was a remarkable experience, and quite educational. Mike’s twenty years piloting experience was evident with his professional approach to the art of ballooning, and his willingness to share technical knowledge. We recommend ‘Up & Away Hot Air Ballooning’ for anyone who enjoys recreational flying, or would simply enjoy sightseeing the beautiful earth in a quiet, tranquil manner.

The post-flight brunch was elegantly served in the Kendall-Jackson Vineyard Garden area, and was personally prepared by Mike’s wife, Patty. The quiche, chocolate-dipped strawberries, mimosas, and variety of other treats concluded a truly memorable experience. No effort was spared to ensure our comfort and satisfaction. No doubt as to why ‘Up & Away Hot Air Ballooning’ is ranked #1 of 38 activities in the Santa Rosa, CA area. One a scale of 1-10, we rate our event as a 20. We look forward to returning to Mike and Patty’s exceptional venue.

Kathy & Lane Williams
Evans, GA
Visited June 17, 2013

Thank Kathywms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Wow, thank you so much for the lovely review.
That was so very kind of you.
Mike and Patty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My Mother-in-law wanted a Hot Air Balloon ride for her 75th birthday. So her family pitched in to get her tickets and my wife and I decided to join her. What a fantastic trip. Our pilot, Daniel was a wonderful guide taking us up and down the beautiful Dry Creek Valley. I must admit that I was a little apprehensive prior to the flight but we were not in the least bit nervous on the flight. It is so peaceful and serene. it took a couple of passes for our pilot to get us on the ground as the wind at ground level would take us of course but he was calm, cool and professional. We actually didn't mind as it extended our flight time. Once we were safely on the ground, we had a wonderful meal prepared by Patty. She and Mike, the main pilot, own the business and are a terrific host and hostess. It is truly a family operation which made our experience even more enjoyable. We would certainly book our next trip with them and recommend them highly to anyone considering a Hot Air Balloon excursion.
Gordon and Traci Barnes
Santa Rosa, CA

1  Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your business!!
Mike and Patty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I took my GF for our 1year anniversary and we had a great time. Staff was very professional and nice. Our ballon flight was amazing and to top it off we had a wonderful brunch and Kendal-Jackson winery. Definitely recommend Up & Away Ballooning! Very happy customer!!!

1  Thank Acalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Appreciate the kind review, thank you!
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a family reunion in Petaluma in June and 8 of us contracted with Up and Away Ballooning for an early morning flight on my brother's birthday, June 8. Days before and days after, there was no ballooning due to the weather, but on June 8, the day dawned with cloudless blue skies. How great is that!! My wife and I are from Santa Fe, so we have been to the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta in the fall many, many times, the one with mass ascensions of over 700 balloons in waves and Special Shapes events, yet we've never been UP in one, and now we had the opportunity. I'm glad that our first time was with Up and Away Ballooning, because I will always remember their professionalism and their genuine interest in our well being and safety, as well as the beautiful experience of silent flight over the vineyards of Santa Rosa, and the wonderful brunch on the grounds of Kendall Jackson vineyard prior to their opening for the day (only about 20 or so of us from 3 balloon flights that morning). Having been satisfied with observing and photographing balloon flights, and being up close and personal with hundreds of launches, I now can say that taking a flight in one is one of those events that one hopefully will get to do in one's lifetime, because it is just so worth it. And I have to hand it to Up and Away Ballooning for making it a safe and fun adventure. I highly recommend the experience and for you to get it with Up and Away Ballooning.

1  Thank spchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review,
it was a real pleasure having you all out.
Kind regards
Mike and Patty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up & Away Ballooning also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Up & Away Ballooning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing