We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding flight”

Up & Away Ballooning
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most personalized, professional ballooning experience in the Sonoma County Wine Country. Gourmet brunch served in the gardens of Kendall-Jackson Winery after the flight. Best safety record.***Now wheelchair accessible***
Charlotte, N.C.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding flight”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our party of six flew with Capt. Daniel to soaring heights with breathtaking views. The balloon flight was a first for all six of us. We had a clear brilliant day to enjoy the panorama from as far away as Mt. Shasta, a 100 mile view. The flight was a quiet, elegant ascension to about 3500 feet where we saw all of Sonoma Valley. After a pitch perfect landing, we were shuttled to the Kendall Jackson winery for a delicious brunch and casual get together with the owner, Mike Kijak and his wife, Patty. They were lovely hosts who treated us to mimosas, quiche, and chocolate strawberries. Anyone visiting either Sonoma or Napa should take a trip with Up, Up, and Away. Simply outstanding.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PJPCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks L. for choosing us for your flight, it was a pleasure
having you all out. Appreciate the feedback.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    23
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“February”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Up and Away was a great experience and a beautiful way to see Sonoma County. Mike and his company meet you at the Charles Schutz Airport and take you to the launch site in a van. The process of setting up the balloon is fascinating. The balloon we rode is wheelchair accessible. My friend and I joined another group of three so the ride was made enjoyable by not having too many people to share the balloon with. The scenery was incredible. David, the pilot, was able and professional. Our trip lasted an hour and a half once we were airborne. The ride was smooth and peaceful.
It is important to e flexible with the dates you want to travel because of the weather. Mike kept in contact with me daily to monitor for weather. Safety is their biggest concern. They have no control over the weather, but they do control when they go up.
We did not have the brunch with Up and Away, so I can't comment on that, but Mike recommended KC's downtown cafe in Windsor and it was great.
All in all this was a fabulous experience and we met some really nice folks in the process.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannette78028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks so much for choosing us for your flight
and for the kind review.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“and away we went...”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a great time floating over 3200 feet in the air. Great time for us. we could see the ocean, the mountains and all the way to san francisco. The entire crew was super nice and polite and took very good care of us.

Thanks!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlakeHeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind words, that was a beautiful
day/flight. To see so far out is truly a treat.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a wonderful trip. The landing was a little spooky because the wind kept picking us back up every time we tried to land. We ended up in a farmyard. Kudos to our pilot though he got us down without a hitch!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1Kel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thanks so much for the review, safety is our main concern.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“up and away blew us off”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I wanted to go on a hot air balloon ride for our anniversary. It worked best for us to go on Thanksgiving day and after several emails, Mike, the owner, agreed. The night before I called to get the details of the flight. Mike said that fog was forecast and that we weren't going. No contingency plan, such as a 5:30 AM phone call, to check the conditions was mentioned. When we awoke on Thanksgiving, there was no fog and the day was gorgeous. We were very disappointed and felt that Mike must have had other plans. Certainly an early morning checkin would be standard procedure if the weather is in question. When I look at these other good reviews, I feel that we missed something very special for no reason.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SFexplorer87505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
With the entire prior week very rainy and foggy,
especially the day before Thanksgiving being
super dense fog, we based not going out on
Thanksgiving as the forcast for the day was dense
fog again. We got majorly fooled, as did the other company
in town. We were trying to save the rider from getting up early only to
see a foggy day again. We are so sorry that we messed up the flight
day and did offer to take the riders on Friday for a reduced
fare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up & Away Ballooning also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Up & Away Ballooning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing