We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an old standby” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Gare

La Gare
Reserve with OpenTable
La Gare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 523 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between 3rd & 4th Streets in Historic Railroad Square
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“an old standby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had dinner at La Gare and enjoyed it. It may be old and seem worn out but there is something comfortasble about it. The food was very good, my salmon was delicious and my wife's steak was prepared as ordered, very rare. We enjoyed our dinners and will return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanford58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    44
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sonoma county
Level Contributor
138 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best Swiss/French food ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Take a trip to Europe without leaving Sonoma County! Enjoy a great meal in a traditional European decor with pictures of the Swiss alps adorning the walls. La Gare boasts excellent swiss/french food in old town Santa Rosa. Their signature french onion soup is rich in flavor, but not overpowering. As other reviewers have said, dinner comes with soup and salad; a rarity in most restaurants and the wait staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. They make their own house salad dressing which is available for purchase and is very tasty. Also on the menu is a salad for two prepared at table side.They have an abundant menu ranging from some of the best beef dishes to frog legs, duck, veal, chicken and more. The veal cordon bleu is one of my favorites as well as their signature dessert; cherry's jubilee prepared at table side. For excellent Swiss/French food at a good price, La Gare is the place to go.You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redevvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stay in Santa Rosa when we visit the wine country and we eat at La Gare when we are there.
The service is always great and food is tasty and consistently well prepared. When we have had an item we like it is just as good the next time we order it. I don't recall if they have cocktails because we always have wine. They do have a nice wine selection.

We like to eat around 6 and they fill up fast. When we leave there are always several people waiting for tables. I would recommend reservations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavenCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

La Gare is such a fantastic and quaint restaurant. The atmosphere is calm and relaxing and the waitstaff are superb! My boyfriend and I celebrate just about every occasion here and neither of us have ever had a subpar experience. From the hostess to the servers to the bussers, everyone who works there is kind and courteous and really enhances our dining experience (our favorite waitress Tina is phenomenal). Our favorite dish is the poulet marco polo and if you can, try to save room for dessert as it is all fabulous.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaimie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Best restaurant in town!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lovely French restaurant with consistently delicious food and impeccable service. Dinner includes soup, salad, and entree with all the trimmings. Our favorites are filet of beef Wellington and rack of lamb. La Gare has been in business for decades and is our place to go for special occasions - or "just because."

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gare also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to La Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing