We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been coming here for 15 years...”
Review of Sandman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandman
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Reviewed December 8, 2009

The Sandman Motel seems to continually upgrade the little things.. Things that matter, the things the traveler uses. Hair dryers, Refrigerators, Coffee makers. Seems that every time I stay I see something new.. WI-FI finally is worked out to my satisfaction. They are the cleanest rooms I know of and the cleaning staff is always nice and does a good job. The price is very fair with a nice hot breakfast. Staff is nice and accommodating. Prices are reasonable and have recently gone down a little which makes the SANDMAN a fantastic bargain.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rampworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 456 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

I stayed for a night with two girl friends, which made a good deal for around $90? Basically our experience was pleasant, room was clean enough with fridge & coffee maker etc, very nice continental breakfast with hot food, but best was probably the pool and jacuzzi -- it was not anything fancy, but having enjoy it just adds a delight to the stay.
For guest service I'm not so sure -- staff was not really friendly or courteous (not very helpful when I didn't know how to use the lobby coffee machine), and we saw one of them serving a lady and he seemed like he could not care less if she wasn't satisfied with some of their service. I guess this place is really worth recommending if you don't need any staff or service. The place was packed on the weekend!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melrosechoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

This lodging was set up by others for an event in Santa Rosa. I read the reviews here and was a little concerned, although, the last review was over 3 years old. I was prepared to endure a two day stay and make the best of it. When I checked in, the front lobby was nothing fancy, but it was clean and organized. The staff was friendly and efficient. When I got to my room, it was nice and what seemed to be recently remodeled (year or so??). The rate was decent (or so I was told since I didn't pay for it). It is not a fancy place, but it is nice. It is right next to a Carrow's restuarant which was also nice and had decent food. Definitely a nice place for the price. I'd stay there again, at least for a short business stay

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kempodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our way to a wedding in Clear Lake the next day. For $90 AARP rate, we were pleasantly surprised. Our room back by the pool had a refrigerator and microwave and free wireless. We spent Friday afternoon by the beautiful pool reading and though there were tons of restaurants nearby, just went to the Carrows next door that night.

The place was full the next morning when we left and I can see why. Clean, nice staff, good location. We'll definitely go back on our next trek up North.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandK64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

The rooms are just ok. The people behind the desk were not warm fuzzies by any means. But they were ok. the lady who runs the breakfast room needs to stop sportin a tude. She makes you feel very uneasy when you are there...kind of like, what are you doing in my kitchen..keep it clean and get out. She was not one of my favorite people. Nice pool and good location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmechoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Wine country places are fairly overpriced. I'm not a B&B kinda girl, but I also have a pet peeve about motels that have windows facing the walkways. Still, it was only one night and the price was right.

The front-desk staff were very friendly, and upon checking cheerfully gave us a room as far away from the street as possible when we requested it. Sure, there was a walkway in front of the window, but only one room past it, so no biggie. The room was comfy, a reasonable size and decent given the price.

But what I really liked was the breakfast room just off the pool. The free breakfast included the normal cereal, toast, coffee and juice, plus yogurt, hard boiled eggs (yay, protein) and Belgian Waffles freshly made! The room was cheery with a TV, and it opened to the lovely pool patio. The pool was tempting - good size, with jacuzzi - but we had places to go. No onsite restaurant, but wanting a nice dinner, we went to Equus, maybe 1/4 mile away attached to a fancy-ish hotel. Not too shabby.

And the motel had free wifi, yay again. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pezworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I have stayed twice now. The rooms are clean and decent size, pretty standard. Customer service is passable although we stayed with several friends in 4 different rooms and asked when making reservations to be next to each other, but they completely disregarded this. I don't think it was logistically hard (there were tons of vacancies), it jjust seemed like they couldn't be bothered to make any effort to put us together. However this was not really a big deal and we were in the same general area.

One of the best continental breakfasts I've ever seen, complete with make your own waffles on a waffle iron.

The pool looks nice but was closed for seemingly no reason while we were there, and when we asked they couldn't tell us a reason. Maybe it's seasonal (though it was March).

The location is good as it is centrally located between downtown Santa Rosa and Russian River wine road, which was our main purpose for coming. One of the cheaper motels in the area and WAY better than the Motel 6 down the road, so it's definitely worth it.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank aurabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
589 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#9 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
457 reviews
1.5 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman

Address: 3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range: $132 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman is a mythical creature who brings good dreams by sprinkling magical sand on the weary eyes of those sleeping. In the city of Santa Rosa, the Sandman is a new incarnation of a roadside inn that brings a warm and offbeat experience to weary travelers. Situated at the northernmost edge (nearly within shouting distance of Sonoma's wineries) the Sandman's muted colors, warm woods, and relaxed design will welcome you in. Sink into the casual comfort of the lobby, lounge by the pool, or enjoy a local brew at Sandman's new poolside bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sandman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Santa Rosa
Sandman Motel Santa Rosa
Sandman Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing