We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location in Santa Rosa”
Review of Sandman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandman
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked this hotel at the end of September, 2013 while attending a wedding in nearby Sabastipol, CA. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and easily accessed. The breakfast included in the relatively low daily rate is substantial and has a variety of foods. A shopping center and a Trader's Joe are a few minutes away by foot. Also nearby by car are the Charles Shultz Museum and the Luther Burbank Home. I highly recommend these sites if you have the time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Sandman
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 454 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our car club stayed here during our trip into Northern California. The facility is quite large but the parking spaces were large which relieved us of having our cars dinged by those parked by us. The rooms are large and were very clean. I'd would stay here again if I find myself in Santa Rosa. The only downside was that there are few restaurants around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here two nights on September 25th-26th 2013. Pulling up to the hotel we were a bit scared. It looks like a hotel out of the 70's or even 60's. Checked in and went right to the room. No elevator at this place so if you have a disability make sure you ask for first floor. Not easy to bring suitcases up a flight of steps, but we managed. Room was very clean but a bit small for the two of us with 4 suitcases. This is a green hotel which means the ac/heat is controlled by movement in the room. I found it to get hot in the middle of the night with no movement in the room from us sleeping. Room was also hot when we returned at the end of the day from not being there. Continental breakfast is nicely prepared, the only thing that was weird was the breakfast worker staring at you while you were eating. Overall a great value in a great location. There are a few places to walk to from this hotel, but none of them are rated very high on TripAdvisor so we didn't venture to any of them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPVenezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Initially I was surprised at how large a facility this is. From the photos one would think it is a small "motor court" type building. Wrong! It is quite large. We had booked as a group, but unfortunately our seven couples were split up among the four buildings.
The rooms were very clean and reasonably well appointed. The buildings are not new, but they have done a good job of maintaining the facility.
The only down-side for me is the lack of restaurants within walking distance. There is a Carrow's, but that just wasn't what the group was looking for on a wine country tour. We ended up going to a shopping center taqueiria that was just okay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank two-seater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed for 1 night and was impressed with cleanliness, safety, facilities, staff and the price. Wanted to stay another night but they were sadly booked up. Would definitely recommend to people staying in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al2878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here 6th-8th September with my girlfriend. Drove from San Francisco on a Friday afternoon and the traffic was awful. Took us 3 hours and this being the first time I had driven in the States and in an automatic, the journey was draining. When we checked in, we took the car to park outside the room, about 200 yards from reception. I couldn't get the card to open the door. I tried every which way but no joy so I walked over to reception again and got it changed. Came back and it still didnt work. After trying for a minute or so I could see the receptionist walking over to help me. Turns out she said the door must have been at fault...back to reception again and she changed our room and said this was an upgrade for our trouble. No problems this time, room had a sofa, fridge, microwave and coffee machine and was clean so we were very happy!

The breakfast is self service but there is a lovely spread and its a perfect start to the day. You can bring your breakfast out of the little room and eat it by the pool in the morning sunshine. The lady working in the breakfast area was very efficient and made sure everything was replenished, be it the hard boiled eggs, toast or the coffee. The pool area was quite quiet during our stay and very relaxing. Water a tad bit cold but not majorly so.

Overall we were very happy and in the end disappointed that we couldnt extend our stay for another day to enjoy the lovely weather.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our room had the usual microwave, hair dryer, iron, ironing board and a refrigerator a bit larger than the usual motel room size. There was a table with two comfortable chairs, a desk with office chair and convenient plug ins for chargers,etc. The bed was queen size and just firm enough to be comfortable. The sink and wide counter space were outside the toilet and tub/shower room. The shower had good pressure and high enough for me at 6 foot 6 inches. We were in room 148 at the rear of the motel opposite the huge pool and hot tub and it was quiet. No freeway noise and no night time partying at the pool. We would stay here again. We paid $89 a night for the queen room.

Room Tip: Room near the rear of the property, there are four buildings
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saturday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
581 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
455 reviews
1.5 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman

Address: 3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range: $141 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman is a mythical creature who brings good dreams by sprinkling magical sand on the weary eyes of those sleeping. In the city of Santa Rosa, the Sandman is a new incarnation of a roadside inn that brings a warm and offbeat experience to weary travelers. Situated at the northernmost edge (nearly within shouting distance of Sonoma's wineries) the Sandman's muted colors, warm woods, and relaxed design will welcome you in. Sink into the casual comfort of the lobby, lounge by the pool, or enjoy a local brew at Sandman's new poolside bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sandman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Santa Rosa
Sandman Motel Santa Rosa
Sandman Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing