We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quieter than you would think” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandman Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandman Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quieter than you would think”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Since it is so close to 101, we expected to listen to traffic all night. Plus it's a very large motel with rooms opening to the outside, and the No Vacancy sign was lit when we arrived, so we expected car noise and talking all night. We asked for a quiet room but still didn't have high hopes for a good night's sleep. BUT WE WERE WRONG. Even with our window open, the highway noise was minimal and the other guests were apparently as tired as we were. We had two quiet comfortable nights at the Sandman. The breakfast room was large enough, and you can sit outside by the pool if it's warm enough. The attendant was very attentive, keeping the food stocked and the tables and counters clean. The room was perfectly clean and seemed new and fresh.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EBinLACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    186
    53
    23
    9
See reviews for
103
130
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was a one night stay on a cross-country trip. It is a family run motel and its greatest asset is the people who run it. The price was better than most in the area and the motel is clean but can use new pillows. The pillows we had are very old and flat. Plan to bring your coffee and a snack back to your room because the office is tiny. The walls are thin and even though the people in the next room were talking softly in the next room, it was difficult to sleep because they talked most of the night.

Room Tip: This motel is on a busy street so try to get a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Needed to go to Santa Rosa for an overnight to ride in Le Tour de Fuzz, a great bike ride that winds its way through the vineyards of Sonoma County. The Sandman Inn was rated fourth among hotels in the area by Trip Advisor, so I decided to check it out. It is a motel but a very clean one with a friendly staff. They allowed us to keep our bikes in our room and were very conveniently located on the northside of town. The ride start was a five minute drive from the Inn. For location and the basics it was very good.

Room Tip: Lower floor in the back near the pool was a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anddrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

With the exception noted in the headline, Sandman is a perfectly reasonable choice for a motel. The rooms are better furnished and tidier than most. It has the usual issues of noise from above if you’re on the first floor, blank-faced teenagers at the front desk, and a cheap, all-carbohydrate breakfast. But if you want to save money or are just passing through for a night, it will probably work for you.

Now for the big exception. There’s something about places that charge extra for pets. Quite a few, including this one, use pet owners as a way to get rid of rooms that no one else would want. At Sandman the “pet rooms” are in a dark corner building, across from the maintenance room. Parking is down the hallway and around the corner, instead of the usual front-of-the unit location, so don’t bring a lot of stuff with you. It’s a pain to get it to the room. My room also had a glaring florescent light right outside the window that was on all night.

It’s like you have some sort of embarrassing social disease and have to be segregated from the general population. And then you get to pay more than the "normal" people. Next time I’ll plan my stops around places that are truly dog-friendly. It’s not worth the feeling of second-class citizenship at motels like this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagillette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Everywhere in Sonoma/Napa California wine country is overpriced. We had trouble finding a place that would accept a reservation for a single overnight but Sandman did. All the others we called wanted 3 night minimum. As the other recent review say, Sandman is a good value and reasonable for the area. Check in was smooth, room was no frills/no surprises. Exactly what we wanted. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bentleyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on my own whilst exploring the wine country areas of Sonoma, Napa Valley and surrounds. I researched everything before booking here as it had great reviews and was so cheap in comparison to everything else including best westerns.

Check in was excellent. The girl who served me was so lovely and since the county fair was in town she told me I should try to make it there which I did and had a wonderful time.

The room was really nice. Motel standard but upscale in comparison to other Sandmans I have stayed at on low budget tours. I had a double bed (which was comfortable), en suite, a fridge and microwave. Wifi was great, it never cut out or lagged. There is a pool which looked good but I didn't have time to use. Breakfast was free each morning, pool side (standard stuff like cereal, toast, waffles etc) which was good value as well.

Overall location was excellent. In Santa Rosa just off the highway. Had gas stations, Kohls, target, fast food and restaurants right around you. Walmart and other stores were about 6 min drive from the motel.

I would not hesitate to stay here again. It was by far the best value, even on a thurs-sat stay, and accommodation was clean and better than expected.

Buy some expensive wine and cheese with all the money you save staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place was easy to reach off the 101. Room was large, clean and quiet. Laundry facilities available if you need them. Breakfast was good and employee kept it well stocked. Low cost for good value. Large property and looked like it was sold out for Labor Day weekend. Person at front desk recommended a place for dinner that we had to drive to in the middle of an industrial area, and then it was not even open! We ended up eating at the restaurant that was right next door to the hotel! It was good food, reasonable price, and very friendly service. All the food looked delicious. We had 2 different types of salmon which were both good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat8545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#9 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel

Property: Sandman Hotel
Address: 3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Santa Rosa features a collection of comfortable rooms, each including free Wi-Fi, 37-inch flat-screen HD TVs, and convenient kitchenette amenities. Outdoor pool and fitness room on premises. The hotel's onsite features provide the conveniences of home in the middle of California wine country. Free continental Breakfast served daily from 6:00am to 9:30am on weekdays, 6:30am to10:30am on weekends. Pets (up to 2 dogs only) are allowed with a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Sandman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County
Sandman Motel Santa Rosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing