We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Finally where I will call home when I visit Santa Rosa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Finally where I will call home when I visit Santa Rosa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have been to many hotels/motels in Santa Rosa. Try to save the company some money, but that has butt me up against some poor locations and amenities.
Sandman Hotel is close to the dog day care I use, close to Trader Joe's to get meal items, and has easy access to freeway to get to my work.
Has a pool, exercise, and free internet that works.
Frig to keep food in and MW to prepare meals. Clean and safe.
Corporate rate best rate available; find it on line.
Does the trick for me!

Room Tip: Specify if you have a pet. Does not charge per day; just a one-time $25 charge. Great for longer s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonmom707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    179
    46
    22
    9
See reviews for
98
123
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This motel is very affordable and clean. The breakfast is decent but the room is extremely small so you probably won't linger over breakfast. The pool is very big. The staff is friendly. Overall a reasonable night stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I am definitely not a motel person, I'll admit it. However coming into the area for only 3 days for the Healdsburg Half Marathon, I was looking for a reasonably priced place. After reading nothing but positive reviews I booked a 3 night stay. Upon my arrival, I found it was right off the freeway, friendly check in service, a "quiet" and spotless room, and a comfortable bed. The refrigerator was perfect for snacks. The location made it easy to do some sight seeing before and after the run. For housekeeping, you have the option of an early "clean". The day of the run, I placed the request on my door and by the time I got back at 11 a.m, my room had been cleaned. Check out was easy as well. The Sandman definitely changed my mind about motels. If I am ever in the area again I will definitely be staying here. This is such a beautiful area with so much to see and do that couldn't get everything done in the short amount of time I was here. Oh, and checkout is at noon, which is almost unheard of these days. You definitely get the chance to sleep in if you choose. I didn't eat the complimentary breakfast, but then again, I normally don't when I'm staying in a hotel/motel. Thank you for making my 3 days stress free and relaxing

Room Tip: I definitely recommend an upper floor the back part of the establishment. It was totally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firegal2068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the Sandman Motel because of its price relevant to nearby motels and hotels. For the price paid it was a good value. The place is pretty huge and luckily we had a room in the back corner and it was very clean and comfortable, which is the most important things to us. They did have a free breakfast in the building by the pool that had the standard continental breakfast fare. All in all a fair price for what you get and what is available in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham , WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A well kept motel at a fair price. Most motels charged far more for the peak wine area visiting season. A very adequate continental breakfast. Convenient for off an on freeway access with restaurants of severa kinds nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our first stay in a Sandman. We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try. It was a good choice. We asked for a quiet room and were given a 2nd floor queen room (with sofa bed that had seen a better day) across from the pool and well off the street. We did not hear anything except for the occasional customer wheeling their luggage past our door. The room, while not 'fancy', was clean and comfortable. The A/C worked great; strong wi-fi signal; iron and ironing board; small fridge and microwave; flat screen Panasonic TV; real glasses and real coffee mugs The pool area is quite large and is across the parking lot from the rooms so parents with small kids might need to note that. There are 3-4 restaurants within a 2-3 minute walk and there is a Trader Joe's just down the street. Breakfast was quite bare-bones with only waffles as a hot choice. We would consider it again.

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MesaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here in a queen room (two queen beds) for one night prior to a half-marathon in Healdsburg. We were really pleased with what we found. The room was large, beds comfortable, spotlessly clean. The bathroom was spot on with one of the nicest showers I have ever used, especially after running 13 miles! The room had an iron and ironing board which I also appreciated. Apparently breakfast was included but we didn't take it. Check-out is a generous midday and they kindly offered to give us a 1pm checkout so I could shower after my race and we didn't need to pack up at some awful hour. All this, less than an hour from wine country, for $100. Really liked it.

Room Tip: I would probably have chosen an upper room in respect as there were footsteps in the room upstairs b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#10 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel

Property: Sandman Hotel
Address: 3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Santa Rosa features a collection of comfortable rooms, each including free Wi-Fi, 37-inch flat-screen HD TVs, and convenient kitchenette amenities. Outdoor pool and fitness room on premises. The hotel's onsite features provide the conveniences of home in the middle of California wine country. Free continental Breakfast served daily from 6:00am to 9:30am on weekdays, 6:30am to10:30am on weekends. Pets (up to 2 dogs only) are allowed with a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sandman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County
Sandman Motel Santa Rosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing