We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it - Only Challenge was Sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Johnny Garlic's

Johnny Garlic's
Ranked #69 of 525 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth it - Only Challenge was Sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

1. I am not that familiar with pricing in California - so my gut is that the menu pricing was a little high.
2. Menu selection is awesome! There is a whole range of choices to include exotic meat (e.g. Buffalo). Reading the menu is pretty fun
3. The portion sizes are huge! I got the buffalo meatloaf sandwich and it was absolutely great! The meat was moist, the sauce was good and the fries were really good (try the garlic).
4. Service was very attentive, and we never ran out of drinks.
5. The only complaint is a restaurant design one. I was facing towards the door, and the sun was coming straight in and fairly blinding.

Overall - I would recommend this to someone to try!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank franzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    88
    72
    36
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

It feels like a chain, the acoustics are poor and the food is terrible. It's not what you might be expecting from Guy and it's certainly not at all reflective of the many wonderful restaurants you can find in wine country.

Don't bother with it unless you want a very ordinary meal in a noisy restaurant located right off the freeway.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 2AlwaysReadytoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
729 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were here on a quiet Wednesday. Otherwise, I think the place would be too noisy to hear your table companions. The buffalo meatloaf sandwich and garlic fries were delicious. The garlic was so sweet! Service was good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Had to try, was not disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We love triple D so while in wine country we had to drop Guy's restaurant. Unfortunately it does resemble a chain but we were generally very pleased with our meal. Johnny Garlic's uses ALOT OF GARLIC, surprise surprise, which we love. We had great garlic fries as an appetizer. My wife had a mac-cheese burger (it was ok) and I had the Thai lettuce wraps (they were pretty good) All in all it wasn't spectacular but it was better than Applebees, Fridays, etc and the prices weren't too bad. Don't expect high end food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank freder85ico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Guy should take lessons from his DDD visits”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We make a habit of trying out the spots Guy has visited on Diners Drive ins and Dives and have been quite happy. We decided to try out his restaurant and we're truly a disappointment! The food was mediocre at best and the restaurant uncomfortably hot. If you like burnt burger buns, chewy flat bread, and greasy burgers then this joints for you. Otherwise, I'd suggest going some other place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Garlic's also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Windsor, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Johnny Garlic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing