We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

A friend and I stayed her October 24th - 26th as it was the host hotel for a half marathon we were participating in. The hotel was just average in our opinion, especially for the price. The front desk staff was hit or miss with one younger guy having such a bad personality that we went out of our way to avoid him. He was not helpful in any way. The room was very average. The elevators require a room key to operate which seemed overkill for the location and was not user friendly. We never found the stairs even though we actively looked for them. The restaurant located across the parking lot was great. We enjoyed our meal there. The meeting spaces were just what you would expect. The price was high for what you received. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brandelyncon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    341
    174
    74
    37
See reviews for
191
352
37
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaughn
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding held at the Hyatt Vineyard. The wedding was lovely in the garden and the dinner at the reception was very good. I disagree some of the other reviewers as far as our stay. Our experience of staying at this 4 star hotel was ordinary for the very high price. I realize this is Sonoma wine country and prices are higher, but we could have stayed across the street for half the price we booked through the Hyatt's website. The staff was friendly, and helpful with directions. The beds were comfortable but the room was crowded with the queen beds. The bathroom pocket door didn't close completely and gave the room a dated feel. The bathroom was small and the counter left little room for the coffee maker, coffee basket and toiletries offered plus our things. The hair dryer was in the closet. The hand towel ring was broken. We did leave some clothes on the beds but expected the bed linens to be tucked back together the next day. You needed to insert you key into a slot to operate the elevator to use going up but not down. We did not complain since we stayed only two nights and were out for an afternoon drive or at the wedding most of the day. We won't stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SassyBluJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Fitness room is small with outdated equipment, bar prices are crazy high, area around hotel sketchy requiring lots if security, service average. Not worth what they charge. Will not return. Hotel layout is such you cannot use stairs.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobby1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

If one is looking for Hyatt quality, I believe this location should fit the description. This is an excellent base when touring the Sonoma Valley either for business or pleasure, especially wine tasting. The location is easy on/off the 101 freeway just on the edge of downtown. One appeal of this place is the easy walk to many downtown restaurants, shops and wine bars. Parking is free.

The lobby is unassuming and not overly large, there is an inviting sitting area near a fireplace and few tables near a lobby bar. The front desk is set up for two people and the staff is warm and friendly. I cannot say enough positive praise for the front desk staff. More to follow.

Our king room on the second floor overlooked the garden patio, the one with the fire pit. The decor had a bit of rustic barn feel with one large chair, desk and task chair. The dresser drawers are small and tucked behind doors. The closet is small and the door to the bathroom is a sliding barn door which is sort of heavy and did stick making it even more difficult to slide. The bed is the best feature, sleeping was restful and extremely comfortable. Overall the room is comfortable, adequate size, clean and comfortable.

The Brasserie restaurant and bar serves excellent food. The bar staff are engaging, fun and keep lively conversation. I did enjoy an amazing pulled pork sandwich for lunch as well going back that evening for a glass of sparkling wine. I was here with my wife for her event. The catering staff were excellent and the food was very good.

The hotel is quiet as we learned the location was sold out both nights of our stay. Room to room noise is minimal. We did have an unfortunate incident when at around 10:30 Friday night we heard the familiar click of the door lock and the door opened. Luckily we had secured the safety latch so the door could not open completely. A young adult couple were assigned our room. I think the young couple were more mortified than us, it was a minor mistake. Had the safety latch not been on, it may have been a much more embarrassing incident.

The next morning I went to the front desk and spoke with Marco the front desk manager. He first apologized and had genuine concern when explaining that a computer glitch opened a block of rooms. It was his professionalism and forthcoming not to hide behind the incident which provided us peace of mind this was a fluke incident.

My slightly negative critiques of the room features and the room incident in no way should deter anyone looking for a quality experience. The staff are what makes this Hyatt exceptional and why I give it an excellent rating. From Dave and Marco, the catering staff, housekeeping to the restaurant and bar; every interaction with hotel staff was positive. Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Do take a stroll around the grounds, it is a beautiful place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChipsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Nice Hyatt. Average. Grounds good.
Rooms clean. Have had better beds before
Pool area is nice. Bar is good too.
Good location close to old town. Lots of bars and food.
Lots of homeless people too
AC units a bit loud
Bit a nice location for wine tasting

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio with French doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rackman0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Both staff members we interacted with had a positive attitude and definitely tried..but there is only so much you can do without support.
Saturday night with a single lone guy working the front?
Room is nice and there is a nice courtyard, but you have to walk to whole length of the hotel to get to the elevator to get to the room right above reception...not user friendly...especially with only 1 or 2 luggage carts. Oh and you need to pull out your room key to use the elevator at all...I did not think this was such a bad area ???

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nijmeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, CT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Pro:
Staff was friendly, professional, helpful, accomodating.

Lobby has fresh fruit and cold water stations set up. Both helpful after long days of wine/beer touring.

Free parking.

Easy on/off highway. Easy to find. Easy to walk around Santa Rosa from hotel (for post wine/beer touring eats).

Lovely grounds. Fire pit, pool, lobby.

Con:
$10/night for WiFi access. I hate when hotels charge for this. Scratch that, hate is not strong enough. Whatever is stronger than hate.

We got a patio room so we could have some outdoor space. It was directly in front of the pool which meant we had to keep the blinds closed so that we could also have some privacy.

The room was really small. Wall to wall with just a king bed and a chair.

The bathroom door was a sliding door that didn't latch. It also didn't stay closed entirely....a little strange and uncomfortable, even while staying with the hubby. And there was no fan in he bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amdandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
4.7 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel

Property: Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Address: 170 Railroad St, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the romance and charm of a Tuscan villa set in the heart of Sonoma Wine Country at Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel. Relax in this convenient AAA Four Diamond award-winning hotel in beautiful Santa Rosa, California with first-class amenities and exceptional service. This Mediterranean style hotel in Santa Rosa is just a short drive from 200 Sonoma County wineries, the gorgeous Pacific Coast, Napa Valley and the Sonoma County Airport. Stroll to a myriad of shops, restaurants and cultural attractions in Santa Rosa, just minutes from the hotel. Meander through our lush grounds framed in aromatic lavender, wisteria and roses.Dine alfresco, at the Brasserie restaurant, or sip wine by our cozy fire pit. No matter what brings you to the Sonoma Valley area, you'll find our gracious Hyatt hotel is your home in Santa Rosa and Sonoma County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing