We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid lodging, pretty grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Solid lodging, pretty grounds”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night and enjoyed it more than most, it seems. The room was comfortable, typical 3.5 star hotel. We found it clean and inviting. Our room faced the courtyard which was a nice perk at night when the fire was going on below. Most people probably don't get a chance to walk around the grounds which is too bad as its quite large and well kept. The pathways lead out to the main streets though we were a bit cautious late at night. Staff was efficient and friendly; especially the gentleman who brought our breakfast in the morning. It was late unfortunately (about 20 min after our requested window) but the guy had such a nice attitude and demeanor, we were charmed. Plus the sticky bun french toast was very good (too much cheese in the scramble). About a 10-15 min walk downtown. Really, no complaints except the towels were a little rough.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharkchompsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    372
    195
    86
    47
See reviews for
220
384
38
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

After much thought we decided on the Hyatt at Santa Rosa. It is a very nice property, with a very friendly staff. From Santa Rosa it was very easy to explore all the areas Sonoma has to offer. We had a patio room over looking the pool and garden area. It was spacious and well appointed.

Room Tip: Patio rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeftyaloneNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Hyatt in downtown Santa Rosa is in an excellent location from which to explore the Sonoma and Napa wineries. The rooms are large, quiet, and decently decorated. The breakfast restaurant is attached but you need to walk outside to reach it (as it appears to be run as an external restaurant).

The building is a rambling 3-story pseudo-Spanish style place. Outside restaurants and some wine-tasting places are within easy walking distance. I was pleasantly surprised to see the local and organic scene, which I did not expect in the historic district of Santa Rosa.

You will need a car or tour to sample the wineries... all within a comfortable distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxleyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a very nice, generic hotel. It does not offer many amenities that less expensive chains do (free breakfast or happy hour). There is no coffee in the lobby and you have to walk outside to the restaurant (sometimes in the rain) for coffee and/or a pricey breakfast. They charge for internet if you don't have an upgraded room. Probably won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the courtyard are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliecw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,220 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I recently stayed 2 nights at the Hyatt Vineyard Creek for business in Santa Rosa. As a Hyatt elite member, I prefer Hyatt properties, but the recent reviews get it just about right--it is a decent Hyatt, not quite up to snuff compared to most city Hyatt properties, a little tired, with decent and sometimes very good service, but lacking the niceties found at most Hyatts elsewhere. The location is superb, with easy walking access to downtown Santa Rosa or driving access to nearby wineries and freeways.

Considering Santa Rosa really doesn't have any excellent hotels, as agreed to by my colleagues and clients who live there, this Hyatt may actually be your best bet for a decent hotel. Just be sure not to expect typical Hyatt niceties when you stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Checked in after the sun set so couldn't see much of the property. Service at checkin was efficient and friendly. Good advice on wineries. Room was large, maybe a little too large for the amount of furniture in it. Bed was very comfortable and slept very well. Free parking helps. Bathroom spacious with separate shower and tub. Breakfast held at the Brasserie and the eggs Benedict was very well done and tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YinChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This place is just what we needed! We wanted a traditional Thanksgiving dinner away from home and a chance to see The Schulz Museum the next day. Brasserie restaurant put on a nice three-course, prix fix holiday meal. Every staff member we encountered at the restaurant and the hotel was friendly and hospitable. This hotel has a remarkable sculpture garden out back. I imagine this is the setting for some awesome weddings. The fireplace in the lobby and the fire pit in the courtyard make this place a pretty cool spot to hang out with friends.

The previous review wrote, '...not much Hyatt." That may be true but not in a total negative aspect. This is one of only a few Hyatt Regency properties left in the country with free onsite parking and no resort fee even though it has a spa. Santa Rosa is a low key town so it was nice to not be ambushed by valets and bellmen when we arrived in the porte cochere. Don't get me wrong, there are times when I want that level of pampering and service -- almost all other times in fact -- but this wasn't one of them. So, appreciate this wonderful property for what it is: "Hyatt Unplugged" if you will.

The rooms: Housekeeping was suboptimal but acceptable. The phone was dusty and had what looked like makeup and some grime in the handset craddle which is a sure sign that it is not being cleaned with disinfectant regularly. Phones, TV remotes and light switches are germ hotspots that need regular attention after each guest. Moreover, a cavernous void existed in the credenza where the refrigerator use to be. The lack of a refrigerator was an inconvenience for us because we have a 2-year-old who needs milk to wind down before bedtime and occasionally in the middle of the night. Lastly, we were given what Hyatt calls a "hypoallergenic room." This is an upgrade according to the front desk. There was an air purifier humming in the corner of the room when we walked in; however, the filters were caked with dust and lint so I'm not sure what the advantage was to having it. We have no allergies, so it wasn't that big of a deal for us one way or the other.

At the end of the day, the amazing people, perfect location and beautiful grounds are what will make us come back here again. It's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.8 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
573 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
581 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel

Property: Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Address: 170 Railroad St, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the romance and charm of a Tuscan villa set in the heart of Sonoma Wine Country at Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel. Relax in this convenient AAA Four Diamond award-winning hotel in beautiful Santa Rosa, California with first-class amenities and exceptional service. This Mediterranean style hotel in Santa Rosa is just a short drive from 200 Sonoma County wineries, the gorgeous Pacific Coast, Napa Valley and the Sonoma County Airport. Stroll to a myriad of shops, restaurants and cultural attractions in Santa Rosa, just minutes from the hotel. Meander through our lush grounds framed in aromatic lavender, wisteria and roses.Dine alfresco, at the Brasserie restaurant, or sip wine by our cozy fire pit. No matter what brings you to the Sonoma Valley area, you'll find our gracious Hyatt hotel is your home in Santa Rosa and Sonoma County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing