We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously?!...”
Review of Willi's Wine Bar

Willi's Wine Bar
Ranked #2 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mark West Springs
Description: A San Francisco Chronicle Bay Area Top 100 Restaurant for four years, Willi's Wine Bar's classic roadhouse appeal captures the casual, laid-back nature of Sonoma County Wine Country. Tourists and locals feel equally at home enjoying a quick bite or lingering over a glass of wine. The menu at Willi's features international small plates, some wildly inventive and others comfortingly familiar. Staff is eager to help create perfect pairings with wines from the extensive wine list, many by local producers. Most wines are available in twoounce tastes as well as by the glass or bottle..
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Seriously?!...”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I never complain about service but we just walked out if this joint because service was so down right rude. Basically we called and let them know that we were a group of 30 (here for a wedding) and they told us to come and we could have our drinks in the fountain area. A small group (4 people) of us arrives first, let them know that we're with the wedding party and we are basically asked to leave because they now can't accommodate us, really "now you can't accommodate". So while we are calling the reat if the wedding group to rearrange the plans, we just decide to have a drink-just the 4 of us. Ok so 3 bartenders, quite bar (meaning everyone had their drinks and no one was ordering), and we we try to get a bartender's attention and he dismissed us, he seriously dismissed us. Never had I been treated so rudely. I mean I get it when it's a busy bar but when there's nothing going on and it obvious that the 3 bartenders are just doing busy work...c'mon. So if you're into a immature staff that are full of themselves then by all mean head towards willi's and you'll get exactly that.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank shiva b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    217
    38
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great spot for small plates”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Came here on recommendation of our B&B hosts. We were seated right away by the friendly hostess and our server was quick to welcome us and explain the menu. We had a local beer and glass of bubbly while we perused the menu.

Started off with Curried Crab Tacos with Apple, Cucumber & Mint which were nicely presented and good enough but we really didn't taste the curry. Next we had Fava Bean Bruschetta with Burrata & Preserved Lemon which we both really enjoyed.

After a little "break" and based on what some of the other patrons were ordering, we opted for Willi’s Truffled French Fries with Truffle Aioli and the Filet Mignon Sliders, Creamed Spinach with Whole Grain Mustard Bearnaise.

These are, without a doubt, the BEST fries we've ever had anywhere in all of our travels!! They were perfectly seasoned and crispy (somehow stayed crisp til the end!!). The sliders were also delicious and I would easily recommend the latter 2 choices! Each had a glass of wine to go along with these and neither of us were hungry enough to order anything else off the interesting menu.

In summary, nice little spot, good service and food was very good (with exceptional fries!). Would definitely go again when in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GyspySoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I'm a Willi's fan.. and here's why...”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

First time to the Santa Rosa location.. after a drive up from the City , en route to Healdsburg. Have eaten at Willis' Raw bar in Healdsburg and love the simple , but reliable menu choices, that never disappoint.
Needed lunch before hitting a few vineyards, so stopped at the WWB.
I was not prepared for such a great meal! Salad with incredible ingredients, totally fresh, perfectly served ( not cold) and dressed appropriately. The Monterey sardines ) these guys are huge) were delicious, and despite my initial reaction to their size, would order these again. We chose to 'graze' and ordered mostly small plates to share- all very, very good. The service was terrific - attentive, but not hurried. We sate on the terrace in the sun and it was a lovely way to kick off our day. Only wish they had a Willi's in our end of the USA... !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Logistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Seaboard
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Who Knew Heaven Was On The Side of The Road”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great find. Delicious small plates, fast and polite service, thoughtful menu. Eat outside in the back. Tons of character.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TSPrufrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The food here was so delicious I could have licked the plates clean! We ordered 8 different tapas plates (there were 4 of us) and they brought them out one at a time as we finished one. The wait staff was wonderful and very friendly. I have already recommended this restaurant to some friends going to Santa Rosa in a few months. Kudos to a great find!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BetsyK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willi's Wine Bar also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Willi's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing