We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a comfortable place with great wine”
Review of Willi's Wine Bar

Willi's Wine Bar
Ranked #1 of 535 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mark West Springs
Description: A San Francisco Chronicle Bay Area Top 100 Restaurant for four years, Willi's Wine Bar's classic roadhouse appeal captures the casual, laid-back nature of Sonoma County Wine Country. Tourists and locals feel equally at home enjoying a quick bite or lingering over a glass of wine. The menu at Willi's features international small plates, some wildly inventive and others comfortingly familiar. Staff is eager to help create perfect pairings with wines from the extensive wine list, many by local producers. Most wines are available in twoounce tastes as well as by the glass or bottle..
St. Thomas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a comfortable place with great wine”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We arrived at Willis, tired and ready to take a long "nap", having traveled 16+ hours that day, our stop at WIllis on the way to the Farm House was just what we needed. Their wine and chees pairing were right on the mark. The server was very knowledgable and friendly, he helped us with our selections and was dead on with all of them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lourilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    218
    39
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice food nice vine!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Food is great, really great! Huge selection of vine too.
The food selections itself could be a little bit more per serve. You need 2-3 "entrees" pP. we spent about $140 with 2 persons with a bottle of vine.
That's ok for that quality of food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr-Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, CA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Almost as Good As Last Time”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We dined at Willi's on the way back to Sonoma on a Saturday night. The place was packed, but we were able to get a late table without a wait. It had been several years since we were last here, but the menu is still very creative and inspired. Server was pleasant, and knew all the dishes well. The best were the potstickers and the fava bean spread on croutons. Those two were absolutely fantastic. The oysters could have been colder, mushroom salad more thoroughly marinated, and pork riblets were slightly disappointing. The soft-shell BLT was innovative and tasty. Overall a good experience, but last time we loved everything. The wine list, much of which is open by the glass, is exceptional.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GMGregH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was such a great find! I would return in a heartbeat and would probably struggle between ordering the same delicious plates I tried or trying some of the wonderfully-sounding plates I did not get to try. A very fun place to go with a group of people, so you can try several things. The rabbit rillette was my favorite. The carrots were also to die for! And the lamb. The wine list is also great and our server did a fantastic job of suggesting pairings to our meal. Wow...can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lilalpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This time better than our high expectations!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We hadn't been to Willis's in a long time. Last time was good but we were not thrilled. It was a whole new experience this time. Our server was excellent, calm, informative, efficient and kind. Sorry I didn't get his name. Four of us ordered 7 dishes to share. Each dish was amazing; the BBQ duck with polenta, pork riblets, asparagus, Mac n cheese, crab tacos, green/peach/feta salad, and lamb chops. It was all do delicious I can't wait to go back. Prices are fair for the quality and portion size. Good wine. My only complaint was that it was so noisy it was hard to hear the conversation. However, many of us were eating there before a big concert close by and at 7:30 the place emptied out by half and became a lot quieter. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willi's Wine Bar also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Willi's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing