We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Ash & Co Restaurant

John Ash & Co Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
John Ash & Co Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 523 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: River Rd. and Hwy 101
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Expensive and Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We ate dinner on the enclosed terrace. The view of the gardens and vineyards was lovely. The food was excellent. My husband had the brick chicken and I had the orzo-stuffed tomatoes. We shared an heirloom beet salad that was wonderful. Since we had already spent several days tasting wines we chose cocktails. These were hand-made and fresh - very good. While we did not have dessert a couple tables around us did and we overheard that they were delicious. This is a special occasion place, but they do have a reasonably priced happy hour with nice options most days of the week.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soggydollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    107
    71
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wine Country Organic Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

For my first dinner in Sonoma County we dined at John Ash. The restaurant is beautifully decorated in a semi Craftsman style with tables inside and out. The restaurant strives for low key elegance. The service was friendly, professional and unobtrusive for our business dinner. I started with a squab and pheasant terrine accompanied with pickled red currants and toasted brioche which was a slab of fatty heaven!!!!! My next course was a slow cooked lamb shank with creamy polenta, baby turnips and a pinot noir sauce which was perfection and melted in your mouth. The corn muffins with cheese and jalapeños are warm and wonderful. The wine list was excellent in every way and all wines were served in Riedel glasses. We had a Merry Edwards Pinot Noir which was amazing. The prices are a bit steep but fine dining such as this is not common even in Sonoma County!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pensando42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss Happy Hour - perfect in everyway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Happy Hour 4-6 ish depending on the day is just awesome - tasty small bites and drinks to die for. Bar area is large and accommodating with various seating choices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sensesatplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gualala
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a special occasion....or any occasion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had dinner here when we recently stayed at the Vintners Inn on the same property. Both are a very special experience. The inn had made our reservation and they seated us right away. We were on the glass enclosed patio overlooking the vinyards. It was a bit cool and foggy so they turned on nearby heaters. The patio is lit with white twinkling lights at night and was lovely. We thought the interior rooms that we passed through looked romantic and beautiful as well and we look forward to a return visit.

The wait staff are gracious, well trained and quietly efficient. We started with a delicious fresh squash soup. They bring you homemade corn muffins and bread to start. I ordered the chicken and my husband had the short ribs. Both portions were more than we could eat and perfectly prepared. We thought the food was extremely good and obviously it's preparation is overseen by a top notch chef. One of the nicest restaurants we have eaten at.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshinegirlGualala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Appetizers and desserts were only mediocre. Have had better food on a cruise ship. However as far as the main entrees were concerned, the chicken and steak and their fixings were perfect. It's too bad the beginning and ending of our meal was a let down. Enjoyed the patio area and our hostess was friendly. Bus boy was attentive, but server could be improved upon. All in all, not impressed and not sure we'll return. Much better food to be had in Sonoma, thus leading to a sad anniversary dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelbie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Ash & Co Restaurant also viewed

 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to John Ash & Co Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing