We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Classy Happy Hour”

John Ash & Co Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
John Ash & Co Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 525 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: River Rd. and Hwy 101
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Favorite Classy Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Love to escape to John Ash for their "small plate" happy hour where they serve you a sampling of their appetizers (and yes you can have more than one plate...). No waiting in line for a buffet, just sit back and relax in the bar, or in the "sun room" next to the bar, or even outside. Our last visit we had marinated chicken, shrimp cocktail, potato quiche and a fried little ball of pork yumminess (forgive me for not remembering the fancy names!). The servers and hostess are very nice and attentive... I always feel special and well taken care of. My drink of choice is the Lorraine ... It's my little escape after taking care of everyone else all day!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamTravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    108
    73
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belvedere, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A first rate dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

John Ash & Co lives up to its stellar reputation each time we visit. The ambience, service and food are among the best in the Wine Country. This is not a tourist trap . . . it is a first rate high end restaurant that never disappoints.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pearsoninmarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful but disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the Vintners Inn & have eaten at this restaurant before. The food was delicious, but the service was so poor we will not return here to eat. It took over an hour to get our dinner, the waiter never came by our table to ask how our meal was, if we needed anything, nothing. Several tables around us were seated after us, got their food and left before we even got our dinners. When we asked what was taking so long, we were told since we ordered the special it took longer! Really? The special ordered was a steak! The ambiance is wonderful, and you can bring your own bottle of wine in, but the service was so poor I will not be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely time with our friends. I recommend you get a table in the enclosed patio. It's very charming and cozy. The food was delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allaboutpaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our first and last visit. It took 30 minutes to get our drinks and over an hour to get our dinner. The waiter never asked us for refills on our drinks until we were done eating. One of our meals was served cold so we sent it back. Steaks were good...not great for the price. The waiter did not pay us any attention but focused on other tables which received their food and drinks before us. I am sure there are much better places to spend $75.00 for dinner and get good service and tasty food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNtraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Ash & Co Restaurant also viewed

 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to John Ash & Co Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing