We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three Squares Shuttered”
Review of Three Squares Cafe - CLOSED

Three Squares Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
259 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Three Squares Shuttered”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Enjoyed the simple cuisine and great waitstaff, but, sadly, this place is no more. Hopefully the space will be used in the near future so we will have another dining choice in Railroad Square.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnmaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
436 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We decided on breakfast here prior to our drive through Napa. I got the 2 eggs, pork sausage and potatoes. Sounds ordinary but the sausage was good and the potatoes were delicious. It came with an English muffin and homemade jam. My husband just ordered 2 eggs and ended up with potatoes as well which he was charged for. He asked them to take it off which they did. The coffee was good. The service very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank millc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
“Excellant!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Breakfast here was extraodinary! It was so good we went back twice. Nice quiet atmosphere with quick service and prices are on par with other restaurants in the area. Menu items are all good, but be sure to ask about the specials that aren't listed as they are worth trying, especially the breakfast burrito. Would definetly recommend for couples, families, or even just to grab some coffee and relax.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ko_2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and no wait on a Saturday morning”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My son said we should have breakfast at Omelette Express, but apparently the word is out in Santa Rosa that OE is the only place to have Saturday breakfast in Railroad Square. Well I'm here to tell ya it just ain't so. I don't think there are any restaurants so good that I'll stand outside on the sidewalk and wait for 45 minutes. There were 12 people on the sidewalk.

My wife and I had a wonderful and very tasty breakfast this morning at Three Squares Cafe. Funny, but we both wanted the same two things, Lobster Eggs Benedict and Corned Beef Hash, so we shared them at the table (not split in the kitchen). I won't order CB hash unless it's made in their kitchen, which the server assured me that it was. I obviously can't be sure, but I really doubt it came out of a package, and the eggs were poached to perfection ($12.75). The lobster eggs benedict ($19.75) (usually just a weekend special), and the lobster was tender (said to be fresh) and a generous portion. OK the lobster Benedict was a little spendy for breakfast, but it didn't disappoint. Again, eggs poached perfectly, no overcooked yolk and not dripping wet.

Next time I'll try the banana bread French Toast with "genuine Vermont maple syrup" - $9.95 or a Build your own omelette - $11.75.

Contrary to previous reviews, the staff was timely and efficient. Both orders came to the table as expected, no exceptions. We were in and out in less than 40 minutes.

Here's a tip, don't bother waiting 45 minutes for Omelette Express, try THREE SQUARES CAFE.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RGS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I went there for breakfast on a weekday on the recommendation of a local bed and breakfast and are glad we did. We had reservations, but they were not needed as the place was all but empty. I had the smoked trout and my wife had a vegetable bowl with a poached egg, and we both liked our dishes. The wait staff was very friendly and the food was very worth the money paid. If we were going to be staying in Santa Rosa another night, we would have gone back for breakfast the next morning.

The atmosphere is better than a diner, but not that of a restaurant. The view out the window is more of a cityscape than anything else, so there is really not much to see. But, overall, the food was good, the service was good and we would go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4cortinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Squares Cafe also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing