We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

St. Francis Winery and Vineyards
Ranked #3 of 102 things to do in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award-Winning Wine | Wine & Food Pairings | Weddings | Private Events For more than four decades, St. Francis Winery & Vineyards has hand-crafted fruit forward, luscious and full-bodied wines from the superior mountain and valley vineyards in Sonoma County's best appellations.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

You must do this! We reserved the 11 am wine and food pairing experience. A table of 16 people sit in a private room and get a 6 course small bite plates and the appropriate wine pairing. The food was wonderful, especially the dessert hot chocolate with marshmallow and raspberries! Our designated driver didn't drink and enjoyed the experience as much as the rest of us. ( 20% discount) a great deal at $50. ($40 without wine) 1 1/2 hours of indulgence!

Thank ricsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"wine and food pairing"
in 37 reviews
"open table"
in 15 reviews
"small plates"
in 9 reviews
in 8 reviews
"tasting room"
in 33 reviews
"executive chef"
in 7 reviews
"chef bryan"
in 4 reviews
"paired perfectly"
in 6 reviews
"wine club members"
in 8 reviews
"wonderful tasting"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful setting"
in 12 reviews
"excellent wine"
in 8 reviews
"sonoma valley"
in 15 reviews
"let them know"
in 5 reviews
"tasting fee"
in 6 reviews
"wine country"
in 19 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 4 reviews

244 - 248 of 367 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Visited St. Francis this past Sunday, as we were real excited to finally see this beautiful winery and try their wines. The older gal who helped us was pleasant at first and insisted on tasting each wine before serving us, for quality control as we went down the lineup of current available wines.
Two things happened that made this experience very poor:
1-She kept referring to all these great other wines, which were sold out, that we were missing out on…why would you keep telling us about something we can't have? This creates a very negative 'dangle the carrot' experience, that was useless and annoying. We were only interested in what was available for sale at that time.
2-We decided to just pay the $20 tasting fee, as the wines were too acrid and acidic for our liking. When she asked why we didn't want to purchase any, we politely told her that the wines weren't to our taste preference at which point, she rudely grabbed our $20 and brusquely 'dismissed' us and just walked away.

We left shaking our heads…since when is it 'required' to buy someone's wine you don't like?

We spent five days tasting many wineries across all of the Sonoma area, ended up buying many, many wonderful wines and joining some new wine clubs, but nobody else treated us with anything less than graciousness outside of this unprofessional experience if we chose not to buy anything.

In the Kenwood/Glen Ellen area there are many, many wineries that provide a wonderful customer experience and have really nice wines with softer tannins at a more affordable price….this sadly, is not one of them.

4  Thank CigarStoreIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Francis_Winery, Director of Sales at St. Francis Winery and Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We would like to apologize for the poor customer service you received during your visit. We take great pride in our customer service and are devastated you left here with such a bad impression.
We appreciate your feedback and want to make sure something like this never happens again. We have already distributed your review to the Tasting Room Staff, and we have discussed it in our staff meetings. We are using it as a learning tool for our team and want to make sure you know we take reviews such as yours very seriously.
Again, we are so very sorry you were not treated with the respect and graciousness every guest deserves. We would appreciate the opportunity to try to turn this situation around if you ever decide to give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Dropped into St Francis mid-March on a Sunday for a tasting. This is an amazing facility, with beautiful expansive groups that are immaculately maintained. We were greeted warmly by a nice woman who was very knowledgeable, but seemed to be very interested in explaining how picky sheer was about the tasting experience and the wine. I did find it interesting that our host explained that they were really a small winey, then proceeded to tell us all about their national distribution. Small? You can draw your own conclusion.

Moving on to the wines, we have been exploring Appellation in Sonoma county for four days now trying to get a feel for the wines, and have found some amazing whites and reds. We found the white wines at St Francis to be well rounded with nice fruit and balanced tannins but rather on the acidic side for their age and pedigree Moving on to the reds, we tasted a Merlot, red blend (Meritage $60) and three Zin's from 70 to 90 year old vines, all very very acidic, with limit fruit and in the $45 - 60 range. While I can understand the focus on food wines I was ok with that and decided to pay our $20 tasting free (for two) and leave. I paid our fee, which was not warmly accepted by our host.

If you are looking for food wines with ok fruit to pair with you next meal, this may be your style. if not, there are much more reasonable and better wines in the area even if you are looking to pair with food.

2  Thank Just_Dog_Woof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

How does one define "perfection"? Can it ever be attained? These highly philosophical questions finally found their answer as I participated in the St Francis Food & Wine pairing. It was by far the highlight of our Napa/ Sonoma trip: what can I say? No adequate description comes to my mind besides, as I already pointed out, PERFECTION!!!!

1  Thank Olif_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had an absolutely wonderful experience! Foods were paired to the wine instead of the other way around at restaurants. The menu is farm to table with some of the produce grown in their own organic garden. Even though it's rated #1 on Open Table this isn't what I would call a restaurant. The menu is set with no varying, except they did accommodate a vegetarian who was there and had notified them ahead of time. Would definitely go again - wines are very good also!

Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Francis Winery and Vineyards also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County

Been to St. Francis Winery and Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing