We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop in on Highway 12!”
Review of Jacinto's Kitchen - CLOSED

Jacinto's Kitchen
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A wonderful combination of traditional Oaxacan dishes and wine country flavors, Chef Jacinto has created a new home for himself in the beautiful Sonoma Valley.
Granite Bay
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stop in on Highway 12!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I live in Mexico 6 months of the year and this was an excellent find for us in The U.S.
Far better than the usual California Mexican Restaurants we have been to. Atmosphere is more cafe style, but quite comfortable. My wife's chile relleno was the best she has ever had and it was not the usual breaded affair found in most Mexican restaurants. My enchiladas were fine with a green sauce with a hint of lemon. The service was friendly and efficient. The servers Mother and grandmother as well as herself came from Mazatlan. Her grandmothers recipes, I believe are alive here in the background of this fine food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saturday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenience and a great meal between Kenwood and Santa Rosa”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We regularly eat at Jacinto's Pot of Flavors Kitchen located on Oakmont Drive in Oakmont. They have recently added a Happy Hour on Mondays and Wednesdays between 4 and 6, when they serve special small plates including usually sliders and fish tostada with sangria etc. In general their menu is quite diverse blending American tastes with Mexican, but not typical Mexican. In addition their soups, salads and desserts are very tasty. They serve wines and beers by the glass or bottle. They are very helpful to individual needs or tastes, and will make pasta for children if requested. The staff aim to please, and make it an enjoyable visit. There is an outside patio in front.
Don't miss it: turn off HIghway 12 on to Oakmont Drive, and then look for it on the right just past the Oakmont Market.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 25Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is a hidden gem”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were looking at homes in the Oakmont Village area of Santa Rosa, and stumbled on Jacinto's Kitchen near 21st Century Realty on Oakmont Drive. The menu is comprised of traditional Mexican dishes, ranging from vegetarian to fish and meat. I had the chicken mole, and my companion ordered fish tacos. Both our dishes were beautifully prepared and presented. We had lived in Mexico for a number of years, and never had better "Mexican" than Jacinto's offered. This is a delightful spot for lunch, and well worth a stop. We found so many other restaurants in the area that were pricier, but few offered such fresh and beautifully prepared dishes as Jacinto's. We look forward to our next meal there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackconly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and most items GLUTEN-FREE!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

As anyone needing GF dining knows, finding a great place where you can choose from more than one entree and rice can be challenging. Jacinto's is your answer because the majority of the items are GF. On two visits, I quizzed the chef and different staff members, and they are very gluten-savvy regarding ingredients and issues of possible cross-contamination.
They use only corn tortillas in delicious dishes----the chicken mole, as other reviewers have described, is a lovely, flavorful blend of spices and succulent chicken leg/thigh, with the novelty of white beans. Enchilada Chicken Verde was also a hit, with a piquant avocado sauce and black beans. My partner loved the grilled chile rellenos----not batter-dipped and fried, as usually expected; this one is stuffed with beef and cheese and great flavors. Yes, Jacinto's may be a wee bit off the tourist track, but it is only 2 blocks off Hwy. 12 near the St. Francis and Ledson wineries and is well-worth the visit, whether you need GF or not. Good food and value, GF FOOD, a wine list (basic but sufficient), casual seating, a nice outside patio, and a friendly, enthusiastic chef and staff----give this little gem a try soon---you won't be sorry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawaiibased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, Good value”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had been hearing about this place so we went to dinner last night. Wow - impressed. The menu is not huge, but interesting. The Lamb tosdada is wonderful - excellent presentation, excellent flavor, tender sliced lamb topped with a wonderful cabbage salad. The Chicken Mole has tasty mole over a moist large chicken leg, with white flavorful beans. Portion size average, price okay, service very good and comfortable seating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobsroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacinto's Kitchen also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing