We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mayacama Mountaintop Retreat / Clair de Lune Cottage
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Santa Rosa
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Kenwood Inn and Spa(Kenwood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais du Soleil(Glen Ellen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Olea Hotel(Glen Ellen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillside Inn(Santa Rosa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Astro(Santa Rosa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwood Inn(Santa Rosa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
28
8
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
8
2
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 41 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Clair de Lune is just a wonderful getaway! It's always a gamble to find a good place online, but Clair de Lune was more than my boyfriend and I could have expected and we will definitely come back when we need a break from city life and our daily routines.

The little cottage is small, but it is a gem. It has everything you could want and the coziness makes it very romantic. The attention to detail is superb and everything seemed made or placed by someone who knows how to evoke a peaceful restorative place including the round shape of the cabin, all of the glass windows the amazing bath tub and the way it is nestled in nature, though not too isolated. We loved crossing the extension bridge to get to the little star house and we actually spent an afternoon overlooking the mountains up there.

It's a bit of a drive to get to restaurants and so it's feels more relaxing just to stay in and cook though we did go out to eat one night and it wasn't that bad. Otherwise, we spent most of our weekend in the cabin or on the property and we had one of our best if not the best getaway weekend. It's also really close to vineyards and other fun day activities, but we just had fun exploring the property.

You will definitely recharge your batteries and be in the middle of nature in this cozy and peaceful place. Great for going with a partner or going alone. Perfect for recharging the batteries and hard to leave!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Clair de Lune last Spring for a trip to "get away from it all". Having read all the reviews on TripAdvisor before hand, we knew for the most part what to expect. Nonetheless we were pleasantly surprised.

We had exchanged emails and phone calls with the owners prior the trip, and found them to be pleasant and friendly. During our entire stay, other than the initial greeting upon check-in, we did not once see them again. This was totally fine with us.

The cottage itself is not as secluded as one would expect. It is basically steps away from the owners' driveway. As another reviewer pointed out, the owners' house is merely 100 meters away and visible through the trees. In fact, in order to go to the Star House, you have to pass in front of the owners' house. As we never encountered the owners during our stay, this was not an issue.

The accommodations are not five star hotel quality. Nor did we expect it to be. After all, this is a cabin in the woods. Everything you need for a short stay is there in the cabin, and Safeway is about 5 miles away.

We did encounter some negatives. The first morning, we were awoken by the noise of several ATVs nearby. Apparently the neighbors' teenage kids were out having some fun. We could hear them clearly, but they never came close enough to be visible. This was certainly a huge disappointment, but luckily we never heard the same noise again in the next 3 days. What noises we did hear were the songs of birds and the gentle wind breeze through the woods.

The cottage had a small old fashioned (read: non flat panel) TV and virtually no wireless internet reception. Neither bothered us much as we learned to get our 15 minutes of email via Safeway's free wifi while getting morning coffee or on our way home from dinner every day, and didn't quite miss being "disconnected".

The bed was comfortable, but it lacked a headboard. It would have been nice if the bed was not sitting on wheels so that it wouldn't shift around.

These negatives were handily overcome by the beauty and magic of the place. The Star House, the swing bridge, the small waterfall, and the round Claire de Lune cottage were all mesmerizing. It was so peaceful and romantic that we felt utterly relaxed at the end of our stay.

If you come with the right expectations, you will have an equally wonderful time as we did.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFBATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The Clair De Lune cottage was pretty much as expected; small, quaint and quiet. The kitchen had everything we needed. There is a small TV available with a nice selection of DVD's, but if your coming here, watching TV is not something I'd recommend wasting your time on. The patio has a very nice view. Mornings were great out there. Coffee, croissants and a view. Ahhhhhh...relaxing.

We were very surprised by the grounds. There's a small ravine with a river, a cool suspension bridge running over it and the Star House at the end of a small hike. I totally suggest exploring the grounds. The river is nice. Maybe we were just lucky, but there was a family of deer hanging around the entire time we stayed there. The Star House is awesome. Hiking over at night wasn't as bad as we'd thought it would be. We only had a small Maglight and it was enough to get us there with help from the moon. We spent a lot of time at the Star House either sketching or stargazing. Good times.

Thanks Carolyn. We will be back. Maybe next time we'll actually leave the property to try some wine.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank LangdenAlger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

This is located in a nice location, but it's not as private as it appears. The owner’s house is a mere 500 feet away with a filtered view of it through the trees. The place itself wasn't very clean. You are expected to wash your own dishes, and it was apparent that not everyone does. We arrived to a champagne glass with a decorative thistle in it which was a nice touch, until I saw the lipstick around the dirty glass. I think grabbed a glass of water, went outside to relax, only to find more lipstick around the rim of my glass. We promptly washed all the dishes and utensils that we were going to use, because it was gross! The whole place in general, wasn't very clean. For that kind of money, I expect a place to be clean. I think Clair was probably really nice when it was first built, but now it’s obvious that the cottage is pretty old. The bathtub is really old, and I questioned how well it was cleaned. Also, they let you use their hot tub, but it’s located out in the open with no privacy, right below their house. We didn't even bother using it, and were disappointed that it was located where it was. Also, for being a romantic getaway, it's not conducive to really cuddling with your mate. There is nowhere to sit together and snuggle, unless it's on the bed.

All that being said, we thought the Star House was the best thing ever. Total privacy, and honestly we wished we would've brought backpacks and sleeping mats with us, as that's the place to sleep! The Star House alone, might make us want to come back.

All in all, for what they are charging, I expected much more. There is a lot of deferred maintenance that needs to be done on the cottage in order to get it back up to the level that it most likely started out as.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Tribal_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Well kept, luxurious and wonderful staff. The beauty of the estate is indescribibly spectacular.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLENMAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews