We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peruvian gem”
Review of Sazon

Sazon
Ranked #11 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Burbank
Transit: City of Santa Rosa Public Bus Route 12. Stop one block from our premises.
Description: Sazon is Spanish for "seasoning" and synonymous with incredible Peruvian cuisine! We combine family recipes with great service for amazing dining. Peruvian cuisine is a reflection of Peru's diverse geography, immigrant cultures, and even pre-Inca recipes! With a truly unique fusion of cultures, you'll taste dishes with hints of Spanish, African, Italian, and even Asian cuisines. At Sazon, our family serves authentic Peruvian recipes passed down by our great-grandmother, Maria Olinda, who herself boasted Peruvian, African, Spanish, and Italian ancestry! We invite you to share one of our unforgettable Ceviches with a co-worker at lunch; with 7 to choose from including a classic Ceviche Mango or the Ahi Ceviche Nikei with ahi tuna, you're sure to escape your workday stresses. Or bring loved ones for dinner to indulge in the amazing Pollo a la Brasa, free-range chicken marinated with a house blend of traditional Peruvian spices! Whether you're joining us for lunch or dinner, with friends or family, we invite you to savor the unique Peruvian flavors at Sazon!
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Peruvian gem”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved Sazon . The food is consistently really good. The menu is varied with meats, fish and vegetarian options. It is casual and comfortable but small, so reservations are advised.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    60
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forestville, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable prices, outstanding service!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Like some of the other reviewers have mentioned, this little spot doesn't look like much from the street, but the food says it all. Tastefully prepared and presented, delivered by very friendly, attentive, and helpful servers, this place in a jewel! The seafood is delicious (loved the coconut prawns appetizer - not too sweet, and served with a black bean salsa); the salads (with very fresh ahi tuna cubes) were outstanding; even the chicha morada (a Peruvian drink made from purple corn, pineapple, cinnamon, sugar, and lime), which didn't really sound great, was as delicious as the rest of the items we tried. I highly recommend this restaurant for some authentic food from Peru.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hugely Enjoyable!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Some of the most inventive and downright tasty food I've ever eaten - this place is one of those "finds" that you can't wait to tell everyone about. Don't be put off by the neighborhood or the unimposing exterior - inside it's comfortable and quiet. And the food - wow! We had the mixed ceviche as an appetizer, then a chicken dish and beef tenderloin dish to share, but I suspect that everything is just as good. This is a family business and it shows in the attentive service and well-informed staff. We live three hours from Santa Rosa, but we're already trying to come up with an excuse to come back to Sazon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Level Contributor
207 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Peruvian Gem in Roseland”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wonderful restaurant in an unassuming strip mall. Very small, unpretentious,friendly restaurant and the food was really good.
We really enjoyed the Peruvian Paella - lots of clams, calamari, plump juicy shrimp and spicy rice.

The service is worth mentioning. We were there with my husband's son, his wife and their two small children. The waiter went out of his way to make things work for us - putting 2 tables together to make more space, getting drinks for the children and making sure we were happy - we were!!

The only disappointment was they had run out of flan - we'll just have to go back!!!!

Be sure to eat here when visiting Santa Rosa, but make a reservation - we were lucky to get a table and it was a Wednesday night!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You Need to Try Peruvian!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been to several Peruvian restaurants around the country and this was by far the best! We went in the late afternoon on a Saturday and the place was packed with a graduation party for a Peruvian woman and her family. The food was spectacular. My only complaint (if you can call it a complaint) was the portions were too large, so we couldn't try out more dishes. But, the food was so good we had no leftovers to take home. The seafood stew was like a lobster bisque without all the heavy cream, yet loaded with fresh seafood. The plantains were like banana's foster, just amazing. We had the special of the day, which was a stuffed pepper. Try not to fill up on the toasted corn nuts they bring with your drinks...try...it's impossible not to eat more than one, but you'll be full before your meal comes. Everything was so good...we'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeGrossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sazon also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing