We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn and Suites Santa Rosa Wine Country
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Garden Inn(Santa Rosa)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandman(Santa Rosa)(Great Value!)
$159
Sandman Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rose(Santa Rosa)(Great Value!)
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country(Santa Rosa)(Great Value!)
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwood Inn(Santa Rosa)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$199
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vintners Inn(Santa Rosa)(Great Value!)
$275
$198
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fountaingrove Inn(Santa Rosa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
19
45
50
36
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
45
50
36
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast included scrambled eggsnice clean hoteltwo queen bedshot breakfastample parkingwine tastingfreewaymicrowavesonoma
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 180 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We arrived at the Quality Inn late on a saturday afternoon after a long drive. I knew from earlier reviews that this wasn't the best place in town, but it was the only location that had rooms available two weeks before our intended arrival. So we were a bit apprehensive as to what we'd find.

The hotel is located on the busy commercial area south of town. As such its not a place to really enjoy Santa Rosa, but we just needed a place to sleep so it was no big deal. The young man at the front desk was helpful and friendly when we arrived. Our room was clean and was fine for our evening. Really, the one thing that would help this place is a lot is just some new carpet and paint. The air conditioner was a bit noisy, but not a big deal. There's no elevator, so if you've got heavy bags you'll want to ask for a ground floor room.

We arrived tired and road weary so we searched for a place to eat that was within walking distance. There's a small place less than a block north 'La Plaza' Mexican restaurant that was a pleasant discovery. It looks like an old Dairy Queen converted to a restaurant. Its family owned and run with friendly service.

Breakfast at the Inn was what you'd expect... hard boiled eggs, cereal and one of those do-it-yourself waffle makers. There was also a tray of hot breakfast sausages.

Nothing elaborate or fancy, arguably overpriced at $200 for a saturday night, but it was okay for our purposes.

Room Tip: go with the ground floor rooms if you want to avoid hauling your luggage up a flight of stairs
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PhotoTravelerDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We do not agree with the negative comments on TripAdvisor, although we understand some of the criticisms. We have what we would call constructive comments for improvement. They are directed mostly to the owner, rather than the hotel manager or staff. Roger Patel, the hotel manager, was an excellent host.

When we checked in, Roger made sure that we had a room we would like for our 5-night stay. He is professional and easy going. The room we chose was 105, a rectangle with the bed, drawers and a window seat at the end under the one window. The TV was on the chest in front of the bed. While it turned toward the sofa which was on the other side of the rectangular room, we could not sit on the sofa and watch TV. We sat on the sofa and watched TV on our laptop that sat on the coffee table instead—what a waste of a TV. On the wall across from the sofa was a table which was large enough for both of our computers—one at each end. Between the bed and the sofa was a long counter which had a sink, a microwave, coffee maker, a mini fridge and storage cabinets. Across from that was the closet. There was ample storage so we could unpack and put everything away. The light in the room was dim but the light in the bathroom was very good. The bathroom had a small vanity, tub with shower and toilet. The main room, though dingy, worked for us. The different daily rates worked out to be, on average, $137.05 per night (senior rate). Over the Memorial Day weekend we were happy to have a room big enough and comfortable enough for the 2 of us.

The Internet worked well enough but it was annoying to have to sign in and agree to something or another every time we opened our laptops (several times a day). The walls of the Quality Inn were paper thin and we heard voices in the rooms around us and footsteps over us. It was good that the people around us went to bed early enough and for the most part stayed in bed all night because the foot falls were really bad. The climate control system didn’t work well enough for us; during the day it was either too cold or too hot. At night we set the thermostat at 73 ° and our thermometer registered that it went down to 69° before it cycled off. The breakfast room was large and could usually accommodate all of the holiday weekend guests. The food offered was “the standard breakfast fare” we’ve encountered during our 40-day road trip. The woman who kept everything filled up and orderly was quite nice and accommodating. When we arrived at the Quality Inn we needed to do our weekly laundry but Roger said there was no washing machine in the hotel we could use. He suggested that we walk across the street to a coin operated laundry. Audre did that but was put off by the large machines costing $5.50 since we only had a puny amount of laundry. We went to another laundromat where the wash cost $2.50 but the whole experience was totally inconvenient. It sure would have been nice if the Quality Inn had a washer/dryer for its guests.

We think that the owner of the Quality Inn needs to make an investment in the hotel. The first thing that should be done is a thorough cleaning of each room—walls, rugs, furniture, ceilings, cabinets, inside the cabinets, inside the microwave, the shower curtain—everything--needs a good scrubbing and, with better lighting in the bedroom, the room might not be so dingy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Manager at Quality Inn and Suites Santa Rosa Wine Country, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank You for staying with us. Your feedback is important to us and we will strive to improve our service and amenities. We hope to see you next time when you are in town.

Thanks,
Roger Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

There are much less expensive hotels with seemingly the same amenities, and there hotels with many more amenities that cost just a little more. The Quality Inn down the road in Petaluma is a much better choice. First off, the location of this one is not very good. In an industrial part of town near an RV park, there are only a couple of places to eat within walking distance: breakfast place next door and not bad Mexican place north up the road. Rooms are sparsely furnished, but big. No extra towels. Pillows have a very cheap feel to them. Free wifi and parking. Free breakfast, but even that seemed to have very limited offerings. I would look elsewhere unless the price was significantly discounted down to the super-budget level and all you want is a sheltered bed.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

If I could rate the quality and service a zero I would. I booked my hotel on 4-7-14 with Kristen for a CLC rate king bed with microwave for $71.99. When I arrived on 4-11-14 Kristen didn't have anymore rooms left with a fridge & microwave. She asked if I wanted to upgrade for $20.00. I stated no I did not. I wanted what I booked. She gave me the upgrade for a queen suite with amenities and told me I would not be charged the $20.00. Wow, got a $20.00 charge on my credit card bill. Called 3x and Kristin is never around. Getting the run around from management Roger and Alka. They are unprofessional and need to get it together. The outside of the hotel looks nice. The inside is dated and smells of burnt coffee and smoke. Needs new paint interior rooms and to have the carpets cleaned. Hotel breakfast was so bad my husband refused to eat it. It's a conference room with some bananas, eggs, cereal and horrid coffee. We hated our stay there.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel. Do not book your room with Kristen.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenacoconuthut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, General Manager at Quality Inn and Suites Santa Rosa Wine Country, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

We are sorry you were not happy with your stay here. We apologize that Kristen did not offer the service you expected and will look into this situation. We are sorry that breakfast was not adequate for you, however, we do offer more than what you mentioned in your survey. We have a waffle maker, sausages, hard boiled eggs, wheat bread, white bread, assorted mini muffins, 4 different types of cereal, bananas and/or apples, coffee, juice and tea. Once again we apologize if we did not live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Forget the Wine Country in the name. This should be more aptly named with trailers, pot shops, car repair place etc. in the name. Unfortunately we had a prepaid week at this place and could not get a refund if we didn't stay. This is "on the other side of the tracks." Our "suite" was clean, that was the plus. No elevator, lousy attitude. Our experience was like Ron R's. I sent a complaint to Quality Inn afterward about the whole thing and got an apology email from Roger Patel that was ridiculous.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragonflynda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, General Manager at Quality Inn and Suites Santa Rosa Wine Country, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Sorry you were not happy with our hotel. We will look into your complaints. We do thank your for taking the time to answer our survey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews