We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Reasonable place to stay for a night...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redwood Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Reasonable place to stay for a night...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Comfortable beds. Room was clean and up to date. Area seems safer than it appeared at first. Friendly staff. Wifi in the north section wasn't working, but the staff fixed it. No breakfast is included, but they offer complimentary snacks in the room. Would stay here again. Water pressure could be a little more.

Room Tip: Check the wifi service in the north and south sections before choosing which room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
11
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Don’t expect anything fancy, but it’s a clean, functional room for a reasonable price. Management had turned on the A/C before hand; so the room was comfortable on a very hot day. They even supplied a few snacks and soft drinks. We were a little surprised by the plastic-wrapped mattress, but it didn’t seem to affect our sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived in Santa Rosa on a US holiday weekend with no reservation.
Redwood Inn was the first place under $100 we found. The only room left was a fully handicapped room with 2 double beds. There was no shortage of hot water and clean linen. It was clean and quiet. It was occupied by several workers all of whom left their boots/runners just outside their doors. It was surprisely very quiet. The cleaning staff were friendly and very helpful. The owner/manager struck us as being a no-nonsence business like person. We would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I spend a lot of time traveling for work and recently spent sever weeks in Santa Rosa. I visited many motels in the area and selected the Redwood Inn for my extended stay here. The rooms are bright and clean, and the furniture and bedding was new! Redwood Inn provided plenty of clean towels and room service every day. The Redwood staff and management are on sight 24/7 and keep the motel well maintained and noise free. I will stay here again on my next trip to Santa Rosa.
David from Detroit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here mid September, Saturday night. We had a room (#21) that faced the street on the first level. I was surprised how quiet it was. The bed was nothing special, a standard, non-pillow-top, but fine for a night or two. The air conditioner heated/cooled quickly, the shower had plenty of hot water and the rooms were clean. The linens were fine. There was a fridge, microwave, TV. All that is necessary for a night or two touring the wine country.
This is an older motel that is independently run. It is a bargain in basic accommodations but not for someone who wants luxury. FYI, no hairdryer (but I did not ask at the desk, either). Our room was non-smoking; it did not have any "smoking odor". We would return, because it was a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank SeattleAnnieOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a trip south. We checked in in the late evening and then went to dinner. When we returned, about 10:45pm, my wife pulled back the sheet on the made bed and found a bunch of pubic hairs. I was disgusted and went to the office to change rooms. Of course, there was no one there-a sign was posted saying they would be back at 9:15 the next morning. We slept in a sleeping bag on top of the bedspread.

The pubes in the sheets were disgusting and showed a definite lack of care on the cleanliness side. No night guy or property manager to answer the phone or office door is just downright irresponsible from the owner's perspective. If they don't care enough to have someone available, then I don't even want to think of what other corners they're cutting. The place was $75 before tax, but I would pay twice that for a room in a hotel that was at least marginally clean, comfortable and secure. I recommend you avoid the Redwood Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roadtripper200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodInn, Owner at Redwood Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
The owner and entire staff sincerely apologize for the severe inconvenience and bad experience of our guests. Though not verified, the guests’ complaints are legitimate and efforts have been made to correct the deficiencies. While the linens are leased from an outside linen company and the bed sheets are always changed, unless otherwise requested by guests staying longer than one night, the responsibility ultimately lies with the on-site management and staff.

We are attempting to contact the concerned party to resolve the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

San Sebastian
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very happy with our stay here. It's good value, especially compared to the exaggerated prices on the coast. We can only agree with the positive comments below. And indeed the owner does not appear to like smokers in his motel. Suits us fine.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halibut22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#10 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
2.6 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Santa Rosa
Country Inn Santa Rosa
#16 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Inn

Property: Redwood Inn
Address: 1670 Santa Rosa Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5429
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redwood Inn has an easy access to Hwy 101 and Hwy 12. There are several nearby Restaurants, Stores and Gas Stations including Costco gas station. Shopping Centers and Santa Rosa Mall are within driving distance (one mile). We offer Comfortable Rooms, Suites, and Kitchenettes. Smokers’ and Nonsmoker’s Units are available. Local attractions include Charles M. Schulz Museum, Safari West Animal Experience, and Spring Lake Park among others.Complementary In Room Breakfast Items are Included. Several Restaurants are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Redwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing