We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian...the real deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riviera Restaurant

Riviera Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 525 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
880 reviews
598 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Italian...the real deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were a party of four, on a Fri night with reservations...we were seated promptly and given menus to enjoy. I had looked online at Menes, and made my choice. Although the four specials fife red were tempting. We started with the Calamari. Lightly battered, and crunchy. We shared two salads. One with arugula, the other with radicchio. Excellent, lightly dressed, and devoured. Two of us had the fresh salmon, another lasagne, and I had been waiting all week for the house made Porcini ravioli. We shared two desserts creme brûlée, and a chocolate lava cake There were all clean plates at the end of the meal. We all agreed that this place is a keeper, and we will return. Lucky us...we live here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    36
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
windsor, ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Real" Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant that hopefully will continue to fly under the radar.

The food is prepared as it would be if this place were located in northern Italy (this is not Italian-American stuff). Service was friendly and efficient. The wine list had the usual suspects at very fair pricing. It's too bad they couldn't list some Vermentino or Pigato from Liguria (I believe the owners are from Genoa) but this is a very minor thing. Atmosphere is good and the food was authentic and, for the quality, inexpensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinotperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Great Italian food, marvelous wait staff, quiet enough to have a dinner conversation! Four of us agreed this was the best restaurant we found in this beautiful wine country. Don't miss this place!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food like Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Small location but quaint, much like an Italian Restaurant in Italy, although they do like biking as there are bike shirts on the walls but it does not take away from the food. The fettuccine bolognese was as good and authentic as if you were Italy. Homemade pasta, Carbonara, homemade ravioli's and homemade bread is awesome here. The salads fresh and great tasting with just the right amount of dressings. Staff very friendly and attentive. We went early right around 5:30pm and did not have reservations on a week night and got in with no problem. I can see that you may need reservations on a weekend as it is a small place. Molto Buono!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KauaiOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simply delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We shared a stunning lunch here with friends. The service was wonderful and the meals excellent. Would totally reccomend

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzdarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riviera Restaurant also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Riviera Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing