We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Comfort Food”

Sam's For Play Cafe & Catering
Ranked #51 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Sam’s For Play Cafe & Catering serves delicious American Home Style food in a casual comfortable atmosphere. The intention since creating Sam’s in 1985 has always been to have a place where everyone can have a good time and enjoy a good meal.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very Good Comfort Food”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This diner was founded by a food server of many years. She wanted comfort food served with a home like atmosphere. She accomplished this with her diner. We visited the Santa Rosa location although she has another location in a neighboring city. We had the Friday night special of Prime Rib. Normally I would not have ordered a prime rib in a diner but looking around at other tables being served convinced me. The meat was served exactly as ordered. The sides that accompany the meal are very generous. We decided to share a dessert and that was not at all disappointing. Pastries appear to be made on premise although I cannot verify that. The next morning we stopped in for breakfast as in same parking lot as our hotel. Breakfast was a booming business. They even had to open up the overflow room and this was just a Saturday. Breakfast was the same, reasonably priced, generous portions and also daily specials. Of note, they also have a Senior menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sewkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    13
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Staff are always friendly but not intrusive, casual dining but good solid home cooked comfort food. The BEST Chicken Fried Steak ever! Good homemade salsa at your table as well!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a fabulous place with such a homely atmosphere.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Whilst travelling - stumbled upon this place and went for breakfast. What a find! Great talking to two of the staff also who had worked there for over 14 years - the waiting staff that is - all the servers seemed so happy in their employment - must have a good boss! I am going there again this evening for prime roast rib of beef before we head on south. My husband had a full breakfast - yummy - with lashings of homemade salsa. I decided to go for a soup and sandwich option with coffee. A lovely bowl of clam and shrimp chowder and a 'salad' sandwich on wheat bread. The salad filling of alfalfa sprouts, cheese, gherkin, advocado, mayo, tomatoes, etc. was so huge I had to cut it up to get into my mouth. Beautifully presented and very tasty. Excellent coffee, excellent service and the 'regulars' coming in and out. A wonderful welcome to Santa Rosa, California. If only we could have places like this in the U.K. Well done Sam's !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisW-Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best hole in the wall ever!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Amazing home cooking! Best breakfast ever!!! This is definitely not a place to dress up..keep your PJ's on and come down for breakfast. Be aware that of the wait on the weekends but hang in there.. It is worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEK-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City
Level Contributor
155 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I have been going to SAMs a few times per month . This has been the best most consistent food for breakfast and lunch I have ever had . This is also the fastest service I have ever seen . Outstanding place to eat ....although I would probably pass on the hotel behind it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ammo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's For Play Cafe & Catering also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sam's For Play Cafe & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing