We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PR in SR .... Who Knew !! ??”
Review of El Coqui

El Coqui
Ranked #33 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
322 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“PR in SR .... Who Knew !! ??”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Having visited Puerto Rico several times and enjoying their color, music and especially their food, we were more than pleasantly surprised to find this hidden gem in the middle of Santa Rosa, CA. Adorned with PR flags, pictures of Tito Puente, and small (very small) coqui figurines, one would have thought you were in old San Juan. The interior decoration was complemented by a wonderful menu selection. What do you expect? You expect (and got) mofongo. Now you can go from place to place in the PR and every mofongo will be prepared differently. El Coqui prepares in nestled in a sauce that was a wonderful accompaniment that enhanced the flavor of the the mofongo itself. The fried codfish was garnished with wonderful plantains, avocado - and love.
The owners know how to cook PUERTO RICAN !! A must while you are in Santa Rosa !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Guhor1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    41
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Puerta Rican cuisine, excellent service”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Highly recommended while we were in Santa Rosa, we found this restaurant to have an extensive menu, exceptionally helpful wait staff, wonderful sangria and a flavorful experience of Puerto Rican cuisine. DH had Canoas con Carne Molida, with pork, (Monterey Jack cheese and pork stuffed sweet plantain) black beans, Spanish rice, with an avocado/tomato garnish. He hadn't had plantains before and found them to be delicious. I had, cooked to perfection, Camarones - prawns sautéed in garlic & olive oil - Spanish rice, delicious red beans with potatoes and squash, and fried sweet plantains. We all enjoyed Platanutres con Dip de Aguacate, a basket of thin crispy plantain chips with a fresh avocado dip. You have to try El Coqui for the entire Puerto Rican experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting to try, but not that special”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I had never had Puerto Rican food, so we were curious to try El Coqui. It has a very casual atmosphere but it is pleasant enough. We had vegetarano and the canoas vegetarian, both with mojo mojado. Though nothing to write home about, they were both tasty and reasonably priced. We're vegetarian, so maybe the meat dishes are more impressive. If you’re looking to try something different, it’s probably worth a visit. My only problem was that the waitress brought our check and ran our credit card before clearing our plates. The way I figure it, if a server has time to bring our bill, they have time to clear the plates.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Puerto Rican”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place is consistently delicious, a great place to go for a satisfying meal! They have a veg option that's pretty tasty...a little heavy on the oil, but great nonetheless.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“So Glad We Tried It”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our intention was to visit a neighboring restaurant, but it was closed. So, spying the Puerta Rican restaurant across the street, we thought we would try something new. Boy, were we glad we did! The flavors were outstanding. I had Sandwich Cubano (Cuban sandwich), which came with fried plantain chips, and my wife had Pollo al Horno (Baked chicken), with rice and plantains. The helpful and friendly waitress allowed her to have both sweet and savory plantains--both were tasty in their own way. Be sure to try the sauce that's on the table in the large bottle--it's vinegary with a peppery zing, and my wife dubbed it "the best thing ever." My sandwich was wonderfully messy, with each ingredient contributing to the symphony of flavor, even the pickles. I suspect that removing any one of the items would spoil it somehow.
Now I would like to visit a Cuban restaurant, and discover the differences between Cuban and Puerto Rican foods. But I think that El Coqui will be tough to beat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank B_Pope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coqui also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to El Coqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing