We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Puerto Rico !”
Review of El Coqui

El Coqui
Ranked #28 of 536 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Orange county
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A taste of Puerto Rico !”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is authentic as you can get without flying to the island. They have habechuelas, tostones and mofongo! Servers were sweet and attentive. I had the limeade..just the right blend of sweet and tart, My husband has the arroz con leche..just llike his mother used to make. We were so jazzed that we found this in Santa Rosa.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank becky47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Something different!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Never had Puerto Rican food before and we loved it! It's a small, cute restaurant with friendly servers. Our small party got there early for lunch, so we did not have to wait, but it got very busy very quickly. The staff was happy to explain to us the various dishes, and everything we had was delicious (shrimp, chicken, rice, salad, plantains, ice cream, flan). It was a really fun and satisfaying new experience for us and we would go back in a heartbeat if we lived in Santa Rosa!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Puzzle2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, nice place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is pretty good. The service is ok. Kids are ok here as well. Small, but nice place. Prices are decent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ChillyAWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the home cooked food!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have eaten here on several occasions and each time have walked away content. The food tastes like something your auntie would make...a delicious home cooked Mel. My choice is always the pork chops with Spanish rice, black beans and sweet plantains. We highly recommend you give El Coqui a try when you are in Santa Rosa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayeessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“¡Muy auténtico!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I love the festive atmosphere, the knowledgeable & friendly servers, and most of all the food! Canoas are outrageously yummy(either vegetarian or con carne), the Ensalada de Aguacates delicious, the Coconut Flan is to die for and their Sangria is the bomb! A fun & lively spot for lunch or dinner- great for families, friends or even sitting solo at the bar with a very cool vibe!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coqui also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to El Coqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing