We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of El Coqui

El Coqui
Ranked #28 of 536 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I found the friendly service a big asset to this restaurant. The food was above average based upon my dining companions opinions, but I ordered a Cuban sandwich which was a minor mistake, I ate it but think it should be taken off the menu. I am not sure it was a good choice in a Puerto Rican Cuisine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tukaussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great service”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My buddy and i were walking downtown looking for a place to watch the world series and happened to stumble in on this amazing restaurant. I had the cubano sandwich which was a great deal better than i was expecting, also the plantain chips were very good. I will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another Great Meal”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

El Coqui serves traditional Puerto Rican food. The restaurant is fairly small with a nice bar. Great service, friendly staff and really good food. The menu choices might sound a bit different, but here is a place to try something you may have never had before. The Plantains are amazing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stickynotes53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Puerto Rican Cuisine”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a wonderful small restaurant. Most of the meals come with plantains,with are a very nice change from American sides. If you go make sure to order a side of plantain chips with avocado dip,you will love it. We have been twice and both times the wait staff has been friendly and smiling. So if you get to Santa Rosa,ca. Have some great Puerto Rican food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just fine”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We really wish that the food was just a bit more flavorful here. We love Puerto Rican food and have a favorite place in Marin. At El Coqui, the preparation just isn't as careful (onions in salad are not marinated, table sauce is less interesting) and I don't think the ingredients are as consistently well-sourced (avocados, tomatoes, greens --- perhaps even the chicken). Pollo al horno is the dish that I use as the standard measure and at El Coqui, it is not as wonderfully seasoned from the marinade nor is it as tender and succulent. We also find it to be a pricey in comparison with other Puerto Rican restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coqui also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to El Coqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing