We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Family Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Safari West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Safari West
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique Family Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a great experience at Safari West. Took our two boys, aged 11 and 9 they had a great time! Took the jeep tour - very informative and fun.
Food is average - the kids loved it though. We took wine and cheese and ate it on our porch.
We will definitely go back.

It was perfect. We will definitely go back.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    45
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
75
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waynesburg
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

after 6 days of wine tasting we needed a change of pace,so we tried glamping for a 1 night stay,before heading home. was very relaxing. no t.v.'s radios hairdryers, nothing but nature sounds. we didn't opt for the tour or the dinner. we had pizza delivered and just enjoyed our deck for the evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gilda829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

4 adults, 2 kids, we drove up for a day trip. We had a 10am tour booked, and were in a car with one couple. Everyone had a chance to ride up top. Our guide, Richard, obviously loves his job. He was very well informed, patiently answered all our questions and gave us a great rundown on all the animals. It is a very well maintained property and the animals seem well taken care of. Staff was very friendly.
We were able to get up close to a couple of giraffes and enjoyed the aviary and primate displays. The kids loved it.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SR1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great time had by family of 6. Was freezing overnight at end of December unsurprisingly. Space heater sounded like jet landing in tent so could be more discrete. Tour of good length and easily digestible. Not too crowded. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riddloor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband took me to Safari West to celebrate my birthday. We had the best time. Richard was our guide and he is so knowledgeable about the 400 acre park and animals in general. Richard kept us entertained all afternoon. We were lucky we went during the week and there were only four other adults with us and one boy, who was well behaved and approximately 11 years old. I sat up above with three others on the Safari tour, which was so much fun. We were lucky and saw all of the animals and learned so much. This was our second trip to Safari West and we look forward to a return visit when family comes to visit in the Spring. All of the animals are well cared for and the grounds are beautiful!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DroolieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent one night at Safari West - our group consisted of a couple with their baby, another mom with her son and a friend for her son. So there were 6 of us in one of the tents. We had a king size bed and bunk beds which were both double beds. We arrived at 4 pm, checked in and were taken via jeep up to our site. Everything was perfect - super clean and we really liked the way it was set up. This is technically camping but it's luxury camping. There was a heater and heating blankets. We were very concerned because of the baby - that it would be too cold at night. But we were toasty warm - those heating blankets really crank up and we had to turn it off during the night. You do hear lots of animals, both at night and in the morning. They may even wake you up out of your sleep. We had dinner at the site, which everyone loved, and then roasted marshmallows. We also had breakfast on our day of check-out and then did our safari at 10 am. The boys loved it and were thrilled to get to see the giraffes so close up. It was a long tour - over three hours - and very thorough. These two boys were 11 and 12 and appreciated all the animal facts - they even had a lot to contribute. But some very young children may get bored at times. We had a lovely time and recommend it to all nature/animal enthusiasts. It seemed like the animals were well cared for and the setting was beautiful. It was both exciting and relaxing - kids and adults will enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shoppergirlnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you like exotic animals this is the place for you! The luxury tents are great! No TV! No Cell Service - except in one spot.... Get away from it all! You will get to your tent by jeep! They are far apart! Take the tours - Once in a lifetime!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTK1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
5.5 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
10.0 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari West

Property: Safari West
Address: 3115 Porter Creek Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95404-9655
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari West 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Africa by way of Sonoma County…Come discover the Sonoma Serengeti.The classic African safari is a trip of a lifetime for intrepid travelers from around the globe - and, it is closer than you think!. Families who are curious and wild at heart can get close to nature...very close! Marvel under the gaze of a graceful giraffe or explore the Sonoma Serengeti alongside romping rhinos. Our guests enjoy enlightening African wildlife safari drives, and “glamping” tent cabin accommodations. The sounds of Africa will echo in your dreams. Stay one night in a luxury safari tent located on Giraffe Alley, meet some giraffes and go on Safari! Is Safari West Family Friendly?The entire Safari West experience is a kid-friendly adventure for families to enjoy together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Safari West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari West Hotel Santa Rosa
Safari West Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing