We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring a picnic”

Matanzas Creek Winery
Ranked #10 of 96 things to do in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Matanzas Creek Winery is a destination to enjoy the best of both rustic country charm and refined quality. Experience Bennett Valley AVA Chardonnay, Merlot, Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir. Come to taste the unique Bennett Valley wines but stay and relax at our captivating estate grounds for the day. The spacious estate features an eclectic blend of native grasses, delicate olive trees, exotic perennials and our famed lavender fields. Tucked away from the noise but close enough for an afternoon jaunt. Bocci, picnic and self-guided tours.
fresno, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bring a picnic”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lovely grounds. Friendly staff sold us a bottle of wine, opened it us, handed us a couple of glasses (Reidel!), and pointed us in the direction of the various spots for having a picnic. We sat under the shade of a redwood, breathed in the lavender, and spent a lovely two hours!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank arlahile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    30
    11
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty Winery With Pretty Good Wine”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This winery is a little out of the way but it is a pretty winery building once you get there. I think the grounds would be especially nice during Spring when more things are blooming. I can't say I was that impressed with the wine especially at the price points they are trying to sell it at. The staff was nice. I usually buy a bottle at each winery I stop at but here I paid for my tasting and left empty-handed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coachella Valley, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The days of wine and lavender”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Matanzas Creek Winery combines tasty wines with fabulous lavender gardens and related products. Try to come in June to enjoy the gardens at their height. A great place to hang out and place bocce ball or picnic.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DesertGal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A little off the beaten path, this winery is stunning with its large lavender garden and shaded main house. We enjoyed a tasting and were delighted by Ira, who has been with the winery for over 20 years. He was so knowledgeable and taught us about tasting without making us feel dumb. You must try the Chardonnay peanut brittle - yum!!! Their lavender products smell so good and serve a variety of purposes! Well worth the visit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visit when the lavender is in full bloom!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We visited for our first time the first weekend in July. We had a wonderful tour arranged in advance which I would highly recommend. Acres of blooming lavender looking out at rolling hills is stunning. We particularly enjoyed the Sauvignon Blanc during the tasting. Next time we'll pack a picnic!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank appreciatefinetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian G, Manager at Matanzas Creek Winery, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for joining us at Matanzas Creek Winery!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matanzas Creek Winery also viewed

 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Matanzas Creek Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing