We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintners Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We just got back from a two night stay at the Vintners Inn. This inn is beautiful! The room are very large, and beautifully decorated. Our private patio overlooked the vineyards. The unexpected extras were also great, a bottle of wine in our room, complimentary and delicious hors d'[oeuvres, The staff , Sue especially, were informative, patient and sincere. We can't wait until we go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NANA6Philadelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 602 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2009

Positives:
Beautiful grounds with vineyards, fountain and sunflower garden, fragrant scent of flowers everywhere, a little oasis
Very pretty internal decor, lovely country feel
Complimentary breakfast
Complimentary wireless internet
Loved our gorgeous room, balcony, air conditioning
Very nice staff
Good value for money

Negatives:
Very small portions of food in the bar
One snotty person at the front desk, everyone else was delightful

We recommend the Vintner's Inn. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 021810a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We actually live here in Santa Rosa but wanted to get away for our anniversary. A spring getaway package promised us two nights in a deluxe room with fireplace and a dining certificate for $100 to be used at John As & Company, the hotel's well known restaurant (a separte review will appear shortly). At $460 including taxes, this was a fine arrangement. Unfortunately, five days later, the same package was listed at $550. Please note that I use the word "hotel" and not "inn." With 44 rooms and 4 diamonds, the management itself bills the establishment as a hotel, complete with bellhops if needed.

Check-in at the required 4:00 PM time went smoothly, especially since the hotel had already charged $460 immediately upon reserving the room (cancellations permitted with a $20 "processing fee"). We asked for and got a room away from the electrical generators and one that had views overlooking the vineyards. It took us three visits to the front desk to get a card/key that worked. Even one of the maintenance workers was surprised. Out of six room cards, one worked.

Most of the room was very nice and well furnished. But the entry way was heavily stained and even the stairway up to the rooms was dirty, rather unusual right at check-in. A bottle of chardonnay was waiting for us but it was not chilled, nor was there a bucket of ice to chill it. (We brought the wine home.) Anyone under five feet five might have difficulty with the bed unless a foot stool is provided. For most of us, this will not be a problem. Charges are placed on almost every item except for the free wifi. A bottle of mineral water is $4, all phone calls--including toll free--are at least $1, all newspapers except the local paper are also charged.

Yes, the warmed chocolate chip cookies are a hit, and I understand why so many guests mention these in their reviews. Breakfast is a buffet continental affair without any toast or jam. It is obvious that the management would like us to order off the à la carte menu, as the servers proceed to list all the specials--extra, of course. We did share a special: scrambled eggs with toast, potatoes, veggies. The split special was very satisfying and a great value.

Dinner for the second night was taken in the newly opened lounge and was quite pleasant if a bit expensive. The service was pleasant and attentive, the atmosphere conducive to sipping and munching. $60 covered two drinks, shared plates, tax and tip.

Of course, check-out was a breeze and the receptionist most cordial and helpful. Would we do this again? Probably not for ourselves. But we would recommend the place to friends who might enjoy a getaway, provided that the rates are reasonable. The property's own website lists specials about two weeks in advance. These are usually a 15% discount off of the rack rates. If you need confirmed reservations, check out the package plans, do the math (including taxes!) and decide if there is something for you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M-man11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We had a beautiful - and very quiet - second floor room, facing the courtyard. All the amenities were there, except an in-room coffee maker. (Morning coffee was available directly downstairs.) The hotel's setting, in a garden and vineyard, is delightful. You'd have no idea this was almost a "freeway off-ramp" location.

We had a fine meal at the John Ash restaurant, with excellent, knowledgable service. For a place this expensive, the tables were a little close together . If the room had been full, it probably would have been fairly noisy - not good for an pricey "country" location.

The only real complaint, though, was that he hotel added a $3 "utilities surcharge" especially since 1/ they made no mention of that in the reservation, and 2/ the clerk tried to tell me it was a "tax." Fortunately, a more senior person was present and quickly reversed the charge. But it shouldn't have been there in the first place. Several large chains followed this now-discredited practice a few years ago, and I believe they've all abandoned it. Vintner's Inn should, also.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank widelenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

At first, when exiting the highway, you can't believe the hotel is right in front of you, given the sort of weird power lines to the west, but once inside its grounds, you become aware only of the gorgeous grounds, impeccable rooms and helpful staff. We had a first floor suite (which I don't even remember reserving) with a large bathroom, king sized bed, private patio, flat screen TV and let's just say it was a wonderful choice. YOu feel like you're in your own private villa. Breakfast is steps away in a smallish dining room - not elaborate but plenty and tasty! Loved this place. Very convenient to wherever you're going in wine country.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minniemeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Some one on the reviews said it best, at 1st you look like you are simply pulling off of the highway in to an area of a power plant... once you are on their 'campus' you soon forget all of that. Hot tub was nice, the massage therapist the staff scheduled were great and the room was nice-- a bit frilly or country but the bed was blissful. The breakfast isn't much, but enough to hold you over or you can purchase items more substantial. Not a bad drive East towards the Napa area... if you go try Willy's a tapas restuarant fairly close to the hotel, yummy! Would go back any time!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hppygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Absolutely gorgeous hotel. Romantic. Room was beautiful and loved the cookies at turndown! Took advantage of the massage service as well - very convenient. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LttlRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
468 reviews
21.9 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Address: 4350 Barnes Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1514
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range: $189 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintners Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing