We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tuscan Inn!”
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintners Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tuscan Inn!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Pros:

Excellent service. Outstanding settings, lovely manicured gardens. Well appointed, modern, spacious, clean rooms. Fantastic restaurant (John Ash) on the grounds. Sounds like a five star inn, right -- except . . . .

Cons:

Wedding party was there while we were checked in and each morning the father of the bride with family/friends sat in the courtyard before 7:00 am talking and laughing drinking coffee and woke us up every morning. Kind of put a damper on our stay. We should of complained, but we figured it would only be one morning.

Would definitely try this inn again and hopefully wouldn't run into the rude wedding family!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beth0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    121
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
55
389
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, NJ
Level Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I recently stayed at the Vintners Inn for 2 nights, with friends. The property is gorgeous, with lovely landscaping, fountain and well kept buildings. The rooms are lovely and spacious, each offering a private patio or balcony and view of the fountain courtyard or vineyards. While it is near a highway and power plant, none of that is visible or audible from the inn. The property also has a large hot tub, a fitness room, bocce ball court, nice casual restaurant and respected fancier restaurant. The place looks a lot like Tuscany. I recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony and couch are larger than room on bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to send a review to Trip Advisor and of course your very kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you were able to spend some time in our fabulous Sonoma Wine Country. We're in the process of making some changes to our guest rooms so hope you'll visit us again later this year or next and let us know what you think. Thanks again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here one night with my boyfriend in March - it was a splurge for us - we tend to be budget travelers. Really beautiful property. Had the entire bocce ball area to ourselves (the hotel didn't seem to be too crowded) - used the tables around the bocce court for a picnic (there's a market not far from the hotel). Also had a drink in the bar/restaurant on site - very convenient. The hotel gives some free tasting passes for area tasting rooms, FYI. They also provide a complimentary bottle of wine (drank while playing bocce ball, of course!). Our room (ground floor) had a private patio enclosed by flowers and tall shrubbery. Breakfast was nice with delicious scones. Very lovely place. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you so much for all your kind words and for "splurging" on Vintners Inn. We hope you'll return again. There's so much to see and do in the area and we'd love to help plan your days.
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Felt just like Italy! So relaxing! Great rooms, great food, great wine! The entire Santa Rosa area was delightful! Can't wait to go back! Healdsburg was fab! We stayed at the Vinters Inn because our friends where married there! Beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here with my sister in July, 2012 because we got a travelzoo deal. It was a nice enough place, though we both agreed we probably wouldn't stay here again.

What we liked:
The grounds and facilities were very nice and the staff was friendly and professional. The room was large and pretty with a nice little balcony, and came with a complimentary half-bottle of wine. The bed was comfortable with LOTS of pillows. Because of the Travelzoo deal, we got coupons including a free breakfast every day and a meal at the on-site bar/pub, both of which we enjoyed. The inn is also centrally located for touring around the Sonoma Valley -- about 20 minutes to Healdsburg and 30 or so to Sonoma. There is also an on-site fitness room, which my sister enjoyed using.

What we didn't like:
The inn only has king-sized beds, which is inconvenient if you're not traveling with your romantic partner. It's in an odd location -- close to the freeway and across from a PG&E station. The grounds are landscaped enough that you can't see either, though we could hear the freeway in the morning. It's also not walking distance to anything -- you have to drive to dinner unless you're eating in the inn's restaurant. While the facilities are nice, they're fairly new (10 years or so), so it lacks the historic quaintness of some other places in this area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I was there for a couple of nights with some friends visiting from Australia & for a moment, I felt like I was in the Tuscany! My room was gorgeous, spacious & clean....wonderful night sleep! The property is absolutely beautiful and the vineyard Devine! The staff were friendly & very helpful! I had forgotten my phone at the hotel & within a a few days it was mailed to my home!!! Very trustworthy staff members, I must say....The restaurant at the property, John Ash & Co. was fantastic and I cannot wait to stay at this place & dine there again....I'm from San Francisco & must say that this place didn't disappoint me!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marietta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
What else can I say but thank you. We look forward to seeing you again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
252 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I felt that this property was very top notch in both design and execution. The grounds are excellent as well. The vineyard is not really a part of the property and I would say the highway is as much the ambiance as the advertised vineyard is.
The hotel staff were good, but not great. They were pleasant and helpful but not overly much.
So the hotel was a nice place to stay but not the best place we stayed in our 4 day trip - however it was the most expensive. The comparative value is what brings this review down from 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baileyno6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
998 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
569 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,282 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
447 reviews
21.9 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Property: Vintners Inn
Address: 4350 Barnes Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1514
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintners Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing