We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A nice wine country stay - everything you could asked for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vintners Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice wine country stay - everything you could asked for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and was truly pleased during our stay. The room is exceptional! It was large and beautifully decorated. The grounds are intimate and gorgeous. We got a deal from Travelzoo and it was well worth it. The only complain I would have during our stay was the neighbor upstairs. Being on the bottom floor, we know we were going to tolerate heavy footsteps but dragging the metal chair through the stone patio was a bit much. Good thing it soon stopped and all we had left was heavy footsteps.

Vintners inn management pride themselves with high quality customer services and they have every right to be. During our stay, everyone from the hotel was friendly and helpful. However, I do believe this pride might have prevent them from accepting the occasional mishaps. I had a terrible experiences on the phone with one of the front end staff before the trip. I emailed the management and asked for explanation. They quickly assume the fault was mine alone. While I understand there are many rude and obnoxious customers out there looking for opportunities to scheme a freebie, assuming your customers is wrong right off the bat was unheard of. It had really tainted my experiences with them. I do believe it was one of those rare occasions when people are under-pressure or simply just having a bad day, because I think they had try their very best to make sure our stay was nice and pleasant. I thank you for such an effort and look forward to another visit!

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room to avoid heavy footsteps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    103
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
48
344
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Merchantville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel property is very nice. However, the Inn is a bit dated. We arrived around 8 pm and the check in was very easy. No bell staff was available so had to drag our luggage in the dark to find the building where our room was located. If you have not been to the Inn before, it is difficult to see the building numbers at night. We were on the second floor and there are no elevators so we had to drag our luggage up the stairs. We stayed 4 nights and did enjoy the room and view of the vineyards. Breakfast was wonderful, we ate at the restaurant twice . The food was delicious and the service was excellent. There is a very small fitness center with 2 treadmills, an elliptical and some hand weights. The king size bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. I would stay there again, but only on the first floor.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor with a view of the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristowshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. The good news about the decor is it's in the works for this coming winter. We of course hope you'll come visit us again and by then should see a fresher look in the rooms. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 5 night stay at Vintners Inn. We were in the area to visit family.
The staff was friendly and welcoming. The food was outstanding. We ate breakfast there daily and dinner once. The jaccuzzi was a great respite. The beds were most comfortable and the AC
kept us cool in 100 degree heat. I can think of nothing at all to complain about, which is saying something for me. I highly reccomend this inn to anybody looking for a getaway or a home base to visit the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgoldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
How nice of you, thank you for your very kind words. Have I mentioned before that we have the best guests in Sonoma Wine Country?! Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We planned a wedding elopement to Sonoma and based on the reviews picked the Vintner's for our stay and ceremony. We could not have been happier. The property was beautiful, the staff was fantastic and the food at the John Ash was top notch. Deanette did an outstanding job of helping us make arrangements for our ceremony and coordinated everything onsite for us. We cannot say enough about the staff who were sincere and attentive and very accommodating. Obviously for something special as a wedding, the location and grounds are very important, Vintner's hits a home run.

If you have a choice, choose the pavilion for your ceremony, it's more picturesque then the gazebo but you can't go wrong with either. After our ceremony, Deanette had arranged a cake and champagne in the fireside room which was very nice and then we had dinner at John Ash.

We had plenty of great wine and food during our stay and I would rate the dinner and service at John Ash as one of the best. Don't be fooled by the "quiet and cozy" villas, the bar can get crowded and a reservation for John Ash is probably a good idea.

I disagree with a previous review on the quality of the room, ours was very nice and spacious, plenty of room and nicely appointed. Each patio is more private then what I expected it to be. Our room was in the 300 villa and faced the back corner and vineyard. Coffee bars outside the rooms in each villa lobby is a nice touch. The breakfast in the cafe is fantastic. We stayed in a first floor room and given the wedding we probably spent more time in the room the first evening and the second day given the fact the ceremony was onsite and we did not notice any excessive noise or issues, we thought the place was quiet and relaxing. We didn't use it but the fireplace in the room was a nice touch. We are both seasoned travelers for both business and pleasure and the Vintners is easily worth the price and should be considered upscale lodgings.

We spent a day in the Calistoga area, getting there was a snap and we really enjoyed Healdsburg which was a quick 10 minutes down the freeway.

.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place was fantastic! The location only has 40-somethings rooms, all ample and beautifully kept. The pictures just don't do it justice. The resort is set in a breathtakingly beautiful garden and the staff is beyond helpful.

We had a small balcony overlooking the center court that was perfect for enjoying room service at breakfast. We also received complimentary bottle of wine and tasty cookies with our turn down service.

We visited the restaurant on site for dinner, John Ash & Co., and it was delicious and elegant.

Overall, no complaints and we will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TatiBengochea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our first time at the Vintner's Inn and I was quite happy with the stay. The bed alone was enough to return to this beautifully well kept property. We enjoyed a stroll around the property, a soak in the hot tub (no pool here) and dinner at John Ash, which was a delicious meal with excellent presentation. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable, slightly outdated, but not enough to leave a negative comment. There is not much to do in the area but downtown Healsburgh is near with great resturants and shopping. After a long day of traveling this was the perfect place to refresh ourselves and and enjoy some relaxation! I'd recommend driving up North and staying here for a night or two if you plan on traveling to the bigger wine areas such as Napa after.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed this beautiful property for 3 nights. Lovley spacious and quiet room. Wonderful breakfast. Great Location to many winieries. Very pretty courtyard and landscaping.Could of been more helpful in getting our luggage to our room. We took it ourselves up the stairs.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have soaring beamed ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lapper333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for an almost perfect review. I'm so sorry we didn't offer the services of one of our bellmen to take your luggage to your room. We do try to advise everyone when they book that we don't have elevators. Our mistake and apologies to you if we overlooked that. Hopefully you'll come see us again and if we forget to offer you a bellman, don't hesitate to ask for assistance. Tipping is never required. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
4.7 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
6.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Property: Vintners Inn
Address: 4350 Barnes Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1514
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintners Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing