We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay anywhere!”
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintners Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Gualala
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay anywhere!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night to celebrate our anniversary. We live within a couple of hours away and pass by it often. It's restaurant, John Ash & Co,.has a great reputation and we always wanted to eat there some day. This was a perfect quick getaway. Once inside the gates to the Inn you feel like you are in the French or Italian countryside. The grounds are incredible with masses of flowers everywhere and you are surrounded by vinyards and olive trees. The rooms are situated in four separate, small buildings surrounding a fountain. We had a ground floor room. When we stepped into the room we couldn't believe how beautiful it was. The rooms are elegant and spacious and the bed has beautiful linens. A nice bottle of wine and box of chocolates with a Happy Anniversary note from the staff were left in the room. We enjoyed them out on our patio. It is true the patios are very small but it is nice to have the outdoor space and they are very private. They dropped by before dinner to ask if we would like turn down service and left us cookies as well.

When we checked in the gentleman at the desk was extremely efficient, wished us a Happy Anniversary and could not have been more pleasant. They had made a reservation at our request at John Ash & Co. This is not a bed and breakfast but rather more of a boutique hotel with all the hospitality of a small inn. They have a lovely breakfast room off the lobby, beautifully decorated in a charming french country theme. The wait staff were delightful and the menu wonderful. It is not included with your stay but reasonably priced. Dinner at John Ash was also reasonable and delicious. I can't think of anything they could improve upon. Outstanding customer service and an atmosphere of quiet elegance made for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: All were well soundproofed and well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinegirlGualala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Vintners Inn. Your very kind comments are truly appreciated by the staff. It's true we have no elevators but we have some very willing bellmen who will carry those bags for you, especially if you prefer to sit on the balcony overlooking the gardens. Hope to see you again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    121
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
55
389
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the second part of our visit to the California Wine Country. After an almost perfect stay on the Napa side, we had very high expectations for the second half of our trip. There wasn't anything really bad about the Vintners Inn, but nothing blew our socks off either.

The hotel's grounds are gorgeous. Its clear that much time and effort is put into maintaining the floral, which adds to the beauty that is the Sonoma Valley. Our room was quite a walk from the parking lot, which was only really a problem when we arrived and when we checked out. Dragging suitcases on stone paths isn't the easiest task to conquer, so if being close to your car is a necessity, then that's definitely something to make the front desk aware of when making your reservation.

The only issue we had was that when we checked in we were told that breakfast was included in our room rate. However, our first morning there we discovered that this wasn't true. Its a good thing we found this out before sitting down for breakfast and then being surprised with a check.

The highlight of our stay was dinner at John Ash and Company. Their onsite restaurant was amazing - great food and even greater service. The hotel might want to look into training their front desk staff in the same way they train their servers, which would have helped us avoid the breakfast surprise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for letting me know that your experience last year was less than satisfactory. Regarding the suitcases I understand that the gravel pathway is difficult to negotiate, the tiled pathways are a lot easier. We also have bellmen who are more than willing to assist you. If you hesitated asking for their assistance, please be assured that there is no need to tip them. Because I can't look up your reservation from last August I don't know if you were here on one of our packages which might have included breakfast, or the front desk confused it with one that does. I do apologize for the confusion. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at John Ash & Co. We are very proud of our restaurant. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

An almost impossibly lovely place to stay in Sonoma. Vintner's Inn is surrounded by vineyards with walking paths, lovely gardens, and it has a real sense of privacy.

With three separate buildings, the rooms are romantic and lushly comfortable with thoughtful appointments.

Service is impeccable and gracious. Also on property is John Ash and Co. restaurant featuring wine country cuisine and a great bar for gathering with friends. A real find in Northern Sonoma County.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have vaulted ceilings and fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay.I would definitely come back here, and recommend it to my friends. John Ash restaurant on site is phenomenal ! Make a reservation before you visit.The flowers on the property just add to the ambiance.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charcusick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Once you get over turning at a power station off the 101 and drive through the gate it is a beautiful setting. The grounds are gorgeous and it is cool being in a vineyard. We paid $300 for a king deluxe and were promised a private patio or balcony. We had a ground floor room with a minuscule patio and tiny patio set most normal people could not fit their derrière in. After a nice night time bath our bath tub drain clogged. We reported it to the front desk the next morning and the staff appeared very receptive and promised to get someone to fix it. After waiting 45 minutes we called and were informed maintenance did not start until 9:30 AM. It would have been nice to inform us of this in the first place. We were afraid to leave our room for breakfast in case we missed maintenance and we could not shower with a tub full of water. They did arrive at our room at 9:30 and quickly fixed the shower. Overall, it is a lovely piece of property. The walk through the vineyard was a great start of the day. But, I feel the hotel is not worth the rate.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stvernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm so sorry you were inconvenienced by the tub not draining and am pleased maintenance could fix it so fast. It was the stopper if they didn't tell you. That was completely my fault for not telling you our maintenance man wouldn't be in for another half hour. I assumed you were headed to breakfast, I didn't realize you were waiting in the room for him. Please accept my apologies. I'm so glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope you'll visit us again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Best stay on our trip--beautiful grounds, great rooms and loved the restaurant. Walked through the vines in morning for a truly relaxing start to the day in wine-country. Only suggestion: coffee maker in the room.

Room Tip: Fireplace rooms are great, ask for a window seat at John Ash & Co--you feel like you're sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEstin Fl
Level Contributor
254 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had stayed here years ago after our son's wedding, It was a great place to stay then and nothing has changed. It is a expensive but I think a good value. The grounds are immaculate with beautiful trees and flowers everywhere. Incredible variety of beautiful birds---ie room with a balcony is exceptionally nice. There is a half bottle of Ferrari-Carano Fume blanc waiting in the room--an excellent wine (I think Ferrari may own the Inn).
The bed is the most comfortable we have ever slept in. It is quite high--we joked that a very short person would need to pole vault into it!! Sleep quality is incredible. Expect two huge cookies when the bed is turned down.
The breakfast at John Ash is wonderful, tho plan on about $50 for 2 for a full breakfast.
It is also very relaxing, mellow and peaceful.
Although it is very close to the 4 lane road, noise is not a problem.
For complete beauty and relaxation, this is the place to be---and, very close to Martinelli, Kendall-Jackson and Willis Wine Bar--- a great place to eat!!
Not very far to Sonoma and Healdsburg--we did lots of great wine tastings.

Room Tip: Get a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRPETE24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
998 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
569 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,281 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
447 reviews
21.9 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Property: Vintners Inn
Address: 4350 Barnes Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1514
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintners Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing