We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Country lodging at its best”
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintners Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Outstanding accommodations, an incredibly friendly staff and ideal central location make this one of the absolute best places to stay when visiting the Wine Country. The spacious well-appointed rooms and beautiful grounds make it the perfect place to return to after an afternoon of wine tasting. You feel welcome from the minute you arrive until the moment you depart . . . a superb, locally-owned property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearsoninmarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 602 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We just got back from a trip to the wine country and loved our stay at the Vintners Inn. We had a room with a fireplace that was beautiful, with a view overlooking the vineyard. Loved it! There was a wonderful restaurant very close by called Willie's Wine Bar, it's a tapas bar with food that is exceptional! I could have licked the plates clean.... We also had dinner at the John Ash there at the Vintners Inn. What a disappointment. The service was TERRIBLE. We waited over an hour for our dinner, and the people seated around us seated after we were, got there food and were gone before our dinners even arrived. When we asked about it, we were told it took longer because we ordered the special. Really? I would have thought the special would be readily available.... The only other issue was that they had a small boutique winery doing a wine tasting on Sat. night with complimentary wine & cheeses that we did not know about. They said they posted a sign about it at 10 a.m., but we were already gone by then and didn't know about it. So a word to the wise, ask if there are any wine tastings while you are there. We were disappointed we didn't get to sample their wine. All in all, we had a great stay while there. The grounds are beautiful and the hotel seems very secluded even tho it is very close to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BetsyK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Vintners Inn but am sorry to hear you were disappointed in the restaurant. I believe the restaurant manager will be getting in touch if he hasn't already. I hope you'll come visit us again. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

What can I say? Simply an amazing stay! I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

We did book through the ever popular travel zoo deal which was amazing and had all kinds of extras included. This trip was for our anniversary and upon arrival we had some nice chocolates waiting in our room with a card which was a nice touch. We had an upstairs fireplace room which was wonderful and had great views of the vineyards. If you try really hard, you can hear the freeway from probably anywhere here on the property, but it was a non-issue. I always travel with ear plugs but didn’t need them. I really think some of the noise issues listed may be blown out of proportion.

There are no elevators (as mentioned in other reviews) so be prepared for that. The stairs are easy to navigate though and it wasn’t an issue for us. Just get a 1st floor if you need it.

The only issue we had was the hot tub. We used it the first night and met some great folks out there. However, the jets were not working. One of the couples said they told someone and the hotel was aware of it. Not sure if it was related but the chlorine/chemical levels seemed to be very high and it actually made me break out a little (but I do have sensitive skin at times). We didn’t stay in long and were too busy exploring the rest of the trip to use it again so not sure if it got fixed.

The rooms were great, very clean, and bed was comfortable.

The grounds are beautiful. We ate at the restaurant for dinner one evening and enjoyed it. We ate breakfast one morning and again, enjoyed it. The food is great as well as the service here.
This is a convenient location and it seemed like for the most part any of the wineries or breweries we wanted to go to were all within 10-20 minutes. You are only about a 45-60 minute drive down to see the Golden Gate bridge too which we did on our last day. We followed this up with hitting some great breweries along the way.


As a side note, we really enjoyed Rodney Strong and the tour is great. Also, Ferrari Carano has the most immaculate grounds ever and provided some great views.

Overall, wonderful and I would highly recommend it. Make sure you have some time to actually enjoy the great dining here and the beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Go with the upstairs room, worth it for the view if you can see the Vineyards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tacomarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Peaceful & Elegant-Our room was right by the Spa and we enjoyed a early morning walk around the on
Property Vineyard.. The room was lower floor and had a private patio.. It was sooo clean, peaceful and I wish we would have stayed longer.. Than the two nights .. We traveled to two other resorts which were more expensive and lovely as well.. But enjoyed our stay at this one the most..

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel-Lioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights for our 1 year anniversary. The rooms were nice the service was great and the location was excellent. There are many wineries within a short driving distance. The location is right off the interstate so it it very convenient to get to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you. Now that you know where we are we look forward to seeing you again. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here twice. Both visits were in comfortable rooms with good service. Rooms feel very private and the grounds are lovely. This time we were attending a gathering at the Hilton, near here. The experience of our friends staying there was much less satisfactory. No time for a dinner at John Ash this stay, but good memory of dinner there before.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had a long weekend getaway at the VIntners Inn, and my wife is already talking about returning next year. Everything went well, from friendly & efficient check-in, large and comfortable room with a nice little patio, complimentary wine tasting on Thursday & Friday, coffee stations set up in building atriums in the morning .... All the staff seemed competent & well-trained, the grounds are lovely. Location couldn't be better - just off River Road, 10 minutes from airport, Healdsburg, downtown Santa Rosa, wineries on Dry Creek road. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRealPhilGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
468 reviews
21.9 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Address: 4350 Barnes Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1514
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range: $189 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintners Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing