We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintner's Inn continues to shine!”
Review of Vintners Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintners Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Vintner's Inn continues to shine!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed there with my wife for 3 nights ending on October 9th, and as is the norm, we had a 5 star experience. This is the 6th time we've stayed here in the past few years, and we've always had a great experience. We had an upstairs fireplace room this time, with a balcony. Room was super, both in size and cleansliness. Very modern with a great view of the vinyard too. The staff is great, and offered us some great tips and discounts at some of the area wineries; they really go all out to make this a wonderful experience. Country breakfast is very excellent too, as is the location; very close to downtown Santa Rosa, Healdsburg, and Bodega Bay, not to mention great new wineries that we tried in Sebastapol. No better place to stay in Wine Country than the Vinterner's Inn, absolutely lovely!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeholdNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    121
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
55
389
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Little Neck, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Vintners Inn. The staff are very accommodating and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and have balconies. We have stayed here a couple of times on our trips to Sonoma. It is close to many wineries and restaurants. The adjacent vineyard is a nice touch. This is one of my favorite places to stay when we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryost44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBurnet, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you. We always look forward to welcoming back return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, MN, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just spend 3 nights at the Vintners Inn with my husband. We haven't been back to Sonoma since our Honeymoon 16 years ago and this was the perfect place to stay. Close to many wonderful wineries. The staff could not have been frendlier and more accommodating. Every staff member we encountered from front desk to wait staff to room service to John Ash restaurant were top notch. We can't wait to go back. I wish I would have read all the positive reviews and not even bothered reading the few negative reviews. The minute we got there we realized that some people are just never happy and have to complain about something...Next time I read a negative review, I will check the persons other reviews to more quickly dismiss their opinions.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 315 which overlooked the courtyard and we loved it. We slept with the window open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stutelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you - we love our guests too. I've shared your comments with the staff which makes them feel so good about the job they love doing. Vintners Inn really has the best guests! Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We absolutely enjoyed our experience here. The adjacent vineyard albeit small added a nice touch to the overall ambiance. Our room was exceptional and very large. A bit pricey but well worth the extra expense. Don't let the close proximity to Hwy. 101 fool you. You don't ever hear the noise or see the roadway. The food at the John Ash Restaurant was a wonderful meal. We highly recommend this place.

And do not forget to visit their Ferrari Carano Winery as well. Absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangertex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We could not take advantage of the multiple night travelzoo offer but we did get 1 night cheaper plus $75 off any meal on the premises (3 $25 certificates so you can divide use). We had a downstairs room which was lovely and like being in the garden. It is true that they do not seem to let anyone in before 4 but several of us that arrived at 3:30 were sent 5 min down the road to the Old World winery for a tasting (we were reeling fm our travelzoo Sonoma tastings but went anyway!). The tasting was very good and if you bought a bottle, you got a stamped card that entitled you to get it uncorked for free at the John Ash restaurant (not sure if it was really needed as there was other wine for sale at the hotel plus your free half bottle for coming but it worked for us and was a very decent wine). We then got our room and saw that there was a free wine and cheese tasting in the parlor next to check-in at 6. We went to that-it was from Ridge winery and also very good plus some food badly needed by then. We had a great dinner at the John Ash Restaurant (do not know if it is necessary but we made the reservation when we got the travelzoo voucher for the hotel) with our less expensive wine for a little over $100 reduced to $31 with the coupons. It was great value with very nice service even to all us coupon and cheap wine people. I did eat some breakfast for about $10 plus tip (I did get the free small and delicious scone!). I was there early so service was very good and another quiet pleasant eating experience. I took a walk through the vinyard on their jogging path which is nice to do early in the morning. I would stay here again and recommend this to anyone especially with one of the travelzoo deals. There is also a lovely event pavillion among the olive groves. Lastly this is convenient to both Napa and Sonoma but not as wild.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvmovielover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review. I think we've made converts out of many guests who think of Napa as wine country until they experience Sonoma Wine Country. We hope you'll visit us again, with or without Travelzoo. There's lots more to see and do. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed two nights in this place and we loved it!We had a room upstairs with a fireplace and a balcony with awsome vew of the vineyards!Large room ,great bed.The grounds are beautiful. Nice country breackfast room.We had a delicious breackfast on their patio.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANNONYMOUS34225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna niguel, California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel was riduculously snooty. They insisted on making us wait unit just before 4 to check in, claiming that not one of the rooms would be ready until that time. When I realized my check in form said it came with a continental breakfast, the lady said oh no that is an old form there is no breakfast. I had to continue to complain, then the manager came out and honored the contract. At 11:15 we thought we should go see the on site restaurant for lunch and a glass of wine. We walked in and ask the lady if we could have a seat, and she said no we don't serve lunch until 11:30. We asked if we could just sit down and have a drink while we wait and she said we had to wait outside because the servers had not lined up yet!!! We left and went to the downtown area which was lovely. In the early evening we met up with some friends who were having a late lunch....It was 3:00 and the restaurant was empty. We asked if we could sit with them and have a drink and the hostess told us that the patio was reserved for dining customers only. This restaurant is too much!!! I could not believe how difficult the hotel and restaurant made the stay. The attitude is absolutely OUTRAGIOUS for the price you pay!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms here are completely overpriced for what you get, which is a decent room but nothing specia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondie549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B, Manager at Vintners Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I am sorry your experience with us was so unsatisfactory. It's certainly not the impression we want you to take away with you. I know that it seems unfair not to allow an early check in, sometimes we can accommodate early arrivals and sometimes we can't. Early check in requests are given priority, however, with a limited staff I'd rather not make a promise we can't keep. I have passed your comments on the restaurant for their review.

I certainly hope the rest of your stay in wine country was pleasant. Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
998 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
569 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,282 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
447 reviews
21.9 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintners Inn

Property: Vintners Inn
Address: 4350 Barnes Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1514
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintners Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Vintners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintners Hotel Santa Rosa
Vintners Santa Rosa
Vintners Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing