We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute Little Bistro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro 29

Bistro 29
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro 29 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 523 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Riley Street
Transit: Downtown transit mall is three blocks away, taxis and pedi-cabs available.
Description: Bistro 29 located in downtown Santa Rosa, Sonoma County. Bistro 29 is a traditional bistro specializing in “Breton” regional cuisine. The number 29 comes from the department of Finistère (end of the earth) located in the upper tip of north-west France. Known for the Galette de blé noir (traditional buckwheat crêpe) and sweet crêpes, Bretagne also uses a variety of local seafood and produce that can easily be found in and around northern California.
milpitasca
Level Contributor
489 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Cute Little Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We get to Santa Rosa about twice a year. For many, many years we have dined at John Ash. We really wanted a new spot, so I looked on Trip Advisor. We dined on a Tuesday evening and about 60% of the tables were filled. We had a lot of space between us and the nearest table and it was very quiet. The decor is cute and somewhat reminded me of France. Corkage fee was $15. We choose the escargots and they were presented in a soup bowl "swimming" in a parsley broth - quite unusual, but tasty. The one thing I did not like was that the French bread was just plunked down on the butcher paper covered table instead of being served on a plate. I thought it was tacky and I have never witnessed any bread being dropped on the table in France in 40 years of visiting! I decided on the lamb shank and it was wonderful - falling off the bone, flavorful, and tender. My husband had the duck cassoulet and enjoyed it a lot. I thought it was too salty, but the duck was lovely. We shared a fig dessert that was quite nice. We both really enjoyed finding a new dining spot with unusual, tasty foods.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alicerabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    36
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“delicious french cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

came here with my family last weekend. i had the salmon special with peas and cous cous. it was delicious! great wine selection as well. would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank omgmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner celebration. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Visited Bistro 29 for 10th anniversary celebration. So happy with the choice. I was stuck between two items on menu, fortunately my wife ordered the second. We sampled eachothers and it was win-win. Had dessert special at servers recommendation and another winner. Definitely will be coming back the next time I'm in Santa Rosa.

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Paris in Santa Rosa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We visited Bistro 29 on a Saturday night as a party of four. Having recently spent 10 days in Paris, we were hoping to recapture some of favorite eating memories. We were not disappointed, as Bistro 29 is like a small Parisian bistro. The buckwheat crepes were excellent as a starter. We enjoyed entrees of chicken in terragon sauce and steak frites in a pink peppercorn sauce, both were excellent. The desserts were equally good. We enjoyed the chocolate fondant cake with sea salted caramel ice cream, and the profiterole in a dark chocolate sauce. Both were outstanding! I highly recommend this little bit of Paris in Santa Rosa.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jim1doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
249 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice evening with friends!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We ate here with friends on recommendation from our B&B. If you like french food, you will enjoy this place. We all had something different and ate from each others plates. Loved the food. Service was fine, ambiance was really nice. Tiny and close-knit eating (almost like a NY style restaurant), but charming.
Great wine list, of course!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NinaTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 29 also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Bistro 29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing